Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summary and explanation of driving research
Although a little heavy in places this is a very interesting book. It covers a wide range of driving research, from drink-driving, the effects of drugs, fatigue, age and the variety of 'interfaces' that can get in the way of the act of driving itself. It also covers how the latest research believes the eyes and the brain work to see, or fail to see hazards.
A large...
Published on 2 Jun. 2010 by Mr BD

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Psychology of driving is deeeep
I bought this book expecting something 'light' to read. It is a little 'heavy' with lots of references. Very informative however - makes you realise how accidents can happen - I won't be using a mobile in the car any more!!!
Published on 20 Mar. 2009 by Mr. R. Mcdermott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summary and explanation of driving research, 2 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr BD - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although a little heavy in places this is a very interesting book. It covers a wide range of driving research, from drink-driving, the effects of drugs, fatigue, age and the variety of 'interfaces' that can get in the way of the act of driving itself. It also covers how the latest research believes the eyes and the brain work to see, or fail to see hazards.
A large number of research articles are referred to, with the authors reasoning as to why the research is or is not useful. There are explanations of statistics for some studies and why they can say whatever you wish, depending upon what you are trying to prove.
Oddly enough I found the section on fatigue a little tiring to read, but the section explaining why hands-free 'phones and non hands-free are just as dangerous as each other was interesting. The section on elderly drivers and why they aren't as dangerous as young drivers (except for problems at junctions) was also very well written.
The final section, about new developments in car technology and why they should be a cause for concern gave pause for thought too.
An excellent book, although its probably best to read it in small bursts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Psychology of driving is deeeep, 20 Mar. 2009
By 
I bought this book expecting something 'light' to read. It is a little 'heavy' with lots of references. Very informative however - makes you realise how accidents can happen - I won't be using a mobile in the car any more!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative book examining different aspects of psychology of driving, 6 July 2010
By 
S. Choudhury - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very informative book which examines the different aspects of psychology involved in driving. Clear, well written and easy to understand. Thoroughly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Psychology of Driving, 15 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a driving instructor and found this book most interesting. I am still reading it and tend to re-read it looking for anything which I can help my pupils with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book and really good material
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
By 
John M. Dowell (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very happy with item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Psychology of Driving
The Psychology of Driving by Graham J. Hole (Hardcover - 20 Oct. 2006)
£50.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews