Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars captivating, 11 Dec 2013
By 
M. Coleman "mircoleman" (Glos UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wonderful ,interesting individual who would be exciting to meet in person. Never tire of listening to his logical views on politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic Mix, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Patrick Mullane (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The author is a commentator on Fox News in the US. Hence, there is a certain preconceived notion of this collection of his articles. However, he comes across as a level headed and articulate advocate of his conservative position. Whilst naturally focused on US affairs, he does make interesting general debating points on marriage, religion, nationhood and how the state/citizen interaction has evolved. Overall an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Charles Krauthammer!, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
EXCELLENT READ! There is so much in this book that I will be reading it again to take more in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Things That Matter: Three Decades of Passions, Pastimes and Politics (Random House Large Print) (Paperback)
Read this so fast, hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Things, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Jasmine Langdon (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Charles Krauthammer is one of those rare Fox News journalists that does not turn my stomach. He is intelligent and thoughtful. He covers everything from stem cell research to civil rights.

His book is much of what you would imagine by the title: the things that matter.

I read it slowly, picking it up whenever I had the time of inclination to be informed.

It is easy to return to. Overall, a very good book for the times we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You don't need to necessarily agree with his political views, but he's erudite and intelligent, 24 May 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
"Things That Matter" by Charles Krauthammer, who is winner of the Pulitzer Prize and named by The Financial Times the most influential commentator in US, is compilation of his weekly columns full of small wisdoms about government and politics, but also about many others interesting things which marked US in last thirty years.

Charles is saying that his views went through lots of changes during his career, starting as liberal and today being one of the most prominent conservative journalists.
And although I don't share his political views he must be admitted that he writes intelligently and thoughtful but, most importantly, in his writing he's not so strict, dividing things rigidly on black and white as many conservatives usually do.

Inside, reader won't find some new proposals or ideas, but it's nevertheless interesting to read his collection of writings about things that happened in 80's and 90's from this historical distance.
Besides being an anthology of his columns, a book provides additional part in which the author is speaking about the things that were changing his career, which influenced his writing style and philosophy in politics, which somehow explain and give more light to his gradual changes from one end of the political spectrum to the other.

So, although you don't need to necessarily agree with his political views, I nevertheless can recommend reading this book because Charles Krauthammer deserved it due to his style, erudition and intelligence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Things that matter; Charles Krauthammer, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have become an admirer of Mr Krauthammer since viewing him on FOX TV.over the past year or so.He is able to make his particular viewpoint clearly and without ambiguity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST PROGRAME ON FOX TV, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find this book very interesting and other persons will like it also, I love watch in Charles Krauthammer on Fox TV AT 11.30PM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very much welcome Christmas gift, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Normally it takes some time before I get a response from my son about my choice of presents, but this time it came immediately. He was looking forward to dig into the pages of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Things That Matter: Three Decades of Passions, Pastimes and Politics (Random House Large Print)
15.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews