Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING about misleading reviews
This is not a review of the content of Foxe's Book of Martyrs (which is excellent). It is rather a warning to potential purchasers: please note that Amazon has copied reviews that rightly relate only to a specific edition across several different editions.

Furthermore, the "Search Inside" feature shows inaccurate views of some editions (for example, at the...
Published on 21 July 2007 by Tim

versus
31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good edition
My rating relates solely to the edition, and not to the content. Foxe's work is such a classic that no review would do it justice. Unfortunately, this edition doesn't do it justice either. There is absolutely no editorial material, so it's impossible to know whether the editor has made changes. The language has obviously been modernised, but there are no indications of...
Published on 2 Dec 2002 by B. Tovey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING about misleading reviews, 21 July 2007
By 
Tim (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a review of the content of Foxe's Book of Martyrs (which is excellent). It is rather a warning to potential purchasers: please note that Amazon has copied reviews that rightly relate only to a specific edition across several different editions.

Furthermore, the "Search Inside" feature shows inaccurate views of some editions (for example, at the time of writing, a view of Kessinger's edition is incorrectly shown for both Ambassador Publications' and Hendrickson Christian Classics' editions).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good edition, 2 Dec 2002
By 
B. Tovey (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foxe's Book of Martyrs (Mass Market Paperback)
My rating relates solely to the edition, and not to the content. Foxe's work is such a classic that no review would do it justice. Unfortunately, this edition doesn't do it justice either. There is absolutely no editorial material, so it's impossible to know whether the editor has made changes. The language has obviously been modernised, but there are no indications of how the text has been changed. The print and paper are not good quality either - it looks rather more like a cheap thriller you'd pick up at a train station than a serious work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Reformation, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent reference work I can see no reason for any further comments. The book was giving me all the information I required
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reference material, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foxe's Book of Martyrs (Mass Market Paperback)
I used this book in my research into biblical martyrs and was not disappointed would recommend for others using it for the same purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Non-Fiction, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. G. Johns "Master Mason 6407" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only bought this book as a reference, as I'm reading for a History Degree. I'm finding it somewhat boring, and am only glad I'm not a Roman Catholic, else I'd be having nightmares over some of the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars every Christian should read this, 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a list of many persecutions suffered by true Christians by the hands of pagans and Catholics, including detailed descriptions of agonizing tortures and triumphant deaths of many martyrs.
The descriptions are sometimes so detailed that it makes it a very difficult book to read: Foxe really brings you there and you can feel the smell of burnt flesh, sometimes so much so that it makes it a disturbing read at times.
However, these episodes perfectly portray what true followers of Jesus suffered from impostors, a message of vital importance that many people nowadays don't want to hear, in the name of ecumenical togetherness .
Many Roman Catholic apologists, along with liberal theologians, have tried their best to discredit it, but this monumental work still stands, as a stark reminder of what really lies behind the teachings of popery .
All the people who believe that the Roman Catholic Church is a legitimate Christian denomination should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Education, 1 Sep 2012
By 
Foxes Book of Martyrs is interesting. However, there is much need for an updated version giving details of Christian hypocrisy. Good examples would be the Churches support for the Nazi holocaust - most of the top Nazis came from strong Catholic roots, and some never renounced the Catholic Church (e.g. Hitler and Goebbels). Some renowned Historians claim that the two major religions are responsible for 40 million deaths in the last 1500 years. The highly educated Queen Mary Tudor, supported by various Cardinals, was responsible for about 300 people being burned alive at the stake (a process that takes about 40 minutes - while Hitler's gas chambers were much more humane, death occurring in less than 20 minutes). Going back in history, a mob of Christians skinned Hepatica alive, merely for being an educated woman. Cardinal George Pell of Australia said, in a television debate with Richard Dawkins, that Jews were immoral and uneducated, but Christians seem not to know the meaning of "Thou shalt not kill". Even Stalin was trained as an Orthodox priest. The Catholic church claims that homosexuality is evil, but a Catholic priest who trains men for the Church, claims between 30% a 50% of priests are homosexual. One can only wonder if the former Nazi, Pope Benedict, would like to burn homosexuals, and become a real German Shepard (dog).

We need an updated book of martyrs to educate future generations about Christian hypocrisy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book of Martyrs, 15 Feb 2012
By 
D. Johnston (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book arrived in good condition. As an ancester of my husband's is mentioned in the book it was great to be able to buy a copy for prosperity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The 16th century at its most vivid and horrible., 12 Nov 2011
I read this book in abridged form, and in parts, a long time ago.
This paperback version is the unabridged version of the original abridged mini-version, that needs stating.
The buyer must be aware of several points (do excuse all this if you are a historian):
1) The story narrated is savage, horrifying, and to the modern mind almost sick
2) It is from the point of view of a 16th century Protestant with a deep detestation of Rome--
expect propaganda and passion, not objectivity
3) Nevetheless the content, as to names, places and dates, has been shown to be researched and
essentially accurate. How exactly Foxe came by all this information would make a book in itself
4) If you have any feeling for either history or religion you will be disturbed
5) If the text isn't too edited and updated it will be in the English of Cranmer and Shakespeare--
though some would be fascinated by that;
6) From the ages of Elizabeth I that of Tom Paine in the 1790s it was read by more Englishmen that
anything but the Bible and the Book of Common Prayer.
None but the narrowest Protestant could call Foxe enjoyable, but he is significant.
But again--not for the squeamish--whether you "squeam" about religious bias, religious persecution, or sheer cruelty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Foxes book of Martyrs, 26 April 2011
Foxes book of Martyrs is a very challenging book to all readers. It details the suffering's of many martyrs down through history, who refused to deny the Lord Jesus Christ or accept any compromise.
Today in this world of compromise, I recomend every person to read this book and examine their own life to see whether they are truly in the faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Foxe's Book of Martyrs
Foxe's Book of Martyrs by John Foxe (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Feb 1999)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews