Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green Beret Staff Sergant Donahu served as a medic..........
Green Beret Staff Sergant Donahu served as a medic with a 12-man A-Team sent to Vietnam in 1966. In 1967, when he should have returned Stateside, this career Marine volunteered to join the newly coceived Mobile Gurrilla Force, extending his tour of duty by six months to do so. This book gives account of an operation on just one day, 18th July 1967, when the hunters became...
Published on 26 Sept. 2000

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Leprechaun
A short story of a special forces unit in Vietnam but I got the impression these guys didn't have the same daily slog the grunts had.
It was very interesting to read about the Cambodians involvement in the war & wonder if the war protesters even knew who else was fighting especially when you add the Laotian air force & many other hill tribes involved fighting for...
Published 13 months ago by Pc


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green Beret Staff Sergant Donahu served as a medic.........., 26 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blackjack 34 (Mass Market Paperback)
Green Beret Staff Sergant Donahu served as a medic with a 12-man A-Team sent to Vietnam in 1966. In 1967, when he should have returned Stateside, this career Marine volunteered to join the newly coceived Mobile Gurrilla Force, extending his tour of duty by six months to do so. This book gives account of an operation on just one day, 18th July 1967, when the hunters became the hunted and Vietcong attacked Donahue's patrol. It is a gripping story, made all more redable by the author's superb descriptive style of both events and participants. A no-nonsense book that brings home the full horror of Vietnam without the gung-ho attitude portrayed by Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 16 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackjack 34 (Mass Market Paperback)
I quite liked this book although I think I should have read Black Jack 33 first to understand the unit better. The Green Berets took a lot of stick because of how many Op's they messed up in the Vietnam war but who they are and what they are capable of doing should not be underestimated. While most focus on what they didn't do they should look at situations like this one where they delivered a very successful Op whithought too much loss.
I liked the book but felt he was filling it out at some points as the whole story is based over a couple of days, if your a Vietnam buff then I would definatley reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsung Heros, 7 Mar. 2011
By 
Frank L. Topham "frank1944" (u.k. (salisbury)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackjack 34 (Mass Market Paperback)
All of J. Donahue books are classic. Telling how a few highly trained and brave men contributed to the War in Vietnam. If you like to read about courage and mans struggle to survive a dangerous envirement this books take you on a journey of you will not forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Leprechaun, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A short story of a special forces unit in Vietnam but I got the impression these guys didn't have the same daily slog the grunts had.
It was very interesting to read about the Cambodians involvement in the war & wonder if the war protesters even knew who else was fighting especially when you add the Laotian air force & many other hill tribes involved fighting for their freedom.
Oh and the Cia read a book called "The Ravens",.

This book I think is a tribute to the Cambodians who fought & died alongside the special forces .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my top 3 Vietnam books out of 50 plus, 29 Jun. 2012
By 
These books are brimming with action (this and blackjack 33) - these books tick all the boxes in the Vietnam War genre, stealth, tactics, setting booby traps, intense firefights, as these guys went out on company sized operations they would clover leaf into platoon sized recon patrols or indeed patrol in parallel but if they detected a possible camp they could form up into a company sized outfit to attack.

they often stirred up a bees nests especially as they were patrolling in the VC's "backyard" if they found a suspected VC stonghold they wouldnt mark the on a map and call in artillery, they'd enter it first to make sure and shoot 'em up! and if outnumbered they would retreat and be hunted ruthlessly, except they had men skilled in laying booby traps on their back trail, yes! have some of your own medicine Mr Charles!

IF AMERICA HAD FOUGHT THE WAR TOTALLY USING THESE TACTICS AND THOSE IN "DEVILS GUARD" THE OUTCOME MAY HAVE BEEN DIFFERENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A medics' story., 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From page one I was captured by Donahue's story - no wonder he called his book "No greater love." The bond between soldiers who live and die side by side is truly as great, if not greater, than the love one has for one's family.
I felt as if I were part of the team fighting for their lives, the care they showed for one another.
I loved the book and the way Mr. Donahue portrayed "A day with the MGF."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second book I've read by James Donahue & I loved every page of it!!
Just like the first blackjack book he draws you into life on the line his accounts of the brutality of combat are unbelievable.I would recommend anyone who loves reading about the Vietnam war to give this a go
Bloody brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring story, 31 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am reading a lot of books about individual soldiers & small units in the Vietnam war. This & his other book are great reads. Whilst the Vietnam was a disaster for all concerned, this story of bravery, love , stoicism transcends the brutality of ground combat. Amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a reasonably enjoyable and informative read, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackjack 34 (Mass Market Paperback)
interesting in the info it provides on the involvement of Cambodians irregulars in the conflict; otherwise it is fairly run of the mill, albeit one hectic day, in vietnam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackjack 34 (Mass Market Paperback)
Great book about the Vietnam conflict,it shows how brave men risked all and coped with danger in a very brave way.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackjack 34
Blackjack 34 by James Donahue (Mass Market Paperback - 1 May 2000)
£5.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews