Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland, 15 Mar 2010
By 
David Powell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland. Second Edition (Paperback)
It is necessary when embarking on genealogical research in any new country to first acquaint oneself with (i) its geography and (ii) its administrative divisions, before next going on to find out what records exist for them. This genealogical atlas, which is clearly and attractively laid out, fulfils the first two roles admirably for a country whose genealogy is a nightmare because of the documentary losses sustained in the 1922 uprising. I would imagine that knowledge of its contents, and the same author's, "Guide to Irish Parish Registers", were a must for anyone hoping to make serious use of the country's official archives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genealogists map bible for research in Ireland, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland. Second Edition (Paperback)
This book is a must-have when researching ancestors in Ireland. The maps appear alphabetically by county and include a number of maps for each show the various boundaries - province, baronies, parish and poor law unions as well as ecclesiastical - Roman Catholic & Presbyterian (where relevant).

There is a very good introduction which is worth reading before you use the book. Brian Mitchell's style is easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new genealogical Atlas of Ireland, 26 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland. Second Edition (Paperback)
An essential item for anyone trying to trace their Irish roots. However the Poor Law maps are unlinked to any guide so am assuming they are linked to Church of Ireland parrishes? Larger fold out maps would also have helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Until getting this volume, I was quite unaware of ..., 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland. Second Edition (Paperback)
Until getting this volume, I was quite unaware of the extraordinary complexity of Irish Administrative boundaries. Having been brought up in Cork City, the son of an Agricultural Seedsman, I had some idea of the concept of the "Townland". However, I had thought of this as a 'social romance', rather than the definition of an 'administrative unit' No wonder Irish Property Law is as complex as it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suggestions for Third Edition, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Stephen Beck (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland. Second Edition (Paperback)
This is one of the few most important books for family history research in Ireland. For me, it's been indispensable.

As others have noted, Irish records are variously organized by county, barony, diocese, union, probate district, civil parish, religious parish, town and townland, depending on when or why the record was made. Even more, local history books and articles often are titled with only one territory (e.g., barony, parish, or townland). Without knowing all your ancestor's territories, you could overlook a secondary source with lots of relevant information.

SUGGESTION for THIRD EDITION:

Parish maps, organized by county, could be improved by showing the adjacent parishes over the county line. Currently, it's difficult figuring out which "non-county" parish borders the "county" parish, because the county maps are not in scale and the boundary lines themselves are a bit imprecise. And it matters: I found a third "border" ancestor by checking a few parishes outside the county line, since wasn't sure where the outside parishes lined up and better safe than be sorry. By including parishes that border the county, I might have only needed to check one other parish.

As a second suggestion, make the third edition larger, closer to laptop size. I often bring Brian Mitchell's Atlas with me to research places. It would fit better in my bag. And a larger size means more space for notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars research tool, 9 July 2013
By 
M. Ravey "Michael Ravey" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland. Second Edition (Paperback)
This book is all it sets out to be - a research tool. Maps are clear. Only wish all the townlands could have been listed....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarifying confusion, 30 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland. Second Edition (Paperback)
Researching Irish ancestors is difficult due in no small measure to the confusion of a multitude of different administrative areas for different purposes. This book helps considerably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland. Second Edition (Paperback)
Good reference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland. Second Edition
A New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland. Second Edition by Brian Mitchell (Paperback - 8 Dec 2009)
£14.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews