Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live Life To The Full!, 20 May 2004
This review is from: Striking Thoughts: Bruce Lee's Wisdom for Daily Living (The Bruce Lee library) (Paperback)
If you are thinking of buying this book in the belief that it will help you kick higher or punch faster, then you would be wrong. The idea of this book is to help anyone who reads it, to basically lead a better life in the sense of becoming much more chilled and relaxed, and loving life just that little bit more.
It is called 'Striking Thoughts' and belive me that is exactly what it. there are precisely 832 quotes, lifted from the many thousands in the Bruce Lee estate. They are split into eight main parts; Part 1: On First Principles, Part 2: On Being Human, Part 3: On Matters Of Existence, Part 4: On Achievement, Part 5: On Art & Artists, Part 6: On Personal Liberation, Part 7: The Process Of Becoming, Part 8: On Ultimate (Final) Principles. As you can see, they cover almost every aspect of life including racism, time, existance, motivation, the mind, love, health, goals, sucess, and hundreds more.
John Little, the editor of this book and all the other books in the 'Bruce Lee Library' has made a supurb job of this one as he has all the others, setting it all out in a simply way meanig that it can be used a quick reference book to Bruce Lee's 'words of wisdom'.
I have always had a deep passion for life and after reading this book, i was even more ready to tackle life and its problems head on. I just feel so much happier nad cheery that me friends can't believe it.
Overall a great book which will give you a great insight into the philosophical side to martial arts, or if you don't do martial arts, then just as a great guide to leading a better life. As the saying goes 'make the most of living, for your a long time dead'.
If you love life, buy this book and you'll love it even more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great piece of literature, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: Striking Thoughts: Bruce Lee's Wisdom for Daily Living (The Bruce Lee library) (Paperback)
This book really shows that as well as being a world famous actor and legendary martial artist, Bruce Lee was also a very intelligent guy and a great philosopher. This book will make you question your own beliefs and motivations and look within yourself to what really inspires and motivates you deep-down. It will make you question reality and the world around you and realise that the truth is only what we perceive around us and the rest is for us to decide, discover and create. I found it inspirational, enlightening, motivational and absolutely compelling reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars striking thoughts indeed, 28 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Striking Thoughts: Bruce Lee's Wisdom for Daily Living (The Bruce Lee library) (Paperback)
If you are interested in Bruce from a martial arts point of view, this book may not be for you. If you are looking for his throught provoking observations and attitudes towards life and his experiences in it, this is a pretty good book. There are more quotes in this book than you could ever wish for. It is jam packed full of quotes that demonstrate his sensitivity, intelligence and eastern viewpoint.
It has sections on first principles, being human, matters of existence, achievement, art, personal liberation, process of becoming, and ultimate principles. I like to think of this book as less philosophical junkfood, as nourishment for the thinking, questioning mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for furthering self-actualisation, 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Bruce Lee always maintained that one should not aspire to be like him or copy him, but to search for what he was searching for and to go on your own spiritual journey and find who you are by yourself. True to this philosophy, "Striking Thoughts" takes the reader on a journey of the heart and soul. Contained within it are basically 800 aphorisms that either stirred something within Bruce Lee, or that Lee made up himself. John Little, the editor of the book has selected these aphorisms from the many thousand in the Bruce Lee estate and he has done well in compiling and grouping them by topic for quick reference and consequently it increases the accessibility for all readers, not just academics/philosophers. In doing this Little has continued the Lee legacy by enabling everyone to reach out and start their own journey of self-actualisation. On the down side, if you have any of the other books edited by John Little, part of the 'Bruce Lee Library' published by Tuttle, you'll come across some repetition, but all in all this book is very poignant and serves to prove that Lee was much more than a martial artist, he was an artist of life, and Striking thoughts reflects that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Into the Mind of A Master., 21 May 2008
This review is from: Striking Thoughts: Bruce Lee's Wisdom for Daily Living (The Bruce Lee library) (Paperback)
If you are looking at this to see if it will help with your martial arts techniques, then you are coming at this from the wrong angle.These are quotes from Bruce Lee, to encourage you to think for yourself, and find peace and fulfillment in life. It covers goal setting, self actualisation, thinking for yourself and questioning everything.
"Absorb what is useful, reject what is useless and add what is specifcially your own",is a famous quote from Bruce Lee.There is a lot of "useful" in this great little book to absorb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Striking thoughts, 16 July 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Striking Thoughts: Bruce Lee's Wisdom for Daily Living (The Bruce Lee library) (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me by a friend and I found it to be perfect to dip into for quick bursts of inspiration. This book is a collection of his various quotes and small writings that highlight his ideas and philosophy. It isn't necessarily a martial arts book (although this is touched upon), but a book about living your life in general. Although many of these ideas are not originally Bruce's, he was obviously moved by them and he does manage to represent them in a style of his own and in an accessible way. This has some great ideas whether you're a follower of Bruce's films or martial path or not.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and I didn't expect that either, 3 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Striking Thoughts: Bruce Lee's Wisdom for Daily Living (The Bruce Lee library) (Paperback)
Im not a martial arts fan - and I dont get his movies (and still dont) - Im a musician and was looking for some inspiring ideas

I read this most days on the train-commute. The thoughts and philosophy in this book are having a material impact on my own approach to daily living - not just the music side of things - very inspiring and in fact life changing codes. As Bruce teaches, you shouldn't agree with him - rather remain open consider his idea and take those that you agree with - which for me are nearly all. He comes across as a very normal human being too.

Finally - Im 45years - how was this guy coming up with this given he was gone by 32. Im grateful for what he left - but a little sadden for what we missed - I better read his thoughts on that as he would probably tell me not to be sad but learn from it and move on.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Philosophy, 12 July 2010
By 
W. Tsang "mandzipu" (England, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Striking Thoughts: Bruce Lee's Wisdom for Daily Living (The Bruce Lee library) (Paperback)
I had always been a big fan of Bruce Lee's physical work, not realizing what a great philosopher & wise man he was also. This book comprises many words of inspiration & provides a seed for you to grow on your own - to think & interpret for yourself.
Layout of book makes easy for going back for reference. A nice little book to own. Have already recommended this to many friends & family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Striking Thoughts: Bruce Lee's Wisdom for Daily Living (The Bruce Lee library) (Paperback)
Read it and then pass it on, what a world it would be it we could all ingest these words and then apply them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable bedtime read, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Striking Thoughts: Bruce Lee's Wisdom for Daily Living (The Bruce Lee library) (Paperback)
Take a couple of minutes each night to read a few pages to get through this book. Cant read it in long stints though but thats just me :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Striking Thoughts: Bruce Lee's Wisdom for Daily Living (The Bruce Lee library)
£10.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews