Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A humourous look at serving with the LRRPs in Vietnam
Kregg P Jorgenson has written many great books concerning his time in the LRRPs in Vietnam. This book is a kind of an aside, a book about how the men enjoyed themselves before, during and after the missions.
Jorgenson is especially talented in bringing out the human side of these highly professional and well trained soldiers. This look at the more private side of...
Published on 20 Feb 2002

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
I enjoyed this book but it is not the set of 'crazy' tales that it claimsto be.
The short stories are very variable in quality - some are fascinating (forexample, a soldier stalking a tiger - or maybe the tiger is stalking him;a combat-wounded soldier who is told he must pay for the rifle he lost ina fire-fight; a couple of back-from the dead stories).
Some of...
Published on 20 April 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 20 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Very Crazy, G.I. (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed this book but it is not the set of 'crazy' tales that it claimsto be.
The short stories are very variable in quality - some are fascinating (forexample, a soldier stalking a tiger - or maybe the tiger is stalking him;a combat-wounded soldier who is told he must pay for the rifle he lost ina fire-fight; a couple of back-from the dead stories).
Some of the stories are bizarre - Vietnamese equivalents of the Loch NessMonster and the Yeti for example; and some are just dull - mostly wherethe author gives us a semi-autobiographical account of how he came acrossthe story, complete with conversational quotations and some fairly poorattempts at humour.
However, overall the book is an interesting read and, at the price, is aworthy purchase. I would say though that none of the tales are 'crazy' assuch - I was expecting tales of bizarre helicopter flights upside downthrough trees, new inventions of military hardware adapted into moonshinestills, surfing on war-torn beaches Killgore style(Robert Duvall'scharacter in Apolocalypse Now)and so on. No complaints that this was notthe case! but the book cover is a little misleading in this respect.
For fans of the author Gary Linderer (who has written a number of goodbooks on the LRPs in Vietnam, including one of the Six Silent Men series)it is worth mentioning that the author knows Linderer, who pops up acouple of times in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A humourous look at serving with the LRRPs in Vietnam, 20 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Very Crazy, G.I. (Mass Market Paperback)
Kregg P Jorgenson has written many great books concerning his time in the LRRPs in Vietnam. This book is a kind of an aside, a book about how the men enjoyed themselves before, during and after the missions.
Jorgenson is especially talented in bringing out the human side of these highly professional and well trained soldiers. This look at the more private side of their lives in Vietnam completes the collection of books Jorgenson has written that really define what it was like to be a serving foot soldier in the Vietnam War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boo-coo dinky...., 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was ok, but got a bit repetitive after a while. Not up to the standard of some of his other work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not particulary good value, 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a compilation of recounted tales of unusual happenings. As you would expect the tales are not reproduced verbatum, but edited to make them more readable and to a consistent standard. Unfortunately quite a few of the tales are pumped up to make a short anecdote into a story - which devalues them in my opinion. I bought the book for my kindle and as such it was relatively low cost, but had I bought the paperback I would have been very disappointed (in terms of value). So, in summary, as a quick, cheap read it's OK - but I wouldn't seek it out to read or recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kregg does it again, 28 Feb 2004
This review is from: Very Crazy, G.I. (Mass Market Paperback)
I think that this a very god book, a series of short stories about the vietnam war, one or two off them are perhaps " non-confirme-able", but who cares, just as long as it is a good storie.
I very much enjoyed the R-R storie to Thailand; revenge is to be enjoyed cold.
Also the story about marine SGT Henderson, that died and diden't
send chills up and down my spine.
Kregg has a way with frases and words, especialy his funny and self-ironic way of decribing himself and his conversion with all those who contributed stories to his book, he is very much the
Wiseguy he always describes himself as.
I can highly recommend this book to anyone.
Keep up the good work !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Very Crazy, G.I.
Very Crazy, G.I. by Kregg P. J. Jorgenson (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Mar 2001)
4.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews