Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£21.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2013
Indonesia is the world's largest archipelago, stretching over 3000km across the Pacific Ocean and holding over 1600 species of bird. A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia was the first publication, in 2001, to illustrate birds from throughout the country, but it only covered 686 species. Its author, Morten Strange, has now revised, updated and expanded the book to include 912 species, making it the first fairly comprehensive guide to the birds of Indonesia. 213 of these species are endemic residents found nowhere else in the world. Forty photographers have contributed to the book and the standard of the photos is generally excellent. They include recently discovered species, such as Togian and Cinnabar Owls, and unpublished species such as Geomalia and Buru Thrush. The accompanying notes are very useful, covering a brief description, voice and habits. There is also a complete annotated checklist to the 1,605 birds currently on the Indonesian list. My only minor criticism is that I would rather have seen more of the land-birds than some of the widespread waders and terns but I have no hesitation in strongly recommending this book to anyone interested in the birds of this fascinating part of the world.

Jon Hornbuckle, February 2013
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
I have both editions of this book, the 2001 Edition and the new 2012 Edition. This new edition is a major upgrade with nearly 250 more species illustrated for a total of 912 species illustrated; and a comprehensive checklist of all 1605 species in Indonesia. With so few field guides currently in print covering this vast archipelago this book and it's compact size make a worthy addition to your collection of books about Indonesian birds.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
I am not a huge fan of photographic bird guides as they rarely show the same level of detail as drawings and the latter usually show the differences between adults, sexes and juveniles as well as highlighting specific identifying characters. However, this guide is the only one that I could find which covers all of Indonesia and I was visiting Sulawesi so I needed something. The descriptions are adequate and each species gets a distribution map which can be useful for ruling species in/out; they also each get a single picture which, in most cases, is good enough to identify the bird in the field if you get a good look at it and know approximately which family/genus it is so that you can track it down in the text. (It also helps if you have a human guide with you!). It is not 100% comprehensive and there are one or two species missing but the bird species diversity of Indonesia is vast and so this is not surprising. It is a genuine hand guide and fits in a (large) pocket. The checklist at the end is useful. Overall it offers a reasonable price, it is currently the only comprehensive hand guide available and offers a good combination of text, maps and photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia: Second Edition (Paperback)
A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia by Morten Strange is a very beautiful book. I have both editions of this book, the 2001 Edition and the new 2012 Edition. I was impressed by the first Edition of the book with its many great photos, and this new edition is even more impressing since it is a major upgrade with nearly 250 more species illustrated for a total of 912 species illustrated; and a comprehensive checklist of all 1605 species in Indonesia. Since there is few field guides currently in print covering this vast archipelago this is a must for birders in Asia, but it is a book for everyone with interest for birds. The information in the book is very good, since the text is well written, and information relevant as a guide for those who want to find the birds in the field. You will enjoy the informative text, and the many excellent photos. In Indonesia you can find some of the most beautiful creatures in the planet. With this book, you can study them on your own.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Photo guides are always slightly less clear than traditional guide books, but this is the best one I have seen. This is the only guide to cover both sides of the Wallace line and perhaps that is a bit too ambitious as many sub species and rare birds are not covered. Overall, good pictures, good distribution maps and sufficient text.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
We used it a lot and the size and amount of information were really excellent

Good pictures and informative maps

Only issue we had was that it is organised by Sub-orders, which is good science and probably good for serious birders, but means there is a lot of flicking through trying to find the correct order to identify a bird
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
Covers a wide area of Indonesia. Good and clear photographs making identification relatively easy even to someone with no knowledge of tropical species. Easy to read maps of distribution. Only downside is that it is a bit heavy to carry about in the field.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
It was informative - when you knew what you were looking at. This is the first time I have tried a bird book on a kindle. I am going back to a hard copy next time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)