Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars helpful
its really helpful if your studying and its a recognized text book well worth the money i have used it many times
Published 14 months ago by malcolm hendry

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult
Had to have two dictionaries beside me one English and one Biblical. Still haven't got through it! I'll have another go when I need to.
Published 10 months ago by Mrs Nicola Pepper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars helpful, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
its really helpful if your studying and its a recognized text book well worth the money i have used it many times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Introduction to the NT, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite coming from a different denominational background I have found Johnson to be a reliable biblical scholar who consistently produces quality books and articles. We use this latest edition of his NT Introduction as a standard text book in our theological college. Johnson engages with other perspectives but does not get bogged down in minutiae. Although he does not cite other scholars directly, Johnson includes helpful biographies at the end of each chapter under various headings such as 'Critical issues [in the relevant biblical book]'; 'themes' and 'commentaries'. Recommended for all who want to study the NT whatever their denominational status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for anyone studying theology, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like LT Johnson's style of writing. He writes with clarity and is illuminating, without being overly complicated or cerebral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Testament must, 6 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book by a man who is both an excellent scholar and a true believer. He offers many insights not easily available to unbelievers. The book is well put together with full biblical references making it an excellent resource for the future.It is a very useful guide to study at whatever level is required. It has a depth of scholarship that is astounding but is easily readable to most. I wish I had 'found' this book a long long time ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had to have two dictionaries beside me one English and one Biblical. Still haven't got through it! I'll have another go when I need to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Writings of the New Testament
The Writings of the New Testament by Luke Timothy Johnson (Paperback - 28 Mar 2010)
29.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews