Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romance of the Three Kingdoms
Firstly i was interested in the games that were created (Dynasty Warriors) using the book as a foundation. But after a while the history began to interest me and with my friend purchasing this book i decided to do so. From the opening chapter to the end of the first volume the book just kept giving and giving. The book shows you how betrayal, honour, friend ship and trust...
Published on 3 Nov 2003 by murcielago3

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars so many characters
It might be a classic, but for readers used to modern writing, it's really quite difficult to follow. a plethora of characters with names so similiar it takes ages to realise who's who. I'd say only for enthusiasts of classic asian literature.
Published 21 months ago by Squirrel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romance of the Three Kingdoms, 3 Nov 2003
This review is from: Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 1 (Tuttle Classics of Asian Literature) (Paperback)
Firstly i was interested in the games that were created (Dynasty Warriors) using the book as a foundation. But after a while the history began to interest me and with my friend purchasing this book i decided to do so. From the opening chapter to the end of the first volume the book just kept giving and giving. The book shows you how betrayal, honour, friend ship and trust took their part in the crumbling of the Han Dynasty and the building of the Three Kingdoms. The book is well written and the author uses the perfect word choice to describe the characters and the battles. I am currently reading the second volume and hope to report on that too. My advice is to get the book as soon as possible and be whisked away to a world of warriors and heros!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long, but worth it if you're interested., 7 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 1 (Tuttle Classics of Asian Literature) (Paperback)
Wow! Volume 1 of 2 (I believe) and I was initially very confused about the pronounciations and spelling of the names of the characters before I realised I was thinking in a very 'Eurocentric' way, without taking into account the fact that the translations within are probably more accurate than those in the console games that have developed from these accounts.
However, having worked my way through my confusion, this is an epic historical piece, rightly broken down as thew weight of the entirety would be too much to lift! The story of the fall of a Dynasty and the turmoil that followed very much engages, although I suppose you have to have a hiostorical turn of mind to get into it. Not just a list of times, people and events but a full narrative that tells of both the personal and political struggles that surfaced during the Romance of the Three Kingdoms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A note on the differing translations of this story, 30 April 2011
By 
Luke Carroll (Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 1 (Tuttle Classics of Asian Literature) (Paperback)
(This review is more a note on the two major ways of writing the various names in our alphabet rather than of the story itself, although my rating does indeed rate the story itself rather than any particular version.)

I bought this version of the story a few years ago found it confusing and disconcerting that the names seemed to be wrong. I assumed that it was just a different way of translating them (which was true, as it turned out), but it didn't change the fact that it was like reading Lord of the Rings when Brodo and Lam are two Bobbits who go on an adventure with Maraborn the ranger and Shandalf the wizard. The Dynasty Warriors games use another way of translating the names than this translator, and I imagine its that game series that's inspired many people to read this book. It's a version by Moss Roberts that you'll want, in that case. More information can be found on the different translations of the book if you google for "Romance of the Three Kingdoms Book Purchase Information".

However, this version's name renderings are apparently more accurate pronunciation-wise. It's like how Japanese people consider "tsunami" to be made up of "tu", "na" and "mi". They pronounce the "tu" as "tsu", however, and that's how it's widely accepted for it to be written in our alphabet. All the same, some forms of writing Japanese with our alphabet do indeed write it as "tu" since that is technically what it is. It appears the writing of the Chinese has similar parallel systems going on and that Dynasty Warriors (and the Moss Roberts translation) uses the more "proper" form which is, however, less helpful from a pronunciation point of view (the "tu" as opposed to the "tsu", as it were).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars China's best loved epic, 5 April 2005
This review is from: Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 1 (Tuttle Classics of Asian Literature) (Paperback)
Romance of the Three Kingdoms is a fantastic story about the struggle of the Han empire. The first novel concentrates on the rise of the "Three Kingdoms" period, which begins life as a strategy for balancing power between the three main rivals. I use the word fantastic because the stories in this book were recorded by those who were there at the time, but they were also passed through word of mouth all around China. Therefore parts of the story are exaggerated and twisted in the telling (or writing). There are also spectacular observations of shamanistic type magic and very advanced healing methods, Hero's of epic proportions and might, and characters with very interesting traits. This book contains a great balance between an epic dialogue concerning the main protagonists and several short moral stories about specific characters. It also gives you a great sense of Chinese culture, the story being about the re-uniting of the three factions in order to re-form China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ROTK, 9 Nov 2004
By 
M (on the road to Fullujah) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 1 (Tuttle Classics of Asian Literature) (Paperback)
This review is looking at both books one and two as they are meant to be read together.These books are a good blend of History and Fiction. Focusing on the major powers in the 'Three Kingdoms' period, it looks mostly at the eponymous kingdoms, Wu, Shu and Wei. The fact that the novelist lived at the time is a mixed blessing. On one hand he has a keen insight into the events and the context surrounding them. Unfortunately, his early ancestors sided with Shu's leader Liu Bei (or Pei). The bias placed on the Shu characters can get a little grating at times and it places questions on the texts overall validity. However, it remains a good read and highlights an intruiging clash of ideologies, each faction representing one style of rule. You'll soon find yourself siding with one side or another, and when you do the books become difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very rewarding if you have the patience, 28 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 1 (Tuttle Classics of Asian Literature) (Paperback)
Mandatory reading for anyone interested in Chinese classics. Long and complicated but more involving as you go. Excellent insight into ancient Chinese minds, politics, and military strategies. This is a book known to virtually all chinese, with excerpts dramatized in street theatre and references made to it in literature through the ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the worlds oldest, and greatest novels, 28 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 1 (Tuttle Classics of Asian Literature) (Paperback)
This is undoubtedly the greatest of all books. It focuses on three men who lived at the end of the China's Han dynasty and displays their struggle to prevent its downfall. It is very long, however is definitely worth the money and effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars so many characters, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 1 (Tuttle Classics of Asian Literature) (Paperback)
It might be a classic, but for readers used to modern writing, it's really quite difficult to follow. a plethora of characters with names so similiar it takes ages to realise who's who. I'd say only for enthusiasts of classic asian literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite book, 26 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 1 (Tuttle Classics of Asian Literature) (Paperback)
Enthralling.... the best word to describe it. Its long but essential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Translations, 23 Jun 2008
This review is from: Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 1 (Tuttle Classics of Asian Literature) (Paperback)
The story and history itself is great however this particular version of the book is filled with incorect translations with Liu Bei being Liu Pei, Cao Cao being Ts'ao Ts'ao and not only is pretty much every name slightly wrong but even items such as Kuan Yu's (properly translated Guan Yu's) weapon being refered to as the Black dragon when its the green dragon so dont let my review put you off the book just dont buy this edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 1 (Tuttle Classics of Asian Literature)
Romance of the Three Kingdoms Vol 1 (Tuttle Classics of Asian Literature) by C.H. Brewitt-Taylor (Paperback - 21 Sep 2002)
£22.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews