Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first class piece of work
This volume is a must for any student or researcher in computing or computability. It leads the reader carefully through some of the more complex and often difficult to understand aspects of computing, otherwise only addressed in the domain of academia and higher order mathematics. Real world parallels are drawn, which will be most appreciated, by the diserning reader.
Published on 27 Mar. 2002 by shaun.mason@dial.pipex.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It has a great amount of detail but this is in no way ...
It has a great amount of detail but this is in no way a book for beginners which was a disappointment.
Published 1 month ago by Lighter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first class piece of work, 27 Mar. 2002
This review is from: New Turing Omnibus (Paperback)
This volume is a must for any student or researcher in computing or computability. It leads the reader carefully through some of the more complex and often difficult to understand aspects of computing, otherwise only addressed in the domain of academia and higher order mathematics. Real world parallels are drawn, which will be most appreciated, by the diserning reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent overview of topics in Computer Science., 21 July 1999
By A Customer
This book provides an excellent overview (or review) of theoretical Computer Science. If there are any of you who think that the high end of computer science is another form of mathematics, then this book is for you. If you think that computer science is just programming then maybe you should take a look at this book as well. After reading this book you will have a good overview of the "science" of computer science. I find too often that most of the undergraduate books in computer science tend to focus on the software engineering side of the field. When you finish this book, you will have been exposed to everything from genetic algorithms to Godel's theorem. The book covers advanced topics such as natural language thoery, but still introduces them on an introductory level. This book is still a little tough for those who have only studied programming. However, any computer scince major (or someone with the equivelent exposure to CS) would find this book to be an excellent reference and review of the things he (or she) would have missed or forgotten in their studies. Incidently, the book presents problems (no solutions, what's new) and refrences at the end of each chapter for further study.
The bottom line is this: This book is the closest thing to a hybrid textbook/encylcopedia of computer science. It covers almost every imaginable topic in computer science and should be on every CS major's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very nice introduction to computer science ..., 17 Mar. 2003
By 
Jurgen Van Gael (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This book is a very good introduction to the various disciplines of computer science. The articles are well written and I can certainly recommend this title to any undergrad student to gain basic knowledge of advanced computer science topics.
I would rate it 5 stars if it were a little more up-to-date though. Certain articles and results have really become outdated with current research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turing Omnibus - Computer Science Book, 23 Jun. 2011
This review is from: New Turing Omnibus (Paperback)
I purchased this book to get insight into what computer science is, learn about the basis of how it works and how its used in real life.

I have really enjoyed reading this book, It helped me to understand basics of computer science and includes many interesting logical arguments. I would recommond this book, to any one who have interest in computer science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great book but perhaps not for complete beginners, 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Turing Omnibus (Paperback)
Very good book which covers many areas in Computer Science. It's very clear and easy to understand with a friendly tone which makes it more enjoyable to read. There are lots of diagrams and examples too.

The only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is because I'm a complete beginner to Computer Science and sometimes the exercises which follow each chapter seem to be a leap from the surrounding text. The book does say in it's preface that it is suitable for beginners but I think you may need some underlying knowledge (or maybe even another source to accompany this) if you are new to the subject and want to get the most out of this book.

It is however incredibly comprehensive and once I start my course at university I'm sure it will become invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a very interesting book, 3 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
I bought this book as it was recommended by one of my Computer Science lectureres, but I definitely won't be selling it at the end of the year like most of my others. It covers a huge range of topics in great detail, and serves as a useful reference guide as well as something to read on the way home from university. My only critism is that it sometimes gets too technical for the average undergraduate, but I still think it's a very worthy purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, readable summary of Computer Science foundations, 29 Sept. 1998
By A Customer
An enjoyable read for those with some Computer Science or Engineering background. Overviews of 66 different topics in C.S. theory and practice, categorized into 11 general areas. Provides very accessible, intuitive explanations on these foundational topics, with an emphasis on how the theoretical topics relate to practical applications. Nice survey/review of the broad field of Computer Science for the computer professional, as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cliff Notes for CS, 5 Oct. 1997
By A Customer
This book presents a great "big picture" view of the issues in computer science for lay people. For some topics, however, it appears that depth has been sacrificed for breadth, resulting in a misleading representation of a field. For instance, computer vision is a field concerned with more than just polyhedral scenes, yet the chapter entitled "Computer Vision" deals only with polyhedral scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Product Review, 13 Sept. 2013
By 
Mrs. J. kumar (u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Turing Omnibus (Paperback)
Excellent book for beginners.A must for all aspiring computer science students.A must read as a preparation for interviews and personal statement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... at the building blocks for computer science and a great foundation for those studying computation and logic at degree ..., 29 Oct. 2014
By 
B. Elliston (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Turing Omnibus (Paperback)
A fresh look at the building blocks for computer science and a great foundation for those studying computation and logic at degree level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Turing Omnibus
New Turing Omnibus by A. K. Dewdney (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2003)
£20.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews