Customer Reviews


1,290 Reviews
5 star:
 (439)
4 star:
 (229)
3 star:
 (212)
2 star:
 (182)
1 star:
 (228)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty mind blowing read!
Follows the same thriller formula as his other books which Hitchock devised 50 years ago - a 24 hours chase with the protagonist (with girl) pursued by both the cops and the baddies while they follow a trail of clues in an attempt to solve all the puzzles before an imminent deadline that threatens with catastophy. There is also the obligatory completely mad bad guy...
Published on 18 Aug 2010 by Dedonno Jason Enzo

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a bit of a drag
back when I worked in a bar I had one customer who loved to hear his own voice. Out of politeness I would stand or sit and listen to him drone on about things he knew of. He'd go on for hours on end. Sometimes he'd come up with a gem of a saying or some vital bit of gossip, but aside from that it was painful having to listen to him.

Reading this book felt just...
Published 18 months ago by C. Winterburn


‹ Previous | 1121 122 123129 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery!, 9 Jan 2010
By 
Laura Dalla Costa (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book arrived within about 10 days from ordering, even though it was December. The book was new and in perfect conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Symbol, 7 Jan 2010
By 
MARLENE (STANMORE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My wife bought it for me for Christmas. Read it in about 2 days, a real page turner, would highly recommend this book. I really enjoyed it.

Written by HOWARD NAPPER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speedy delivery, 6 Jan 2010
By 
This was a Christmas present for my father who was thrilled with it. I was amazed at the speedy delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dan Brown's The lost symbol, 4 Jan 2010
By 
I am thoroughly enjoying this book, I'm three quarters of the way through and enjoying it just as much as the Da Vince code.
I would recommend it to someone who wants a good read with a book that you just cannot put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Symbol, 1 Jan 2010
By 
B. Batsford (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this for my Husband He hasn't put it down since he started it !! Excellent read Best yet from Mr Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Amazon, 31 Dec 2009
The first book arrived damaged and the replacement book arrived within 2 days of me letting Amazon know. As it was a gift for someone I am very happy with the service. Thanks. Apparently the book is pretty good too :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true masterpiece!, 24 Dec 2009
By 
GizmoGeek (Hounslow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Writing is an art, and Dan Brown proves himself a master yet again in this thrilling novel featuring the highly resourceful (and extremely lucky) Harvard symbologist, professor Robert Langdon.
What sets apart Dan Brown's books is his ability to use real-world art work, monuments, and actual pieces of history and weave them seamlessly into a complicated web of secrets, philosophy and hope. His other recent books - Angels and Demons and The Da Vinci Code - bear testimony to his style that has become the trademark of Dan Brown.

In The Lost Symbol, this time the plot is based in Washington D.C. and revolves around a centuries-old Masonic secret and its revelations. Langdon, who is unexpectedly called to D.C. on short notice, discovers his dear friend has been kidnapped and in grave danger, the Harvard professor quickly finds himself unwittingly involved in a deep conspiracy involving an ancient secret, the CIA and an issue of national urgency.

Paired with the attractive Katherine Solomon, the duo use both scientific techniques as well as Langon's potent knowledge of symbology to crack the ancient mystery placed before them before its too late.
The pacing is quick and the reader is drawn into the world of ritualistic secrets, age-old philosophy, history, medieval art and theology.
What is impressive is the amount of research that has been put into writing this book - most (although not ALL) historical references are in fact accurate, and while the element of fiction does tend to overplay reality, it is to be expected in a work of fiction.

However, one aspect of The Lost Symbol I didn't particularly appreciate is the drawn-out closure of the book. In my opinion, the ending seems to linger on for some 20 pages after the climax, where the narration turns elaborately religious - almost to the point of becoming a lecture - where the author seems to have taken the liberty of preaching his personal opinion on the concept and Word of God, the role of man and other theo-philosophical concepts that aren't really central to the book...and which some people might find offensive.
However, I still give this 5-stars because I don't think its fair that some 20 odd pages should mar the rating of an otherwise excellent book.

A must read to all fans of Dan Brown books; and a good read for newcomers as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown, 24 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thjis is a well researched book and it flows really well.
This is a book that i could not put down as i felt if i did i would miss something ( ridiculus i know )
AQ reccomended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good read, again, 21 Dec 2009
By 
Andrew Bedford (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Lost Symbol is not as gripping as some of Dan's earlier books, and you have a feeling for the ending about 2 chapters before it happens if you have read previous books, but it is still interesting and gripping. Some interesting observations around The Masons and Washington's history, and the use of modern torture techniques. worth buying - probably wait for the softback - but if new to Dan Brown then invest in the earlier books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Symbol, 18 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dan Brown had outdo himself with this twisting tale. It is again a fantastic read with a lot of twisting plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1121 122 123129 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Symbol
The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown (Audio CD - 2 July 2013)
10.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews