Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Birds of Indonesia
Indonesia is the world's largest archipelago, stretching over 3000km across the Pacific Ocean and holding over 1600 species of bird. A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia was the first publication, in 2001, to illustrate birds from throughout the country, but it only covered 686 species. Its author, Morten Strange, has now revised, updated and expanded the book...
Published on 17 Feb. 2013 by jon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Version was not easy to navigate
It was informative - when you knew what you were looking at. This is the first time I have tried a bird book on a kindle. I am going back to a hard copy next time.
Published 20 months ago by J. M. Mcmillan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Birds of Indonesia, 17 Feb. 2013
This review is from: A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia (Paperback)
Indonesia is the world's largest archipelago, stretching over 3000km across the Pacific Ocean and holding over 1600 species of bird. A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia was the first publication, in 2001, to illustrate birds from throughout the country, but it only covered 686 species. Its author, Morten Strange, has now revised, updated and expanded the book to include 912 species, making it the first fairly comprehensive guide to the birds of Indonesia. 213 of these species are endemic residents found nowhere else in the world. Forty photographers have contributed to the book and the standard of the photos is generally excellent. They include recently discovered species, such as Togian and Cinnabar Owls, and unpublished species such as Geomalia and Buru Thrush. The accompanying notes are very useful, covering a brief description, voice and habits. There is also a complete annotated checklist to the 1,605 birds currently on the Indonesian list. My only minor criticism is that I would rather have seen more of the land-birds than some of the widespread waders and terns but I have no hesitation in strongly recommending this book to anyone interested in the birds of this fascinating part of the world.

Jon Hornbuckle, February 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Edition a Major Upgrade, 7 Dec. 2012
This review is from: A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia (Paperback)
I have both editions of this book, the 2001 Edition and the new 2012 Edition. This new edition is a major upgrade with nearly 250 more species illustrated for a total of 912 species illustrated; and a comprehensive checklist of all 1605 species in Indonesia. With so few field guides currently in print covering this vast archipelago this book and it's compact size make a worthy addition to your collection of books about Indonesian birds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful Guide to the Birds of Indonesia, 28 Jan. 2013
This review is from: A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia (Paperback)
A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia: Second Edition (Paperback)
A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia by Morten Strange is a very beautiful book. I have both editions of this book, the 2001 Edition and the new 2012 Edition. I was impressed by the first Edition of the book with its many great photos, and this new edition is even more impressing since it is a major upgrade with nearly 250 more species illustrated for a total of 912 species illustrated; and a comprehensive checklist of all 1605 species in Indonesia. Since there is few field guides currently in print covering this vast archipelago this is a must for birders in Asia, but it is a book for everyone with interest for birds. The information in the book is very good, since the text is well written, and information relevant as a guide for those who want to find the birds in the field. You will enjoy the informative text, and the many excellent photos. In Indonesia you can find some of the most beautiful creatures in the planet. With this book, you can study them on your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good handy guide, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia (Paperback)
We used it a lot and the size and amount of information were really excellent

Good pictures and informative maps

Only issue we had was that it is organised by Sub-orders, which is good science and probably good for serious birders, but means there is a lot of flicking through trying to find the correct order to identify a bird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best Photo guide by a mile, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia (Paperback)
Photo guides are always slightly less clear than traditional guide books, but this is the best one I have seen. This is the only guide to cover both sides of the Wallace line and perhaps that is a bit too ambitious as many sub species and rare birds are not covered. Overall, good pictures, good distribution maps and sufficient text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia (Paperback)
Covers a wide area of Indonesia. Good and clear photographs making identification relatively easy even to someone with no knowledge of tropical species. Easy to read maps of distribution. Only downside is that it is a bit heavy to carry about in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Version was not easy to navigate, 3 Dec. 2013
By 
J. M. Mcmillan "Elkmaister" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was informative - when you knew what you were looking at. This is the first time I have tried a bird book on a kindle. I am going back to a hard copy next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia
A Photographic Guide to the Birds of Indonesia by Morten Strange (Paperback - 12 Dec. 2012)
£21.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews