Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent critical insight in the Watchtower's teachings
First of all, I would like to say that, while many people may assume that this book contains pretty much the same material of "Jehovah's Witnesses Answered Verse by Verse" by the same author, just arranged subject by subject rather than verse by verse, it is in fact a very different work.
While the "Verse by Verse" book is little more than organized Bible-bashing,...
Published on 19 Oct 2010 by a Christian family

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a collection of Jehovah's Witnesses' favorite verses to misquote
I am not a fan of "how to witness" books; I believe that the main problem with this sort of guides is that the Scriptures are often used as a weapon to attack cultists, rather than as a tool to lead them to Jesus' salvation.
Witnessing is an important duty in every Christian's life, but I believe that the Bible should never be used to attack; if the Bible is used in...
Published on 14 Oct 2010 by a Christian family


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent critical insight in the Watchtower's teachings, 19 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Answering Jehovah's Witnesses: Subject by Subject (Paperback)
First of all, I would like to say that, while many people may assume that this book contains pretty much the same material of "Jehovah's Witnesses Answered Verse by Verse" by the same author, just arranged subject by subject rather than verse by verse, it is in fact a very different work.
While the "Verse by Verse" book is little more than organized Bible-bashing, "Subject by Subject" is an alphabetically arranged guide that provides insight in the Watchtower Society's teachings, history and beliefs.
In this book, Mr. Reed analyzes in detail all the major doctrines taught by the Watchtower Society, comments them and provides sensible scriptural answers.
Before trying to share your faith with a Jehovah's Witness, you need to get acquainted with what he or she believes, and this book may just be what you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Answering Jehovah's Witnesses: Subject by Subject (Paperback)
Fantastic book. It covers all the topics and is great to use (secretly) on them. Don't expect any JW to even touch this book as to them Mr Reed is the devil. However to them anything that dares to scrutinize their flawed doctrine is devil inspired. For a Devil Mr Reed has a very human way of explaining some of the more complex and twisted JW doctrine, then dissecting it with great bible knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good tool for study, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This a great tool for those for whom it is intended in a study of topical subjects as suggested by the name of the book. It is not as thorough as it could be but a great start for those who want to engage in the kind of dialogue it entails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Answering Jehovah's Witnesses: Subject by Subject (Paperback)
This book is a great help for study of the topic and does exactly as the book described. A good tool to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent through the gift by words, 13 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Answering Jehovah's Witnesses: Subject by Subject (Paperback)
This book really captured the essence of dealing with jehovahs witnesses verse by verse. I myself am married to a jehovahs witness and trying to communicate to her about the lords word is almost impossible, due to the fact that she has been brain washed from the time that she was born. The Jehovahs Witnesses are one of the most dangerous cults in the world today. The reason being that they can make the cleaverest lie sound just like the truth. I would give up everything I have for her to be converted to true christianity, and this book has almost made that possible. The hard thing about JW's is that they beleive that if you do not beleive what they beleive then you are an advisary of satan. If they claim to know the bible so well then why do you need another source called the watchtower to make you complete in Gods eyes. Maybe all they need to do is read the last verse of the bible. Thank you Mr. Reed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a collection of Jehovah's Witnesses' favorite verses to misquote, 14 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not a fan of "how to witness" books; I believe that the main problem with this sort of guides is that the Scriptures are often used as a weapon to attack cultists, rather than as a tool to lead them to Jesus' salvation.
Witnessing is an important duty in every Christian's life, but I believe that the Bible should never be used to attack; if the Bible is used in such a way, its freeing power will lose its effect.
However, I think that reading books such as this one could be useful to gather as much information on cults as possible before witnessing.
This book is a collection of Bible verses commonly misquoted by Jehovah's Witnesses to prove their doctrines, followed by the same Scripture correctly interpreted in order to refute their erroneous teaching.
David A. Reed's strategy to lead the Witness to Christ includes:
1)showing them contradictory teachings published in old Watchtower's publications in order to help them realize that the Watchtower is not "God's channel of communication";
2)once the Witness starts to question the Watchtower's authority, reason verse-by-verse through the various arguments they previously believed to support their doctrine.
This book is designed to help you with the second point.
Personally, I am not convinced of this organized approach, as I believe that, if you ask Jesus in prayer, He will give you words and wisdom to answer Jehovah's Witnesses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have For Christians Working With Jehova's Witnesses, 21 Feb 2001
By 
P. Mehrshahi "Pooyan" (Cheltenham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been working for a long time with the elders of Jehova's Witnesses who come round every week, and without the help of this book I would have found it not as easy. I truely recomend it to anyone who is serious about ministering to the JW's. It is very well written, and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answering Jehovah's Witnesses by David A Reed, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Answering Jehovah's Witnesses: Subject by Subject (Paperback)
An excellent book written by a man scorned. Every Jehovah's Witness should read this book. This sort of book helps the christian to see where they are in their spirituality. New light is shed all the time. Unlike the teenager driving his car at 70mph, hitting a tree and never able to learn from his mistakes. Those studying the Bible are able to discover new understandings constantly. Mr. Reed can try but he can never take away the hope for the future found in the scriptures. Unjustly i think he is using the knowledge he was taught as a witness to line his own pocket. Still the outcome will not change, thank goodness.!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Needless and inflammatory, 24 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Answering Jehovah's Witnesses: Subject by Subject (Paperback)
Works such as this are needless and inflammatory. Although not belonging to any religious group I am a student of biblical issues and find this work, along with other books with similar content, unnecessary and certainly unhelpful for the serious student. If you read the end of Revelation as previously suggested, it would seem that THIS book is one to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Answering Jehovah's Witnesses: Subject by Subject
Answering Jehovah's Witnesses: Subject by Subject by David A. Reed (Paperback - 1 May 1996)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews