Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
This book is a fanastic journey through colonial Africa by one the first female aviators. It captures the atmosphere of native Africa, at an exciting time in history, when motor cars still turned heads, and the idea of flying was almost ubsurd. It is an insight into the ways of whiteman on the continent and how the flying machine became used as a hunting machine as man...
Published on 15 Dec 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great read of a bygone age
Very well written but left me wanting more. Quite an amazing life.
Published 4 months ago by The BoatBuilder


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This book is a fanastic journey through colonial Africa by one the first female aviators. It captures the atmosphere of native Africa, at an exciting time in history, when motor cars still turned heads, and the idea of flying was almost ubsurd. It is an insight into the ways of whiteman on the continent and how the flying machine became used as a hunting machine as man sought to conquer the mighty continent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Courageous Life, 4 April 2009
By 
Dianne Hardwick (Brisbane) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Beryl Markham's memoir neatly sidesteps the conventional issues of romance and marriage, although she had that, to recount the story of a young woman left very much on her own resources and who achieved considerable success. Beryl made her way into horse training and flying, not as a consciously pioneer feminist woman pushing into conventionally male domains but as a woman trying to make her own livelihood by not accepting there was any reason why she shouldn't do the things she enjoyed and was good at. Her love of Africa and her friendships and knowledge built across cultures are what gave Beryl the capability to forge a life of great variety and interest. The culmination of her achievements was her solo flight across the Atlantic from east to west, which gives the book its title. West With the Night has an appealing informality and honesty. Beryl Markham's name is one of which the world should hear more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful writing, 16 Feb 2002
By 
Amazon Customer "Bones" (Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
...More like poetry than prose, some of her descriptive passages have to be read more than once, just to let the feelings soak into your system.
Ms Markham's early life is told in a matter-of-fact way, which takes it for granted that, when at 17, your father decides to leave Africa for Peru, you jump on your horse and head North, with no food, one change of underwear, little education, but a deep knowledge of horses and expect to land on your feet. Which is exactly what she does, co-incidentally meeting many yet-to-be-famous people on the way.
Hunter; horse-trainer; aeronaut; most people would be happy to excel in any one of these professions, but Beryl does it all with surpassing ease. Her style is self-effacing and matter-of-fact; you would imagine that being 'moderately eaten' by a lion would warrant more than a couple of paragraphs, but it only gets included here, I suspect, on the strength of Bishon Singh's wonderful rhetoric in describing the event. She also has a knack of striking up instant and longlasting relationships with people from every race, creed and social status - I don't believe she even saw those differences; be he a Murani warrior or a colonial Governor, they both get treated to the same open-minded friendship.
A book to read & read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting biography, 10 Aug 2012
This review is from: West with the Night (Paperback)
This biography clearly leaves out much more than it covers, but so Ms Markham clearly says in the first chapter. We are treated to some episodes from her life in Colonial East Africa in the first decades of the 20th Century. The times were such that all that "modern" was good, yet without claiming that everything native was bad. One is given a reasonable idea of how huge and partwise dangerous Africa is.
It's interesting how her Atlantic flight that gives the book its title is briefly summarised in a single chapter--clearly she was not going to brag about something that was not a major part of her life, as opposed to the African landscape and race horses, which clearly were. Another point of interest is that she apparently managed to be married thrice in the time period covered by the book and this is not mentioned by a single word, perhaps indicating that this is a biography of her work life, rather than an insight into her private life.
And yes, there is the florid language, and perhaps this is necessary to convey the vastness of the terrain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars West with the Night, 20 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. Timothy N. Ashworth (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: West with the Night (Paperback)
Hemingways review says it all. Briefly, it's the most under-rated historical review of life and customs, as well as flying, in Africa over a very formative period. That this woman flew very basic aircraft with virtually non-existant navigational aids, most often solo over huge stretches of totally inhospitable terrain, is mind boggling in itself.
Beryl Markham has created not so much an autobiography but both a literary and philosophical masterpiece. Each page actually deserves an individual review.
I,ve already lent my copy out, so I'm buying another one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 6 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to read this book because I spent six years in Kenya as a child, which is where Beryl Markham spent most of her life. I wasn't particularly interested in her flight across the Atlantic. I found the whole book fascinating, even though the descriptions of elephant hunting were upsetting. (I get the feeling she might not have liked the idea much either, but was doing what everyone did in those days.) The book is very evocative of a time and place and a way of life and I loved the way it is written, which is very vivid with plenty of detail. I enjoyed her description of her Atlantic flight too and found myself wondering what else she did in her life afterwards as the book ends with this feat. This is a good, easy-to-read and enjoyable dip into the life of a bold and independent woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first part of this book is a lyrical evocation of Beryl Markham's childhood in Africa in the early part of the twentieth century. It goes on to record her adult flying career and triumphant solo crossing of the Atlantic. I enjoyed reading it very much, as I had done when I first read it many years ago. Since my first read, however, Mary Lovell has written a biography of Beryl Markham, and this now provides an interesting insight into Beryl's 'memories'. Maybe the 'truth' doesn't matter so much: 'West with the Night' is still a fascinating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I was only disappointed that some references were not covered in more detail, 4 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After a slow start I found the whole book quite interesting. Maybe people could be concerned about the game hunting but bearing in mind that the time frame was the '20 - '30s I could overlook that and, being avidly interested in aviation history, I was only disappointed that some references were not covered in more detail. One thing that I did find annoying was that the book was printed on poor quality paper which gave the the a rather fuzzy look - not too good for those with less than perfect eyesight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest set of memoires you will read., 13 Jun 2014
By 
H. B. Wienand (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fill in the missing links by reading "Straight On Till Morning" by Mary Lovell. Hemingway was right when he said that Beryl Markham wrote better than he could ever aspire to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love africa you will love this, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a good book. I read it after out of africa and really enjoyed it. The colours and feel if africa are brought to life and what a brave and amazing woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

West with the Night/6 Audio Cassettes
West with the Night/6 Audio Cassettes by Beryl Markham (Audio Cassette - 31 Dec 1987)
Used & New from: £34.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews