Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little hard to follow but full of amazing insight
This is a great book for any of you that are already familiar with Transactional Analysis - but even if you are not, there is an overview section to get you on board.

What is interesting is that it does make clear arguments and uses a story telling device to illustrate points. Although, for the more advanced reader some of the stories do go on a little bit and...
Published on 10 Nov. 2008 by Matt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but tends to lose the individual.
The book is clearly written and gives a good though not altogether accurate description of Eric Berne's script theory. It tends to lose the individual in the script process by becoming involved with major social issues like sexism. Sexism and other forms of abuse of power inequalities are ingrained in our way of life and have to be tackled. But reading this book I...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little hard to follow but full of amazing insight, 10 Nov. 2008
By 
Matt (Stourbridge, UK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
This is a great book for any of you that are already familiar with Transactional Analysis - but even if you are not, there is an overview section to get you on board.

What is interesting is that it does make clear arguments and uses a story telling device to illustrate points. Although, for the more advanced reader some of the stories do go on a little bit and verge on condecending, but I will forgive this as the author is clearly making an effort to make a complex subject accessable to all - not just Psychology students and Therapists.

If you are new to TA, I would recommend going for 'I'm OK, you're OK' and 'The Games people play' first as this book draws on these heavily and does help with context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 96 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book that may change your life!, 4 Dec. 1999
By 
M. Levine (Dexter, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
Simply a great book. A "must read" for anyone interested in changing their life patterns. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for students and practictioners of Psychotherapy. Written in 1974, the book remains very current. Claude Steiner challenges us to analyze and make the necessary changes in our "scripts" to achieve the happiness and fulfillment that we choose. I didn't want the book to end and will read it many more times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation, 10 April 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
Read this book and the scales will fall from your eyes about the nature of human dynamics and interaction between people. This is a straightforward and brilliantly stimulating introduction into the world of transactional analysis. Thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Claude Steiner explains the games in TA, 12 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of Claude Steiner and have utilised his idea's around game playing in my personal journey as well as my academic studies. Each facet of this book is clearly defined without recourse to "jargonese" and is all the more worthy for it. The breakdown and concise annotation of the theory into easily digestable parts makes the understanding of the subject all the easier - I would recomend that anyone interested in TA read this in conjuction with Steiners web site and the works of Eric Berne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent overview of TA and script theory, 22 Dec. 2009
By 
D. Sutton (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
Well written but not inscrutably so, this sets out the framework for TA as developed from Eric Berne, Steiner and others since. I really liked that this book focuses on life scripts and provides a good basis for further reading of TA. Though it makes for the perfect introduction, I would still regard Berne's 'What Do You Do After You Say Hello?' as the definitive benchmark of TA literature, although slightly less accessible its breadth and scope is mind-blowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scripts can be changed!, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
If you are aware of TA already you'll love this book. It does cover the concepts of TA interaction in a non patronising 'voice' which means anyone can read it. The most important thing about the book is that it offers an explanation for the repeating frustrations we come across within relationships, personal, work and home! In my opinion.....it's good to know and then change the script!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
Fantastic book , so clear and precise. A must if you are studying TA. Leaves you with no doubt that we all have scripts, written when we are too young to do so, and that we then go on and live by them very strictly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
Comprehensive, informative and easy to read. there is a bookmark in nearly every page to mark a significant learning for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but tends to lose the individual., 25 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
The book is clearly written and gives a good though not altogether accurate description of Eric Berne's script theory. It tends to lose the individual in the script process by becoming involved with major social issues like sexism. Sexism and other forms of abuse of power inequalities are ingrained in our way of life and have to be tackled. But reading this book I couldn't help but be reminded of Sartre's remark about Gustave Flaubert, that Flaubert was a 'bourgeois' but not every bourgeois was a Flaubert. And that's the trouble with this book you don't really get a way of finding out how the individual is created. Instead of focusing on the individual script the book is more focused on general social scripts that we learn. The early decisions that make us who we are are personal and unique given the family social matrix we are embedded in and in my opinion can't be reduced to broad social categories-although they form the overall context for more personal individual scripts. Also Steiner describes 'scripting' which is just another word for childhood training or informal education. I believe this is something of a move away from Berne's original theory of scripts which was very much about describing what makes us unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great, fascinating read, 19 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book for anyone interested in transactional/script analysis. I would just have to say that it is a very straightforward read for those who have done a bit of background reading, but not necessarily the easiest read if you are a beginner...either way, i'd recommend anyone give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts
Scripts People Live: Transactional Analysis of Life Scripts by Claude M. Steiner (Paperback - 31 Dec. 1990)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews