Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book
Very well written book. Strikes a good balance between explaining the mathematical concepts of the calculus of variations and the physical insights that Noether's theorem supplies into the conservation of energy, momentum, etc. Very illuminating, I would recommend it to anyone with a reasonable mathematical background (a couple of years,say, at undergrad level)
Published 18 months ago by JBell

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadfully careless
I got as far as page 28 where the author states what he calls "the fundamental lemma of the calculus of variations". Unfortunately, the lemma as he states it is false. (For a counter-example, just put a = 0 , b = 2 pi, eta (t) = sin (t) and A(t) = 1.)

If the author can not get even a "fundamental lemma" right, what chance is there that he can get anything...
Published 6 months ago by Linda


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emmy Noether's Wonderful Theorem (Paperback)
Very well written book. Strikes a good balance between explaining the mathematical concepts of the calculus of variations and the physical insights that Noether's theorem supplies into the conservation of energy, momentum, etc. Very illuminating, I would recommend it to anyone with a reasonable mathematical background (a couple of years,say, at undergrad level)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, very bad Kindle execution, 21 Jan 2014
This is a wonderful book that explains both the physics and the mathematics very well. Other reviewers have already written about the specifics that make this a good book.

The reason why I give only four stars is that the Kindle edition is pretty awful. If you care about beautiful typesetting of mathematics you should buy the paper version of this book, because all the formulas are set as low-resolution images (as seen on retina display). This is really distracting, and frankly unacceptable. The problem of typesetting mathematics on screen has already been solved (e.g., using MathML), and I am really disappointed that Kindle does not seem to support this. In addition, the regular text typesetting is also rather ugly, with bad kerning all over the place. Waiting a couple of days for the physical copy is worth it, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accessible explantion, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emmy Noether's Wonderful Theorem (Paperback)
I found this a very accessible introduction to Emmy Noerther's theorem. Physics is very much my weak point but the explanations are instructive and I enjoyed the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A text book not a popular account but this gem ..., 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A text book not a popular account but this gem of a theorem is well developed in this treatment which is just as is it should be.
Not light reading but illuminating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Service, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emmy Noether's Wonderful Theorem (Paperback)
The book was delivered in time. It is in excellent condition. I will definitely use this supplier again. This is an excellent book for anyone who wants to understand the connection between symmetry and conservation laws in Physics. Highly recommended, especially to those who are just beginning their study in Quantum field theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadfully careless, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emmy Noether's Wonderful Theorem (Paperback)
I got as far as page 28 where the author states what he calls "the fundamental lemma of the calculus of variations". Unfortunately, the lemma as he states it is false. (For a counter-example, just put a = 0 , b = 2 pi, eta (t) = sin (t) and A(t) = 1.)

If the author can not get even a "fundamental lemma" right, what chance is there that he can get anything else right ? And why should I read any further, since I can no longer trust what he writes?

I can guess what he may have meant to write, but I don't buy a book like this so that I can waste my time struggling to guess the author's intentions. I expect him to make his meaning clear, and to state his theorems correctly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Emmy Noether's Wonderful Theorem
Emmy Noether's Wonderful Theorem by Dwight E. Neuenschwander (Paperback - 16 Nov 2010)
£14.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews