Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love Battlefield, this guide is a must have.
I was very impressed with the overall quality of this publication. The only other strategy guide I own that i would say was equal to this one in quality is the latest version of Skyrim. Each map is covered in detail, with pro tips on how best to accomplish the tasks your team may have when playing. Also included is details of all classes for each country...
Published 20 months ago by Ms S D Brown

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Multiplayer ONLY
VERY disappointed in this product, which has ONE SENTENCE directing you to a web address for the single player campaign, and is otherwise totally about weapon unlock trees and multiplayer maps and strategy.

As I bought this for an SP play through, as available in ALL other Prima guides, it was a total waste of money. Sadly, you only find that out when you open...
Published 16 months ago by C. P. Dyckes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love Battlefield, this guide is a must have., 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 4 Collector's Edition: Prima's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
I was very impressed with the overall quality of this publication. The only other strategy guide I own that i would say was equal to this one in quality is the latest version of Skyrim. Each map is covered in detail, with pro tips on how best to accomplish the tasks your team may have when playing. Also included is details of all classes for each country (American, Russian, chinese etc, and details of all vehicles and weapons available in game plus lots more.

It covers everything you need to know about every map in the battlefield 4 universe and also comes with large postcard sized maps (approx 8' by 12') that can be drawn on (using suitable marker pens), with map specific tips on the reverse side of the maps as well as codes for a pdf version of the guide and a gold battle pack that gives you a better chance of containing rarer combinations of camos, dog tags. knives XP boosts plus more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully presented and brilliantly thorough guide, though not without its problems., 4 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. M. Sargeson "I'm a self-facilitating medi... (Norwich, England yeah?) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlefield 4 Collector's Edition: Prima's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
Full disclosure: I've never bought a game guide prior to this one. In many ways I thought that they just sucked the fun out of a new game - who wants their hand held through the entire thing, your eyes flitting between the game onscreen and the guide in your hand? I never really got the appeal. Still, after standing in a long queue at my local GAME store in order to pick up Battlefield 4 on the PS3, this was nearby on a spinner rack. It was an extra £19.99 but I was in the mood for an impulse purchase. And I'm glad I was.

First off, the best things about picking up this Collector's Edition rather than the standard edition: On the surface you get an imposing Hardcover binding which really lends some heft and added durability to the guide's impressive 400+ page count. The cover's embossed and has added flourishes of metallic coloring to really lend the book a premium appearance; it's definitely something you want to show off to your gaming friends and looks great on your shelf, even if it is a little unwieldy for reading in bed/on the couch.

Additionally on the inside you also get an interview with the head honchos of DICE re: the history and future of the Battlefield series, and an in-depth discussion of all the changes made for this new installment, the whys and the wherefores. It's a great addition to the content of the standard edition, even if it does feel a little oddly placed at the front of the book ahead of the Contents List.

Finally you also get a set of A4 cards (that can be marked upon and wiped-clean) which show the layout of each of the game's initial line-up of 10 maps for in-game notes and so on. It's questionable how handy these'll be to you personally (some people will have the benefit of using a Tablet for this purpose) but they're nice to have I guess. You also get a DLC code for a Gold Battlepack for use in-game (much welcomed - you quickly come to love/rely on these bad boys!) and a code to access an online copy of the guide to view on your tablet or smartphone. For the added few quid, I'd say that all of above benefits are well worth the money.

With regards to the guide itself...wow. It is chock-full of information on everything from the game's basics (moving around, shooting, the HUD elements) to incremental pieces of tactical advice for every map available at launch, even down to how to approach each individual game mode on each map. There's a lot to take in but it's all written very clearly and there's some genuinely useful 'Pro Tips' from the book's panel of Pro-Gamer authors littered throughout. Every upgrade tree is present, every weapon and gadget detailed, every map inspected inside and out. It's a wealth of information collected and presented with an almost palpable sense of passion and love of the Battlefield franchise.

Will it up your game? Possibly. There are certain tactical ideas suggested here that I've already put into practice in my game with winning results, and it's great to have a professional's take on the benefits of each individual player class (Assault, Recon etc.). It definitely gave me some much-needed new play ideas.

Is it necessary to get the most out of the game? I can't say that it is, though I should point out that there are certain things detailed in the book which the game itself fails to make clear. Did you know that you can now 'Zero' in sniper rifles in BF4 to elminate the need to factor in bullet-drop when engaging a target at distance? I didn't. Never saw it mentioned in-game or in any of the reviews. Did you know that the Recon mode has been altered to be more successful in close-to-mid-range encounters? It's difficult for DICE to explain that through marketing I guess, but the team writing the Guide do a brilliant job of it. You don't need the information presented here to succeed at the game, but if definitely doesn't hurt your chances and - in some cases - might lead you down the roads to marked improvements in your game.

Does it cover EVERYTHING? I'm sad to say that it doesn't, though the omissions are few and far between. For example, there's about 10 knives that you can unlock for MP one way or another (as confirmed by Battlelog); this book details only 2. The use of XP Boosts (often awarded from Battlepacks) are not discussed in any way, and I had to look up how to utilize these through Google. And finally - and most importantly - this book can't offer any insight into the five confirmed Map Packs that are set to come out through the life of Battlefield 4, and as such this book's content will become redundant to a certain extent in a rather short space of time. Of course, the upgrades, play styles and start-out map info contained herein will always be useful, but once the new DLC starts hitting in a few weeks you won't be as prepared for those maps as you were for those packaged with the game at launch. However, there is always the electronic copy of the guide that you get free with this book, and that's apparently set to be updated to take the new content into account on and as and when basis. Problem solved? We'll see.

In short however, this book is much recommended to Battlefield veterans and newcomers alike; everyone can learn a thing or two from it, and it's presented beautifully. It serves as both a great reference guide to the many features and content elements of BF4, and as a desirable collectible that can enhance your experience of the new game. The book rarely puts a foot wrong in its purpose, and future-proofs itself as much as possible (the content within caters for all current-gen, next-gen and PC builds of the game). It is, in summary, an excellent guide, and has certainly made my launch day experience all the more enjoyable!

It's also got me interested in Gaming Guides in general...come PS4 launch day I may have to pick up a few more ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Multiplayer ONLY, 17 Mar. 2014
By 
C. P. Dyckes "Colin" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 4 Collector's Edition: Prima's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
VERY disappointed in this product, which has ONE SENTENCE directing you to a web address for the single player campaign, and is otherwise totally about weapon unlock trees and multiplayer maps and strategy.

As I bought this for an SP play through, as available in ALL other Prima guides, it was a total waste of money. Sadly, you only find that out when you open the shrink wrap and can't return it, so BEWARE!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Battlefield 4 game guide, 30 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Battlefield 4 Collector's Edition: Prima's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
This book has everything you need to know about the game including the history of all the battlefields before and being the collectors edition it gives you that much more , well worth the money and very interesting about little things not many people know about that you need to buy this to find out what they are ......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its OKay, 20 Dec. 2013
By 
Alan "LCD Buyer" (West midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 4 Collector's Edition: Prima's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
Better than expected. But then I have been conditioned over the years to expect EA to deliver half finished beta product. This is 3/4's finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 4 Collector's Edition: Prima's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
No hesitation in ordering again that's it in a nut shell what you see is what you get very satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 4 Collector's Edition: Prima's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
Amazing Collectable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 4 Collector's Edition: Prima's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 4 Collector's Edition: Prima's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
Super!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Sept. 2014
By 
Mrs. Margaret Millward (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlefield 4 Collector's Edition: Prima's Official Game Guide (Hardcover)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlefield 4 Collector's Edition: Prima's Official Game Guide
Battlefield 4 Collector's Edition: Prima's Official Game Guide by David Knight (Hardcover - 1 Nov. 2013)
Used & New from: £20.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews