Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic
This book is as relevant as ever. If you're in doubt just read the introduction...

This is a wonderfully clear presentation of this subject, and readers will find this book both informative and encouraging. Whilst some of the references / examples reflect the time of writing of the book, the message is still as powerful and applicable as ever. And you don't...
Published on 7 Sep 2010 by opencastle

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
In my view, A W Pink has a disappointing and misguided understanding of God's Sovereignty. Pink seems to portray God as despot who just chooses because He can. Dreadful!
Published 21 months ago by freddie brookes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic, 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Sovereignty of God (Paperback)
This book is as relevant as ever. If you're in doubt just read the introduction...

This is a wonderfully clear presentation of this subject, and readers will find this book both informative and encouraging. Whilst some of the references / examples reflect the time of writing of the book, the message is still as powerful and applicable as ever. And you don't need a degree in theology, either ;-)

A powerful and timeless classic on this important subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital doctrine for 21st century., 27 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sovereignty of God (Paperback)
The exceptionally fine teaching of Scriptural truth by Arthur W. Pink is vitally needed today. If only the churches of Christendom would follow and preach these truths our nation would be in better health (spiritually).
Although the text is around 90 years old it is still easily readable. "The Sovereignty of God" is top of my list (after the KJV) of books to recommend to Christians of all ages. Just one caveat - get the original version if at all possible, NOT the Banner of Truth edition which has been corrupted by the editors. The Baker edition is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wake up! Television OFF and read!, 20 July 2014
By 
Colin Ford (Isle of Lewis) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every believer should make time to read Pink's classic work on the Sovereignty of God. Pink aims and succeeds in exhalting God above the heavens and proves from the inspired Word that God is not some helpless bystander watching world events randomly taking place before our eyes. No!, He is orchestrating these events for His own purposes.
The blessed assurance that a believer can receive from an understanding of God's Sovereignty is well, beyond calculation.
This work elevates God and puts man where he belongs-in the dust. This doctrine, sadly many shy away from, but it is there in the pages of Scripture to those whom God has opened their eyes to see.
The one thing I must disagree with Pink on is on page 175 (Kindle) or 470 in "The Wisdom of Arthur W Pink vol 1" where he says "...that all our works (before conversion), good as well as evil, count for nothing toward salvation." It MUST be a typo error, as surely "all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags." Isaiah 64.6 even before and after conversion?
I understand that Pink was raised in Dispensationalism, subsequently came to reject it and wrote against it, yet had some strange views about prophecy regarding the Lord's Second Advent in his "Reedemer's Return" (Not recommended reading!) This I do not say lightly, and with the utmost regret, because I value highly all his other works, but then, even the Puritans, whom he studied voraciously had a dim light compared to us today), this no doubt came about from his earlier Dispensational leanings.
Having said this, he was a most voluminous writer, and well, no man is perfect,(the Saviour aside!) but certainly his soteriology is biblical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sovereignty of God Published, 16 Jun 2010
By 
M. Maxwell-carr (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sovereignty of God (Paperback)
It had been predestinated before the world began that Arthur Pink would write a very engaging book on the Sovereignty of God! And in the 20th century, this came to pass. Those of you who have read Pink know that he writes exceptionally well. He's readable, gripping, exciting, controversial, challenging, very often correct and sometimes irritatingly so. I think all believers would benefit from reading this book.

Basically, the contents sum up the Arminian/Calvinism Controversy, though from a slightly more biblical slant. Pink has chosen to approach the whole issue of Calvinism from God's point-of-view. So Pink looks, in detail, at the great doctrine which permeates Calvinism and indeed the whole Bible: God's Sovereignty, or in everyday language, the truth that God is in control of every single thing and event for ever and ever, Amen. Hence, Pink begins by looking more generally about this truth. He asks the question: is God in control of bad events? He asks: is God in control of Satan? He raises the issue as to whether God really is in control of every single detail in the history of the universe. Then he moves onto salvation. Is God in control of the salvation of people? If so, how much? Down to the finest detail, or more broadly? Has God really chosen some people to be saved from His eternal wrath and anger? Did Christ really die for everybody? How does God draw people to Himself? Can those whom God has chosen overpower God's will to save them? Does God preserve His people faithfully forever unto Heaven? Finally, Pink applies all this to the theme of prayer and that turns out to be perhaps the best chapter.

So Pink answers each question which he raises pretty well indeed and does so from what he believes the Bible is saying. It's tricky business to disagree with his conclusions, because he is so Bible-based. He's a good, solid, 'no-messing' evangelical writer. It would be good if more modern Christian books were like this: "Here's the Bible, here's what it says, here's what it means. End-of. Now let's deal with it calmly and joyfully." John Piper is like this, as is John MacArthur and that is what makes them so exciting to read and listen to.

This is a helpful book in getting to grips with some central issues concerning Calvinism and Arminianism. I especially recommend it to a new believer in Jesus. But I also recommend you study more books than just this one regarding the issue of God's Sovereignty. The Synod of Dort is a great place to go, or the Westminster Confession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clearly written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's not politically correct in this day and age, but then the truth often is not!, 29 May 2014
By 
IAM H (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very thought provoking book. Most people will not want to agree with Mr Pink, I don't want to agree with Mr Pink, BUT the weight of his arguments put paid to my wants.
If you want to go deeper with The Lord and are prepared to be challenged by scripture, then this is a "must read".
The archaic language is a bit of a problem, but once you get into it, you don't notice it (a bit like hearing Shakespeare read by an accomplished actor).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Spiritual Tonic., 30 April 2014
By 
TOUT PREST (Aberystwyth, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am biased as this book helped me so much in my own spiritual walk. At a time of lack of true fellowship this book brought me to a deeper trust in, and commitment to God, in fellowship with Him through The Lord Jesus Christ.
Many would find aspects of their understanding of the Sovereignty of God severely challenged, but I would ask for a
serious consideration to be given to the biblical evidence presented. To have it on Kindle is a great joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear guidence, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A strong narrative of the scriptures and easy to understand. A classic work you can really feed on and helps you with scripture, a very passionate and straight talking sermon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A W Pink must read, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a clear and well written commentary on God's sovereignty, a must have for any one truly interested in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One book which could bring a tremendous reform to the modern church. I disagree that God does not desire every human to be saved, but aside from that I agree with 97% of what pink says, if every Christian read this book, the church would be on much stronger grounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sovereignty of God
The Sovereignty of God by Arthur W. Pink (Paperback - 1 July 1984)
£10.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews