Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Accompaniment, 23 Feb 2013
By 
T. Donoghue - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonhoeffer's Cost of Discipleship (Shepherd's Notes) (Paperback)
Good resource to assist a fuller understanding of Dietrich Bonhoeffer's life and ministry. This Christian Martyr's whole-hearted committment to the truth can be better grasped through this reader's guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonnhoffer--- "THE BOOK", 14 Nov 2012
This review is from: Bonhoeffer's Cost of Discipleship (Shepherd's Notes) (Paperback)
I was recommended this book by my pastor as a "good read" I can only think that he was understating the value of this wonderful, challenging, inspirational,
sad,and uplifing account of the life of one of the greats of the Christian Church in Germany, and for the wider world.

I often say to friends if you don't want to be challenged, uplifted, excited and encouraged then don't read this book. I feel it's impossible to read this book without the life of this man, and his faith, having an effect on your life. Hitler robbed the world, let alone the Christian world of one of its greats when he put him to death.

It's A MUST read for any Christian who is serious about his or her faith, and how to live it out in the power of God's will for their lives. I can honestly say, it is one of the best books I have ever read, and would say to all who might read it---prepare to be challenged.

As a history book, its view point gives a fresh insight into life in Germany at that time, both from a church and state perspective.

It is also a book giving a view of the Second World War from what happened on the "other side", and tells that not all Germans were Nazi supporters, even right up to the German High Command.
I must also say that when I read of what Churchill's response was to a request for help to kill Hitler, I was ashamed at his refusal to help, and even more ashamed to be British that we abandoned them in their effort to rid their nation of this tyrant.
I should say I live in Austria so perhaps it had a special significance for me in some way, I dont know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutly great help in study of Boneoffer's Discipleship., 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonhoeffer's Cost of Discipleship (Shepherd's Notes) (Paperback)
I enjoyed this very much accompaning his Discipleship. This book would be a great help in group studies etc. With a good commentary it helps one see what Boneoffer is saying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful aide to a compley Christian classic, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonhoeffer's Cost of Discipleship (Shepherd's Notes) (Paperback)
This was a very helpful aide to understanding a complex Christian classic. It helped to cut through the obtuse exposition in the original book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greta, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good short cut into understanding BonH. Wish I had read this some years earlier. Now a good reference book for today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! This book really does bring to life the ..., 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonhoeffer's Cost of Discipleship (Shepherd's Notes) (Paperback)
Wow! This book really does bring to life the absolute essentials in helping Christians become a true follower of Christ.This book has enabled me to truly grow and mature in my Faith. If you want to learn some real truths about what it means to be a sincere follower of Jesus and to learn the only truth that there is in this world; then buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bonhoeffer, 11 Jun 2014
By 
M. Boland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonhoeffer's Cost of Discipleship (Shepherd's Notes) (Paperback)
I have reviewed this item several weeks ago. To repeat myself again, the book arrived in very good condition and was als excellent value for money,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this with the main book. You won't regret it, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonhoeffer's Cost of Discipleship (Shepherd's Notes) (Paperback)
Very useful study companion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cost of discipleship, 12 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bonhoeffer's Cost of Discipleship (Shepherd's Notes) (Paperback)
The book was highly recommended by a reliable source. It arrived quickly and in good condition. It has been a valuable read for us and we are please with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bonhoeffer's Cost of Discipleship (Shepherd's Notes)
Bonhoeffer's Cost of Discipleship (Shepherd's Notes) by Greg Ligon (Paperback - 1 Jan 2001)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews