Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book that will help clear your mind, 27 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Breathing Book: Vitality and Good Health Through Essential Breath Work (Paperback)
To anyone who is interesting in thriving and not just surviving , I strongly recommend this book. I suffered with facial pain for many years and to the bewilderment of many doctors , physicians and maxillo facial surgeons whose magical potions (expensive in some cases) did nothing. Then , I stumbled on the fact that it could be my breathing and Donna's book opened up a whole new avenue and gave me the answer. 'Frozen breathing' as Donna calls it , was my enemy and could be cured for FREE with the aid of controlled , deep diaphrammatic breathing (and it's a lot more enjoyable than some of the medicine I've took). I would personally like to thank and congratulate Donna on an outstanding book !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath Practice Demystified, 23 Aug 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Breathing Book: Vitality and Good Health Through Essential Breath Work (Paperback)
Clearly written and very readable, the focus of this book is not on esoteric breathing excercises but on remembering and relearning the deep, smooth, easy breath we had as children. With lots of explication and diagrams for the analytical among us, and many postures, excercises and meditations to try, this book offers good advice on how to identify and remove habitual stress patterns that encourage shallow or restricted breathing. The last two chapters- "The shared breath - Inquiries for couples" and "Minding the Breath - Cultivating Mindfulness" were definitely my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand, read and implement step-by-step guide., 7 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Breathing Book: Vitality and Good Health Through Essential Breath Work (Paperback)
I really liked this book! It is thorough, easy to read and understand. This is the first time someone has explained it to me in a way I can understand it! Excellent diagrams, exercises, etc. Not only an outstanding yoga teacher but also a good book writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 15 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Breathing Book: Vitality and Good Health Through Essential Breath Work (Paperback)
thorough, relevant and practical- i have been practising yoga for a long time and got loads from this book - it also seemed totally accesible for non yoga people- BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the breathing book, 2 Jan 2010
By 
P. J. De Maziere (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Breathing Book: Vitality and Good Health Through Essential Breath Work (Paperback)
I cannot say just how good this book is, its well writen, easy to read, very very informative and, as they say, it does what it says on the tin. My quality of life has improved since I began following the information set out in it and there has been an added benifit. I suffer with a condition called NEAD (non-epileptic attack dissorder)I have found that since I began to alter my breathing my attacks although they have not stopped have become less agressive, if you suffer from this condition or perhaps Epilepsy then why not give this book a try you have after all got nothing to lose and everything to gain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Breathing exercises for health, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Breathing Book: Vitality and Good Health Through Essential Breath Work (Paperback)
This is a very comprehensive book of theory and exercises about breathing, based on yoga, but one doesn't have to be interested in yoga to benefit. The illustrations of different exercises are helpful, but some of these I felt need a partner or a directed class situation. The most useful aspect of the book to me were the Practice Guide selections of exercises to help a particular physiological or medical problem. One can then learn a few suitable exercises for one's own need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and practical, 3 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Breathing Book: Vitality and Good Health Through Essential Breath Work (Paperback)
This book provides clear and concise information on the anatomy of breathing with a practical focus. The exercises take a somatic approach and the way in which breathing relates to posture and character is also explored. A resourceful text not just for those interested in yoga but also for teachers, therapists or those who want to relearn the forgotten art of natural breathing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 24 Jun 2010
By 
S. Dennis (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Breathing Book: Vitality and Good Health Through Essential Breath Work (Paperback)
I have enjoyed reading this book, and following the practices.
I found the guidelines for the inquiries clear, and easy to follow.

Inspirational ideas for those teaching breathing techniques.
The techniques allow exploration of how using the breath in different ways can lead to different results and effects on our bodies, mind and emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga Classic, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Breathing Book: Vitality and Good Health Through Essential Breath Work (Paperback)
This is a book that belongs in every yoga teachers library. It is also a book that all aspiring practitioners will find supportive. A classic that will sit on the shelf and may be referred to and quoted from time and time again. Donna Farhi is a woman of our times. She shares her life's practice with compassion and wisdom, an inspiration for anyone willing to acknowledge their struggles and to pull themselves up by their boot straps to venture deeper into self-enquiry ... and then some! Loved it. A Yoga Classic. Highly Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely love this book, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Breathing Book: Vitality and Good Health Through Essential Breath Work (Paperback)
Absolutely love this book. It gives everything you need to know about breathing including anatomy of breathing, holding breath problems and collection of breathing experiments. I've been researching breathing books for several years now. And this one is must to have in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Breathing Book: Vitality and Good Health Through Essential Breath Work
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews