Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Companion to Mad Men
Like many people, I became interested in Frank O'Hara's Meditations in an Emergency when it was featured in the second season of the TV series Mad Men. I expected a set of contemplative verses, suitable for reading late at night or during peaceful interludes of the day. Some of the poems do fit into this category; others are like random jottings made during the course of...
Published on 15 Sept. 2009 by Gracie

versus
3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor paper back copy
Not so much about the content of the book, obviously, but this is a very cheap copy with low quality stock and cover. I would expect a better quality book for that price.
Published on 9 Oct. 2009 by Vh Modenesi Pellisson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Companion to Mad Men, 15 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Meditations in an Emergency (Paperback)
Like many people, I became interested in Frank O'Hara's Meditations in an Emergency when it was featured in the second season of the TV series Mad Men. I expected a set of contemplative verses, suitable for reading late at night or during peaceful interludes of the day. Some of the poems do fit into this category; others are like random jottings made during the course of a hectic life, some happy, some sad, some purely whimsical. Mad Men reflects O'Hara's style with its' mix of 1960's jazz age, uncertainties and quiet melancholy. This collection provides a good starting point for both his work and his contemporaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great poems, 11 Sept. 2009
By 
A. H. Fallon (England (sunderland)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meditations in an Emergency (Paperback)
even if you don't like poetry just give it a read. The title poem and the final one in the collection feels like he is speaking to me personally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Meditations on an Emergency, 14 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Meditations in an Emergency (Paperback)
Purchase inspired by Mad Men, but turned out to be more inspiring than I had even anticipated.An excellent purchase, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As seen on Mad Men, 13 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Meditations in an Emergency (Paperback)
This book was a gift following its placement in the second series of Mad Men.This book of poetry has been described as enjoyable by the receipient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor paper back copy, 9 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Meditations in an Emergency (Paperback)
Not so much about the content of the book, obviously, but this is a very cheap copy with low quality stock and cover. I would expect a better quality book for that price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O'Hara, 19 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. A. J. Hitchens (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meditations in an Emergency (Paperback)
Meditations is what O'Hara does. He had been dead for many decades before the cynical exploitation by the makers of 'Mad Men' show-cased his work. If you love unselfconscious, confident, joyous and profound poetry this is for you. If you sit in a chair hoping to be entertained by TV and making the conection that you engage in interlectual debate by your process of 'trawling' media - let's face it, it's beyond you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meditations in an Emergency
Meditations in an Emergency by Frank O'Hara (Paperback - 1 April 1996)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews