Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little hard to follow but full of amazing insight
This is a great book for any of you that are already familiar with Transactional Analysis - but even if you are not, there is an overview section to get you on board.

What is interesting is that it does make clear arguments and uses a story telling device to illustrate points. Although, for the more advanced reader some of the stories do go on a little bit and...
Published on 10 Nov 2008 by Matt

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
This edition has many pages blank eg: page tails of with a comment and then 2 blanks and totally unrelated on next printed page...??? must be printer error. Does anyone have same or know how,why? deeply frustrating.
Published on 28 May 2010 by Denis Lacan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little hard to follow but full of amazing insight, 10 Nov 2008
By 
Matt (Stourbridge, UK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
This is a great book for any of you that are already familiar with Transactional Analysis - but even if you are not, there is an overview section to get you on board.

What is interesting is that it does make clear arguments and uses a story telling device to illustrate points. Although, for the more advanced reader some of the stories do go on a little bit and verge on condecending, but I will forgive this as the author is clearly making an effort to make a complex subject accessable to all - not just Psychology students and Therapists.

If you are new to TA, I would recommend going for 'I'm OK, you're OK' and 'The Games people play' first as this book draws on these heavily and does help with context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book that may change your life!, 4 Dec 1999
By 
M. Levine (Dexter, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
Simply a great book. A "must read" for anyone interested in changing their life patterns. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for students and practictioners of Psychotherapy. Written in 1974, the book remains very current. Claude Steiner challenges us to analyze and make the necessary changes in our "scripts" to achieve the happiness and fulfillment that we choose. I didn't want the book to end and will read it many more times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation, 10 April 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
Read this book and the scales will fall from your eyes about the nature of human dynamics and interaction between people. This is a straightforward and brilliantly stimulating introduction into the world of transactional analysis. Thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Claude Steiner explains the games in TA, 12 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of Claude Steiner and have utilised his idea's around game playing in my personal journey as well as my academic studies. Each facet of this book is clearly defined without recourse to "jargonese" and is all the more worthy for it. The breakdown and concise annotation of the theory into easily digestable parts makes the understanding of the subject all the easier - I would recomend that anyone interested in TA read this in conjuction with Steiners web site and the works of Eric Berne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent overview of TA and script theory, 22 Dec 2009
By 
D. Sutton (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
Well written but not inscrutably so, this sets out the framework for TA as developed from Eric Berne, Steiner and others since. I really liked that this book focuses on life scripts and provides a good basis for further reading of TA. Though it makes for the perfect introduction, I would still regard Berne's 'What Do You Do After You Say Hello?' as the definitive benchmark of TA literature, although slightly less accessible its breadth and scope is mind-blowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ego and Super Ego States, 21 Sep 2014
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
Opens up with Steiner speaking about his relationship with Eric Berne which is revealing, in the sense Steiner is still overwhelmed by Berne's death. Then he details Berne's mission, his desire to write, his loneliness and how he died of his own internal "script." Very powerful in its depiction.

Following this Steiner then outlines how TA connects other major therapeutic insights such as Frankl, Reich and the other greats of the 20th Century.

After this be breaks down the therapeutic technique to look at the critical parent, or pig parent, who overwhelms the child with their messages of destruction. Steiner and Berne basically over turned the view broadcast within the Old Testament of original sin, recast into the latest craze of eugenics or gene domination of the mind. Here they talk about the power of words to shape thoughts, perception and esteem. In particular they concentrate on the messages parents send their children and how the latter shape their responses to the world as a result of these messages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
Comprehensive, informative and easy to read. there is a bookmark in nearly every page to mark a significant learning for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scripts can be changed!, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
If you are aware of TA already you'll love this book. It does cover the concepts of TA interaction in a non patronising 'voice' which means anyone can read it. The most important thing about the book is that it offers an explanation for the repeating frustrations we come across within relationships, personal, work and home! In my opinion.....it's good to know and then change the script!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
Great Book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
Fantastic book , so clear and precise. A must if you are studying TA. Leaves you with no doubt that we all have scripts, written when we are too young to do so, and that we then go on and live by them very strictly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts
Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts by Claude M. Steiner (Paperback - 31 Dec 1990)
£9.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews