Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Italian cookery
After several attempts to learn about Italian cooking, I decided to get this well-known (and loved)book, albeit in translation.Great fun to read and many great recipes to try. I expect to experiment rather than accurately follow some of the rather vague instructions for some recipes. Well worth a look if you're at all interested in food and cooking history.
Published 24 months ago by derbyman

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would have been five stars if they had included the diagrams and illustrations
I bought the Kindle version as I have bad hands and the paperback is very heavy. This is an excellent book
HOWEVER - none of the diagrams which form part of some of the recipes, nor the illustrations have been added
SURELY if you sell a book it should be complete? I don't remember seeing a warning that it is sold without illustrations, but someone correct me if...
Published 16 months ago by Jules


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would have been five stars if they had included the diagrams and illustrations, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the Kindle version as I have bad hands and the paperback is very heavy. This is an excellent book
HOWEVER - none of the diagrams which form part of some of the recipes, nor the illustrations have been added
SURELY if you sell a book it should be complete? I don't remember seeing a warning that it is sold without illustrations, but someone correct me if it did.

I am very sad that part of the book is missing and I would have gladly paid a bit more to have them included as some are special templates for pasta sizes etc.

Artusi is a wonderful and essential book for cooks... shame it had to come incomplete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Italian cookery, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science in the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well (Lorenzo Da Ponte Italian Library) (Paperback)
After several attempts to learn about Italian cooking, I decided to get this well-known (and loved)book, albeit in translation.Great fun to read and many great recipes to try. I expect to experiment rather than accurately follow some of the rather vague instructions for some recipes. Well worth a look if you're at all interested in food and cooking history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science in the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well (Lorenzo Da Ponte Italian Library) (Paperback)
Was recommended this book by a foodie in Bologna. He told me that this is the book every household would have, passed down from generations with notes added. The book is most comprehensive, and although it is about "Italian cooking", the emphasis is on Emilia-Romagna and Tuscany. This is not a book for the faint-hearted, and not for someone who just wants to quickly whip up a easy weekday supper.The book is about 100 years old (-ish) so it's like reading an Italian version of Mrs Beeton -- part of it may seem a little dated but absolutely essential for anyone who is seriously interested in understanding Italian cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science in the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well (Lorenzo Da Ponte Italian Library) (Paperback)
love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all-time classic, 28 July 2010
By 
Mario (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science in the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well (Lorenzo Da Ponte Italian Library) (Paperback)
Though most recipes are not usable directly as they are written (after 150 years from the first publication, some ingredients are hard to find), the book gives the deepest insight on the spirit of Italian cooking available so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Sep 2014
By 
G. M. Jacklin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science in the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well (Lorenzo Da Ponte Italian Library) (Paperback)
Good book excellent condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Italian Must, 22 Dec 1998
By A Customer
Late 18th century cooking master Pellegrino Artusi created the "ethics" of modern Italian cooking, as evoluted from that which the Italians taught the French. The basis is that foods are to be tasty, but also healthy and digestible. The emotional value of Taste is thus spelled out by the Alchemist of Italian Cuisine. An absolute master with a hearty sense of humour. Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Italian Recipe Book, 11 Dec 2000
By A Customer
I you're looking for the true Italian food, buy this one! My Grandma was used to cook fresh-made pasta door by door with this book during IIWWar...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy!, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Science in the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well (Lorenzo Da Ponte Italian Library) (Paperback)
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my wife - she loves cookery books and had asked for this. It is exactly what she wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not really a cookbook, 1 July 2010
This review is from: Science in the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well (Lorenzo Da Ponte Italian Library) (Paperback)
Maybe like a novel this is a great book. But like a cookbook it is very abstract...a little bit of this and a little bit of that...put it in smth and bake...may an hour and may 2 hours...it sound more like o poetry than a recipe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Science in the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well (Lorenzo Da Ponte Italian Library)
£31.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews