Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written, rivetting story by an amazingly brave woman, 15 Aug 2009
By 
K. O'Connor (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outwitting the Gestapo (Paperback)
I am very interested in history of the mid 20th ceentury. I don't know much about the work of the French Resistence and bought this book. Butthen I became concerned that it may be written by someone who was jumping on the bandwagon and claiming to have been active against the Nazi occupation, but in fact who had done little that was veryfiable.

Nothing could have been further from the truth. This book gives a most amzing account, not only of the author's braveness, but that of her husband and many associates. There really were some very couragous and active resisters in France.

And the book had a great personal side to it as well. As well as describing the Nazi oppression and French resistance, it gives an excellent account of life (and love and friendship) in occupied France.

A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth stranger than fFiction, 22 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outwitting the Gestapo (Paperback)
An astonishing story line no fiction writier could compete with. The story of a brilliant woman who displayed immence courage, conviction and love. Her bravery in recuing her husband is oustanding. It is easy to forget how diffiuclt and dangerous it was to be an active reisitant in France WW2. A special thank you to the translators who have done a first class job in brining this book to a wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Thriller of WWII, 26 July 2011
By 
Lowell B. Sykes "Lowell Beach Sykes" (Lynchburg, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outwitting the Gestapo (Paperback)
This true story of brave resistance fighters in France during World War II shows the courage and fortitude of some French people who resisted the Nazi occupation of their beloved country. I have since purchased and watched the video (French speaking with English subtitles) that is based on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars France and resistance, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outwitting the Gestapo (Paperback)
After visiting the Resistance museum in Lyon recently this volume was most informative. Still fascinating nearly 70 years after the second world war how France still struggles to resolve dealing with its fascist history, anti-Semitism and deep rooted right wing politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outwitting the Gestapo (Paperback)
Superb insight and stunning account of life in France during WW2, through the eyes of Lucie Aubrac whom successfully juggled her roles as mother, teacher and resistant. As the book has been translated I didn't have high expectations of the writing style or quality but I was pleasantly surprised at how exceptionally strong those aspects have turned out to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outwitting the Gestapo, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. S. Paddock (sw France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outwitting the Gestapo (Paperback)
An excellent informative book., it gave a real insight into life in France under German rule. Also supplied facts about life - I did not realise how late women got the vote , for example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD READ, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: Outwitting the Gestapo (Paperback)
Found this a good read. Translation from the French very good ans very informative in detailing the general conditions and danger in a difficult perid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very informative and an insight into life in France during WW2, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outwitting the Gestapo (Paperback)
As above this book tells a true story of the personal
anguish of married life and survival in occupied France
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read and enjoy, 4 Aug 2013
By 
P. Waller "Pip" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outwitting the Gestapo (Paperback)
Books on exploits of whoever in WW2 seem to come out as if from an assembly line at regular intervals. This book originally published under a French title in 1984 then in English in 1994 seems to have taken a long time to surface.

Considering the book covers only from May 1943 to February 1944 it is still well worth a read. The good thing being at the end we are told what happened to all the characters afterwards in life. We read all these stories of these men and women and their exploits but we will never fully understand what they actually went through be they free throughout or captured and questioned but survived. But for these people there is the good chance we would all be speaking German.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outwitting the Gestapo (Paperback)
A very interesting book really enjoyed it . It,s now doing the rounds of my friends who also want to read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outwitting the Gestapo
Outwitting the Gestapo by Lucie Aubrac (Paperback - 1 Jun 1993)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews