Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, he made stress interesting!
As a Msc Health Psychology student, with a background in the 'psychology' but none in the the 'health' I've really struggled to understand all the terms thrown around in class. I had no idea how the immune system worked, and to be frank I didn't care.
But the author writes in a way that not only helps your understanding but also makes you laugh and want to learn at...
Published on 8 Jan 2005

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book
A humorous and interesting book crammed full of information. Just found it a bit complicated and skimmed some of the chapters.
Published 7 months ago by Mrs Brenda A Prudence


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, he made stress interesting!, 8 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers (Paperback)
As a Msc Health Psychology student, with a background in the 'psychology' but none in the the 'health' I've really struggled to understand all the terms thrown around in class. I had no idea how the immune system worked, and to be frank I didn't care.
But the author writes in a way that not only helps your understanding but also makes you laugh and want to learn at the same time.
An absolute must for anyone studying stress, coping and disease, an probably an entertaining read even if you're not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Allow a lot of time for this read, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers (Paperback)
This was recommended to me by my osteopath. My job is stressful and desk based and tension through the muscles on my right side particularly cause a number of problems. When I started reading I thought I couldn't stick with it because of medical references which I couldn't pronounce, never mind memorise; but you don't need to remember them, they come up so often they become familiar. It is a fascinating, research backed work of the many ways stress is at the centre of common illnesses. A single severe, or a prolonged episode of stress can cause changes in the body resulting in autoimmune system reactions, sexual dysfunction, diabetes, cancers, tendonitis, addiction- the list is quite something. In amongst the heaviness of the subject matter the author gets quite a lot of dry humour into the chapters, so you do actually stay entertained as well as receiving an invaluable education on the terrible and sometimes life shortening effects of stress on the body. It also offers supportive and helpful guidance in the later chapters. The theme of the zebra makes the whole book cohesive so you don't want to skip chapters. Not one you can flick through- it's a granular but rewarding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise for why do zebras don't get ulcers, 8 Dec 2012
This review is from: Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers (Paperback)
An excellent book from one of the best biologist of the new century. Interesting and immediate, i highly recommend it to anyone who is interest in popularized biology and stress in humans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lively scientific report on stress, 27 May 2008
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers (Paperback)
Your body is a sophisticated machine. If it were an automobile, it would be a top-of-the-line, luxury-class vehicle with all of the latest options. There's just one problem: Your body was designed for the savannas of Africa, not the streets and sidewalks of some urban metropolis. This is a major issue due to one of your body's great fail-safe systems: the stress-response mechanism, also called the "fight-or-flight syndrome." This mechanism provides your body with its best chance to get away safely from sudden peril, such as when a lion attacks you. It immediately floods your muscles with robust energy. Thus strengthened, you are far more able to evade the hungry predator. Unfortunately, this same stress-response also kicks in during psychological stress. In much of modern city life (even without stalking lions), such stress is often chronic, making your stress-response mechanism work dangerously overtime, and putting your body at risk of numerous stress-related disorders and diseases. Robert M. Sapolsky, a leading neuroendocrinologist, explains it all in this lively and entertaining, yet highly informative book. He writes with delightful, ironic verve and dry, irrepressible wit. He details how chronic stress can undermine your health, and explains what you can do about it, even in the urban jungle. getAbstract feels calmer just suggesting that anyone experiencing stress could benefit from reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful information about stress, 10 July 2007
This review is from: Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book and found that some difficult information could be interesting and fun. He writes in a very personal manner and at the same time scientific. As a psychologist I found that the information in this book could be applied to clients clinically and my own knowledge on the topic stress has expanded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really clear and concise!, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers (Paperback)
Fantastically written to make understanding the trickier, more scientific side of stress understandable and accessible. I found it helped my understanding of the terminology and brain regions involved by explaining it in plain english! A really good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers (Paperback)
A great read, everyone who feels stressed should read this book. Then they might understand how permanently damaging stress can be and change their life style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Utterly Brilliant, Robert Sapolsky is a genius. He really goes into the biology of stress and as a way with words that make me wish he wrote books in other areas of science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars wanna now about stress?, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers (Paperback)
Very interesting and easy writen book about how stress comes about and what it does to your body.
I would have liked to read a but more about how to handle strass effectivly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great information delivery by a very clever bright man, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers (Paperback)
A talent for making difficult and challenging insights seem obvious. The humour works. I owe this author much - understanding this domain, in my case, translates into pain relief - to a degree a least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers
Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers by Robert M. Sapolsky (Paperback - 23 Sep 2004)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews