Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A detailed book of his life, but not his work...
Having just barely finished the book, I was impressed by how much attention was given to both the earlier and latter parts of his life. Much of the details available (for free) online tend to gloss over the life of the young Tesla and only rarely go in to detail about his last years, and those are usually to attempt to denigrate the great man.

As others have...
Published on 8 Nov. 2011 by Bobby Davro

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but...
I don't see Seifer's appraisal as particularly objective, forgiving Tesla's follies rather too lightly whilst frequently extolling his virtues. Seifer fails to draw sufficient significance from Tesla's use of Mahlon Loomis's prior work, nor Ferraris's independent invention of multiphase motor/generator, at the same time as Tesla.

This book is not technical in...
Published on 20 July 2011 by Reader Little


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A detailed book of his life, but not his work..., 8 Nov. 2011
By 
Bobby Davro (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wizard: Life and Times of Nikola Tesla (Citadel Press Book) (Paperback)
Having just barely finished the book, I was impressed by how much attention was given to both the earlier and latter parts of his life. Much of the details available (for free) online tend to gloss over the life of the young Tesla and only rarely go in to detail about his last years, and those are usually to attempt to denigrate the great man.

As others have mentioned there is some glorification at the expense of others, but this seems to be representative of Tesla's sometimes vainglorious, often pompous self-opinion as evidenced by the many letters between himself and his friends, not to mention those that opposed and/or profited from his many patents. Towards the end of the book you can almost feel the authors frustration at how Tesla often got in the way of selling his own work by force of his personality, which seemingly helped create his status as a (even if much lauded) pariah.

Tesla's personal correspondence is extensively documented in this book, sometimes ad nauseum, but it gives a great insight in to the mind of the man himself, instead of relying on secondary or tertiary sources.

My only real disappointment, is the lack of technicality. For a biography based around someone who's inventions have in many ways powered the modern world, the workings of those machines are barely touched or at best the details are fleeting and textbook. I should imagine many readers who bought this book, didn't do so because they are followers of the cult of personality so prevalent in many modern biographies, but because of an interest in all that Tesla both created and theorised.

All in all a good book, and a very comprehensive history of the man and his mind, if not the minutiae of his machines and ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sure you want this book!, 22 July 2002
This review is from: Wizard: Life and Times of Nikola Tesla (Citadel Press Book) (Paperback)
If you like biographies about great persons, this book has its natural place side by side with "Genius" (James Gleich about Richard Feynman).
And when you have read it, you'll become amazed why Tesla isn't as famous as Einstein (or Feynman).
Unlike many books about Tesla, this is about facts - and what facts! There are no place to myths about Tesla, the facts are enough - and this is the book where you'll find them.
A reliable and well written book about a true wizard of science - a wizard that made life easier to billions - and "how" and "why" he did it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to the genius of Tesla, 27 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Wizard: Life and Times of Nikola Tesla (Citadel Press Book) (Paperback)
This is a well written biography of Tesla which gives a factual account of his unbelievable career. It shows that he was an engineer; his inventions worked because he did the theory to ensure they did. He was way ahead of his contemporaries, including Marconi and Edison, and this books should be in every degree course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Tesla Biography to Date, 13 May 2002
By 
Michael D. Hicks "Warden Clyffe" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wizard: Life and Times of Nikola Tesla (Citadel Press Book) (Paperback)
A factual, academic Tesla biography, without any of the usual sensationalism of his being sent from other planets!
Extremely well written, the book reads like a novel and also acts as an excellent reference work.
The Margaret Cheney and Robert Lomas books make a good introduction to a man who was a rather complex subject, but this book really does add so many layers to his character that to any serious student of Tesla or his work this should be an essential part of their library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The author has detailed the conspiracy surrounding Tesla., 23 Oct. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Wizard: Life and Times of Nikola Tesla (Citadel Press Book) (Paperback)
To this day our children never hear of Tesla through text books, their library, or even the news media. Ever seen or heard of a TV special on the most brilliant genius in the last thousand years, NO. Read how the government has kept much of Tesla's science and knowledge for top secret black programs. Just as Steiger, in Alien Rapture, has detailed the TR-3B flying triangle that warps gravity as Tesla suggested could be done. I've read every Tesla book and even have copies of his Colorado Springs experiments and patents. Before this book, Childress had written my favorite book on the life and science of Tesla. This book is extraordinary, It is well worth reading for anyone. I could not recommend this book more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wizard by Marc J Seifer, 9 Mar. 2009
By 
P. J. Whitley "Phil Whitley" (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have long been an admirer of the many inventions of Nicola Tesla, and I have always bemoaned the fact that there was no definitive biography of the man behind the inventions. Well now there is! Wizard is a thoroughly well written and researched work, and an easy read for the technical and non-technical alike. Marc J Seifer has obviously drawn on every source of available information to produce this brilliant book. You simply will not believe how much of the modern world was invented by Tesla BEFORE 1900! It also gives great insight into the reasons that Tesla is not recognised for what he really achieved, and why his financial backers pulled out whenever the majority of the profits were not going to come their way. Read it and BE AMAZED!
Phil Whitley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 8 Jan. 2010
By 
K. Cleary (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wizard: Life and Times of Nikola Tesla (Citadel Press Book) (Paperback)
One of the few underated scientists who have made massive contributions to modern day life, his intelligence supercedes that of any of his peers.
This book puts Nikola Tesla on the pedistal he deserves whilst humbly showing the mans flaws.
A excellent text on an extraordinary man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good biography of an incredible man., 3 Feb. 2010
By 
Shaun Horrigan "Shaun" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wizard: Life and Times of Nikola Tesla (Citadel Press Book) (Paperback)
Nikola Tesla was a genius, so why didn't I know anything about him until recently?

This book answers that question.

His life was full of poor business decisions, unscrupulous business partners, competitors who blatantly stole his inventions, and never ending patent litigation, yet he never gave up hope that his inventions would change the world.

I have to admit that I found this book hard in places. It is quite a daunting book too, printed in a fairly small font and spanning around 500 pages. I also had a few problems with the author's style.

Written supposedly in a straight chronological sequence, the author would would sometimes jump around from topic to topic and year to year seemingly at random.

It is definitely worth persevering though as the sheer amount of information it contains about this incredible man is just astounding!

Tesla's hope that one day he would change the world for the better may still yet come true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book on the genious of N. Tesla, a MUST READ, 4 Feb. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Wizard: Life and Times of Nikola Tesla (Citadel Press Book) (Paperback)
I read the 1998 softcover edition and LOVED IT! I first saw the name "TESLA" as a "brand" name on the television sets in eastern Europe. My curiosity up, I searched Amazon.com and found this book. I became a TESLA fan immediately! TESLA had the greatest inventive genius of the 20th century, and most of his key patents were filed in the 1890's !! HE WAS SO FAR AHEAD OF HIS TIME that some of his work is still labeled "TOP SECRET" by the U.S. government today. This book is a lesson in history, conspiracy, industrial espionage, science, corporate power and the sheer awesome genius of TESLA, whose name SHOULD be taught to every school child....before that of EDISON !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prodigal Genius, 28 Feb. 2012
By 
James N. Beatson "Jim Beatson" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wizard: Life and Times of Nikola Tesla (Citadel Press Book) (Paperback)
My first encounter with the amazing Nikola Tesla was when I came across an old paperback called Prodigal Genius. Genius he truly was, and this book is another account of his brilliance. He was painfully naive, concentrating on doing the science while the likes of Westinghouse, Marconi and the so-called "great inventor" Edison (whom I call the great charlatan) stole and patented his works.

Read the facts and marvel at the man who was certainly the greatest inventor of the 19th century, often called "the man who invented the 20th century".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wizard: Life and Times of Nikola Tesla (Citadel Press Book)
Wizard: Life and Times of Nikola Tesla (Citadel Press Book) by Marc J. Seifer (Paperback - 20 Feb. 2003)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews