Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars orthodoxy in the light of modern debates
I plead guilty to having set Migliore as a textbook for students (though not for the person whose review mentions this!)

Whilst Migliore is not always the most dynamic or colourful of writers, he is both thorough and reliable. He displays admirable balance whilst clearly stating his own point of view. He is consistent with historic Christianity (i.e...
Published on 5 Dec. 2008 by S. May

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition doesn't contain page numbers
The book is okay but kindle edition doesn't have page numbers which is a real pain as I need them for my work.
Published 19 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars orthodoxy in the light of modern debates, 5 Dec. 2008
By 
S. May (Rochdale, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith Seeking Understanding (Paperback)
I plead guilty to having set Migliore as a textbook for students (though not for the person whose review mentions this!)

Whilst Migliore is not always the most dynamic or colourful of writers, he is both thorough and reliable. He displays admirable balance whilst clearly stating his own point of view. He is consistent with historic Christianity (i.e. orthodoxy, the Creeds), whilst taking seriously issues raised by modern movements such as feminism, black theology, the ecological crisis. This is much more than the 'discuss briefly in order to summarily reject' approach which we sometimes see, and is itself a model for Christian engagement. Whilst Migliore comes from a Reformed background, he argues that challenges posed by our contemporary world to historic Christianity must be addressed (compare Alvin Kimel's 'Reading the Christian God: the Holy Trinity and the Challenge of Feminism').

There are substantial and helpful sections on all the standard theological 'topoi', subjects - Task of Theology, Revelation, Scripture, Trinity, Creation, Providence, Humanity, Holy Spirit, Sacraments, Church, Hope. The Christology section includes a substantial (and helpful) treatment of atonement. Three appendices contains cleverly written imagined conversations between groups of theologians (including Barth, Rahner, Moltmann, Tillich et al.) covering some central subjects of modern theology - the Resurrection, Natural Theology, Political Theology. Whilst some might regard these figures as now dated, I would argue that this is far from the case and - though Migliore is far from being a comprehensive guide to modern and historic theology - his fundamental approach is sound, informative and worth emulating. One other thing these do is to show the continuing critical contribution of Karl Barth to theology.

Migliore usefully discusses methodology, around which his instincts are generally sound - as evidenced in the title, 'Faith Seeking Understanding' (following Anselm) and following the contemporary resurgence of the doctrine of the Trinity.

Finding a decent 'Introduction to Theology' book is very hard - probably the reason why so many teachers end up writing their own - but this is a very trustworthy start, one that you will find does not sell you short in avoiding difficulties, and that will direct you the right way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The search is on..., 19 Jan. 2004
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
n 'Faith Seeking Understanding'. Migliore has in this book put together one of the clearest, accessible systematic theologies available today. It is written in a crisp, concise, and engaging style which is short on technical and differently-defined terms, and long on meaning and substance.
Migliore addresses all of the major issues of a Christian systematic theology -- the nature of God, the nature and mystery of the Trinity, the person and work of Jesus Christ, the authenticity of sources and norms, eschatology and the future of faith, as well as other topics. He does a very good job at briefly introducing each topic in a modern historical context, bringing up topics from the past that have impacted upon the development of theological ideas, and then presenting the diversity of current theological positions.
This text is used in systematic theology courses in ecumenical seminaries -- it is particularly well suited for the task because it does not shrink from important issues of faith or morality, but does not force the reader into a particular set of beliefs. All who read this will variously agree and disagree with the author, with historical authorities, and with contemporary theologians at some point or another in the text.
However, this is no mere textbook. It is a wonderful introduction to theological thought processes. Whether your theological framework is medieval catholic or liberation or process or non-denominational; whether your approach to biblical authority is literalist or free-form or skeptical; whether your faith is strong, weak, agnostic, or atheist, this book will give you things to think about. It is in no way preachy, and doesn't even pretend to try to convince. This is the point of faith seeking understanding -- one will not come to faith by simple academic exercise. But this book can help clarify whatever faith is already there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theology review, 24 Oct. 2009
By 
Rev Jan (Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Faith Seeking Understanding (Paperback)
Excellent reference book - well worth buying rather than just borrowing from a library.
Migliori is more evangelical in his views than Mc Alister so it's worth owning both to get a rounded view.Christian Theology: An Introduction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High level thoughts in plain understandable English, 22 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith Seeking Understanding (Paperback)
This book has been a really great help with some difficult issues on the course I am doing which is a Durham Uni BA in Theology & Ministry.
Great clarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensible Trinitarian approach, 24 April 2013
By 
Dr. M. M. Sewell "Morley Sewell" (Penicuik, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was the only one one of several recommended for background reading for background reading for a series of lectures/discussions given and led by post-graduate students of New College Edinburgh designed to present Christian Theology to a mainly lay group of people in Edinburgh that was available in Kindle - and also the least expensive. I found it to be well written and both understandable and persuasive, without requiring much in the way of theological training. It takes the insights of modern theologians seriously and both explains and compares them with those of classical theologians them in a way which is sympathetic without being uncritical or fundamentalist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very useful insights, 2 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. D. Bradwell "davidbradwell" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very readably clear the subjects are very helpfully laid out. It helped me to structure my thoughts -
and I'd recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book on Theology, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith Seeking Understanding (Paperback)
Used this book for my course - it was so useful felt I needed my own copy - so the library can have its copy back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition doesn't contain page numbers, 8 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is okay but kindle edition doesn't have page numbers which is a real pain as I need them for my work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars how to make theology boring, 1 May 2009
By 
M. Wilde (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith Seeking Understanding (Paperback)
I have recently completed a course in Christian Theology with Migliore's 'Faith Seeking Understanding', I found this book an endless source of tedium.

Migliore's systematic theology relies heavily on Reformed Trinitarian doctrine. The unwavering structure of each chapter views a particular doctrine as flawed, relating its importance to world issues, the doctrine then undergoes a study of its development from patristics to the present day. I would hate to ruin the ending of each chapter for you but it is unfailingly a trinitarian conclusion.

This book overflows with tautologies, meaningless statements and theological hyperbole. One such example is this from p 151 in the chapter on 'Humanity as Creature, Sinner, and New Being in Christ', 'declaring our freedom to be infinite, we proclaim ourselves God'. Migliore is the king of dramatic overstatement, conjuring images of fear and terror he is an exponent of the unfortunate attempt at Christian scare tactics. This book could be reduced from its 439 pages to a mere 50 and saving the environment at the same time.

In the interests of being honest and balanced the actual content(once you edit all the wasted words out) of the book deserves a fair appraisal. Each doctrine at least references many of the those key to its development but once feels Migliore leaves much unexplored. This Trinitarian theology redressed to make it appropriate to the times, dressed in the common fears of Christian and non-Christians alike.

Money would be better spent on Alister McGrath's 'An Introduction to Christian Theology'. This provides the reader with coherent information uninfluenced by an agenda and complemented by McGrath's quiet command of the English language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good book for those in training, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith Seeking Understanding (Paperback)
Found this title very useful for local preacher studies. Clear, readable and relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faith Seeking Understanding
Faith Seeking Understanding by Migliore (Paperback - 2 Sept. 2004)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews