Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first Morse, the start of a long relationship
Having watched the new TV series Endeavour, I decided to re-read the Morse books. Whilst John Thaw and now Shaun Evans have brought the character off the page, I still love the books. Well worth going back to, or picking these up if you have seen the programmes.
Published 19 months ago by Andrew King

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Last Century
Very dated at this stage. It belongs to its time and does not really translate to the 21st century. The quality of the writing with respect to characterization is weak and there is really no suspense at all.
Published 6 days ago by Herr Doktor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first Morse, the start of a long relationship, 27 May 2013
By 
Andrew King "AKA" (Nairn, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having watched the new TV series Endeavour, I decided to re-read the Morse books. Whilst John Thaw and now Shaun Evans have brought the character off the page, I still love the books. Well worth going back to, or picking these up if you have seen the programmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pulled me in, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first Morse I'd read, though I have watched and enjoyed all the drama series on TV over the years. It was actually quite different from the TV Morse which I was pleased about. The story was good and the way the investigation unfolded clever and interesting, plus there was a strong element of humour running through the story. I shall definitely be returning for another investigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last Bus to Woodstock, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this book as it was like going back in time! There were no mobile phones or Internet - just old fashioned detective work. I will certainly be reading more Colin Dexter stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entering a new world, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just latched onto the Dexter / Morse / Lewis phenomenon and so it's like whole new world opening up in front of me. It's not "great literature" but it certainly is entertaining and clever. The prospect of reading all the 13 novels, and also watching all the "Morse" and "Lewis" videos is simply delightful. Each novel needs reading twice to appreciate the clever detail, and each video needs watching twice too. Add to all this the wonderful backdrop of the magical City of Oxford .... and I feel I am onto a very good thing! This novel is the first of Dexter's Morse novels, so this really is like a first step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Different from the series but a gripping and exciting read thoroughly enjoyed it.. Couldn't put it down will be getting others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inspector Morse is completely different to the tv version of the character but a very good read - could not put the book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed it, very well written. Have read a lot of his books and always enjoy his writing will readmore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last bus to Woodstock, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was so like the inspector Morse I used love and watch on TV.Very good reading kept me guessing to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is so well written and it keeps you guessing right from the beginning a brilliant book a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Last Century, 22 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very dated at this stage. It belongs to its time and does not really translate to the 21st century. The quality of the writing with respect to characterization is weak and there is really no suspense at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Bus to Woodstock
Last Bus to Woodstock by Colin Dexter (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Jan 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews