Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb First Hand WWII Combat Account
One of the very best first hand accounts of WWII combat from the point of view of a young, green, American infanty officer who quickly becomes a veteran combat commander.
Truly superb insight into life in the front line from the St Lo Breakout, through the forgotten hell of Hurtgen, the Ardennes and twice through the Siegfried line.
The best I have yet read for...
Published on 22 May 2005 by Mr David Austin

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Read, but!!
This is a very good read and I am in awe of all the people who have fought for our freedom over the years.

I have to disagree with some of the comments regarding Lt Wilson. Reading his account I wonder why he didn't end up with 5 medals of honor or be a general at the end as he seems to have single handedly been at the forefront of all the big battles and made...
Published on 22 Jun 2011 by Will


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb First Hand WWII Combat Account, 22 May 2005
This review is from: If You Survive (Ivy Books World War II/Nonfiction) (Mass Market Paperback)
One of the very best first hand accounts of WWII combat from the point of view of a young, green, American infanty officer who quickly becomes a veteran combat commander.
Truly superb insight into life in the front line from the St Lo Breakout, through the forgotten hell of Hurtgen, the Ardennes and twice through the Siegfried line.
The best I have yet read for an insight of infantry fighting at a platoon and company level.
I urge you to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Restrained and thoughtful, 29 Mar 2007
By 
Blackheart (Cheltenham-UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: If You Survive (Ivy Books World War II/Nonfiction) (Mass Market Paperback)
George Wilson is (Or was) no great stylist as a writer, and tries to neither impress nor manipulate the reader- his book is all the better for it. What he obviously was, was a modest, brave, and decent man, the kind of citizen soldier of which a nation should be proud. His book covers a period from D-Day to the end of the war, as an infantry lieutenant and sometime acting company commander. He fought through the Hurtgen Forest in a formation completely destroyed by losses and then rebuilt, fighting as brutal and unforgiving as any on the Western Front. He is thoughtful and humane on failures in training and equipment in his own army, and failures of personnel, and his work would serve as a useful training primer for comapny level infantry actions even today. This book is a fine antidote to gung-ho memoirs, or even to higher level histories which serve patriotic agendas. Read it and be grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent First Hand Account, 7 Aug 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If You Survive (Ivy Books World War II/Nonfiction) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is an excellent and moving first hand account of the war in Europe from July 1944 as seen from the view point of a young officer in a rifle company.
Wilson manages to convey the fear, toil, fatigue, and futility of life in an infantry battalion through the break-out from Normandy, the awful fighting in Hurtgen, and the Battle of the Bulge.
I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than "Saving Private Ryan.", 30 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: If You Survive (Paperback)
If you liked "Saving Private Ryan" you will love this book. Willson was "lucky?" enough to be in every major battle; Saint Lo, Falaise, Siegfried Line, Hurtgen Forest, Battle of the Bulge. He was always on the very front line and he survived! This book is easy to read and very hard to put down. I was very sorry when I got to the very last page and there was no more to read. If you want action, forget movie theaters. Read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very gripping tale of small unit combat in WWII., 8 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: If You Survive (Paperback)
A very well-written and exciting story. It tries very hard to give a good account of the way it was in the last year of the war, especially 'The Battle of the Bulge. The only thing that I did not like was that Mr. Wilson seems to gloss over some of the details, most probably in an effort to save the reader from some of the horror he faced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I felt I was there!, 14 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: If You Survive (Paperback)
George Wilson tells a tale that many of us have wondered what it was like to have fought in the 2nd world war. He is vivid in every detail. He gives chilling accounts of front line life, the battles, the men who gave up their lives, the men who cracked under pressure. He also gave the Germans a look of humanity at times. The battle scarred Germans gave up pretty easy in some cases, and most of the times, they fought with such vigor and violence it blew me away. I cried at some points in the book. I felt sick in others. I could have sworn I hear mortar shells flying over my head, and men crying for help. He gave accounts of men doing the right thing and the wrong thing, and the wrong thing in war usually leads up to death ... and a lot of wrong stuff that was done caused some men their lives. George Wilson did a wonderful job as a solider, Lt., in the second world war, and a brilliant way of bringing the war to us. Thank you George for the book and the fighting you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Read, but!!, 22 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good read and I am in awe of all the people who have fought for our freedom over the years.

I have to disagree with some of the comments regarding Lt Wilson. Reading his account I wonder why he didn't end up with 5 medals of honor or be a general at the end as he seems to have single handedly been at the forefront of all the big battles and made all the major decisions on how to carry out an action. I somehow can't believe that all the much senior officers would always defer to his decisions.
I would have enjoyed it better if he had a bit more humility.

But saying that, he did take part and for that I am very grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem, 10 Dec 2007
By 
D. Williams "Diddly Dai" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: If You Survive (Ivy Books World War II/Nonfiction) (Mass Market Paperback)
It's nice to read a story/memoir of WWII that doesn't start with D-Day but starts just after it in the very confusing period during the Battle of Normandy.

It's also good to see someone being honest about his mistakes and triumphs, and how other's also made mistakes. Also unusual for an American to admit that his own air force bombed him, and to take Patton off his pedestal.

Brilliantly he doesn't try and tell you everyone's name and their life history, which a lot of books of this ilk try and overwhelm you with to the point when you really couldn't give a toss about any of them.

There are some great stories here, and it's well written. Importantly, George Wilson isn't try to fool anyone that he's the best soldier ever, just a guy trying to keep himself and his squad alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Memory after all these years, 3 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: If You Survive (Ivy Books World War II/Nonfiction) (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed the book due to the great detail contained within in it,for example how many yards the enemy were during each contact.
However a little dissapointed when he talks about being evacuated to Britain to find he has got all the geography wrong,for example being moved to Barnstaple in Devon and then getting a pass to go to Birmingham on a few miles away...in fact 100 or so.
He was also based in Warminster barracks near Bristol!!!!which it isn't.
This may sound fussy but I relied on his memory throughout the book when he named French towns and German cities as I didn' know any better.....but in Britain I know the places and distances.
However is was a good read and couldn't put down...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and Gritty, 15 Jun 2008
By 
Paul Newton "Paul Newton" (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: If You Survive (Ivy Books World War II/Nonfiction) (Mass Market Paperback)
I dont often take the time to review books on here, but having recently re read this book, I think it is the least that I can do. It is a truly brilliant book written by a man who spent so long in the front line that he couldn't even cope with normal food when he came off the line. Amazing story, very well told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

If You Survive (Ivy Books World War II/Nonfiction)
If You Survive (Ivy Books World War II/Nonfiction) by George Wilson (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Feb 1987)
5.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews