Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read book on Wabi Sabi
If you are looking to learn about this ancient Japanese concept, and I urge you to do so as it can be life changing, then this is a must have book. Beautifully written and I couldn't put it down. This is not a "picture lifestyle" sort of book but goes into the philosophy of Wabi Sabi in a very complete way. I found this book to be a perfect companion to Simon Brown's book...
Published on 25 May 2010 by Cynthia Fleming

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid
Juniper is so reverential of the subject, and reluctant to commit an opinion to paper, that he spends 160 tepid pages avoiding doing so. An extract from the Preface says it all;
"Having opened a design gallery called Wabi Sabi in the United Kingdom, not surprisingly we are regularly asked to explain the concept. Yet every attempt to clarify its tenets usually...
Published on 25 April 2012 by Duncan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read book on Wabi Sabi, 25 May 2010
By 
Cynthia Fleming (Ancaster, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wabi Sabi: The Japanese Art of Impermanence (Paperback)
If you are looking to learn about this ancient Japanese concept, and I urge you to do so as it can be life changing, then this is a must have book. Beautifully written and I couldn't put it down. This is not a "picture lifestyle" sort of book but goes into the philosophy of Wabi Sabi in a very complete way. I found this book to be a perfect companion to Simon Brown's book on Wabi Sabi. If you have reached the point in your life that Wabi Sabi looks interesting prepare yourself for some changes. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wabi Sabi, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wabi Sabi: The Japanese Art of Impermanence (Paperback)
I've read three books on wabi sabi specifically as research for my degree dissertation. I've given this one 5 stars though I'd really give it 4 and a half. It's good. The Leonard Koren one didn't really do it for me. And Wabi Sabi Simple was better than I thought it would be. This was the best of the three for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to the subject, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wabi Sabi: The Japanese Art of Impermanence (Paperback)
This book gives quite a thorough (though readable) history of wabi-sabi as a concept, and its development. It's illustrated with matt black-and-white photos, in keeping with the aesthetic. The author takes the subject seriously (unlike some western writers and designers who confuse it with minimalism or folksiness).

I read it as part of my research into my fine art dissertation on the differing Japanese and western attitudes to perfection and permanence in art and artefacts; and found it very useful background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good and poetic summary of a complex subject, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: Wabi Sabi: The Japanese Art of Impermanence (Paperback)
Wabi Sabi is an eternally vague and complex subject, but Juniper does a very good job of summarising and explaining it. I liked his poetic turns of phrase as well. The final chapters where he itemises good materials and some design theories would be useful inspiration for designers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book on Wabi Sabi, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wabi Sabi: The Japanese Art of Impermanence (Paperback)
wonderful .. this book brings out the philosophy of Wabi Sabi, the spirituality and the beauty of nature, the passage of time and impermanence... Very simply and clearly written in a way that is both intelligent and accessible.... I read it from cover to cover in an afternoon and feel it also a book to dip into.. Not many photos but the photos are beautiful too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Less is More, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wabi Sabi: The Japanese Art of Impermanence (Paperback)
If you prefer quill pens to ballpoints, wooden boats to plastic and antiques to Ikea, Wabi Sabi is for you.
The book covers wabi sabi's origin in Japan as the aesthetic of Zen, but it can be equally applicable in the West- the patina of old furniture and the simplicity of English watercolours have a lot in common with zen gardens and tea ceremonies.
This is a practical book, too, with suggestions on how to apply wabi sabi principles to your own environment.
My only criticism is that the illustrations deserve better reproduction, but that would put the price up, I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wabi Sabi: The Japanese Art of Impermanence (Paperback)
Juniper is so reverential of the subject, and reluctant to commit an opinion to paper, that he spends 160 tepid pages avoiding doing so. An extract from the Preface says it all;
"Having opened a design gallery called Wabi Sabi in the United Kingdom, not surprisingly we are regularly asked to explain the concept. Yet every attempt to clarify its tenets usually resulted in a slow glazing of the listener's eyes and then silence. This inability to adequately explain wabi sabi continued for several years, until we were approached to write a book on the subject". Sadly, the book contract did nothing to improve Juniper's powers of articulation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars strange, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wabi Sabi: The Japanese Art of Impermanence (Paperback)
I knew nothing of this Japanese art but my husband did so I bought it for him and he was delighted although I still think it sounds more like Japanese food than a philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wabi Sabi: The Japanese Art of Impermanence
Wabi Sabi: The Japanese Art of Impermanence by Andrew Juniper (Paperback - 25 Nov 2003)
10.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews