Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beggar's Opera, the libretto.
Although I know the opera well (and its reputation for "making Gay rich and Rich gay") it was good to read the whole libretto for it contains more fun as a written work than comes across when sung. Great fun.
Published 20 months ago by Dickon

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing
An intriguing look at the stance on marriage and women within society, though possibly difficult read if unsure of old English.
Published 21 days ago by Liana Ball


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beggar's Opera, the libretto., 29 Nov 2012
By 
Dickon (Thame, Oxon. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I know the opera well (and its reputation for "making Gay rich and Rich gay") it was good to read the whole libretto for it contains more fun as a written work than comes across when sung. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Personal Favourite, 13 Dec 2009
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This is still one of my all time favourite plays, although it is really a ballad opera. John Gay through allegory, and most importantly satire shows us the world he lived in, taking in such characters as Walpole, and the criminals Jack Sheppard, and criminal/ thief taker, Jonathan Wild. It is so reassuring to know that whilst we complain about the actions of our politicians and the MP expenses dodges that nothing has changed. At least we can rest assured that they aren't doing anything new.

I must admit that I have always been loathe to write a review for this as I know I could never do it justice, and it is hard to write about this without giving something away that will ultimately lessen your enjoyment (perhaps that is why there is only one review here for it). All I can say is that this is something that would be impossible not to enjoy, and if anyone knows if or when it will be performed again in London, please leave a comment so that I don't miss it.

It was said that this made 'Rich gay, and Gay rich' and reading it you will soon see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An intriguing look at the stance on marriage and women within society, though possibly difficult read if unsure of old English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great play!, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great example of 18th century satirical drama, it is both bitter and incredibly funny. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys satire, and not a bad version for study either. Although there were parts missing from the original play, they are not usually too significant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent value and quality, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good edition of the play with helpful notes and introduction. However, for me, the important thing was to have the tunes of the songs. i hope to use them in a talk aboput the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beggars Opera, 20 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The classic by John Gay.This famous celebration of the common man was first performed in 1728. It is full of humour and satire and is as relevant today as it was in the eighteenth century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a jutaposing of ideals, 28 Aug 2001
This review is from: The Beggar's Opera (Paperback)
I would like to take this chance to recommend this book to everyone. This book stands head and shoulders above the rest and I bought it for only a couple of quid. A brilliant satirical parodying and ironic novel with dialogue snappier than most seinfeld episodes and which all writers should read and certainly most readers should. It was interesting to learn more about romanticism and than instilled a better knowledge and insight into the period, just untilately which all great books should do is to make the reader enthusiatic which i am certainly am after reading this, cheers amazon but my biggest thanks must go to you John Gay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beggar's Opera (Regents Restoration Drama Series)
The Beggar's Opera (Regents Restoration Drama Series) by John Gay (Paperback - 1 May 1969)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews