Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book review
if your interested in tortoises or have one then this book is well worth it.it has tons detail & images & its basic no waffle this book focuses on russian tortoise species only.horsfield,hermani`s & more.i have one & i often turn to this book when i need to.
Published on 24 Nov 2009 by Mr. M. A. J. Booth

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Typical US collectors approach
I think the fact that sales show that people who bought it went on to buy A C Highfields books says it all really. Leaves a lot to be desired.
Published on 21 Nov 2007 by Dylan Thomas 111


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected., 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russian Tortoises (Complete Herp Care) (Paperback)
Considering the author usually argues against the UK way of keeping tortoises, it was pleasantly surprising to see that the info in this book was not exactly the same as he gives out on forums. It did give out info for other species too, which could be slightly misleading, which is why I gave it four stars instead of 5. Nice little hand book though for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great detail and a good "how to" guide for starting out, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the amount of detail in this book. It was a very good start up guide and also a reference guide for continuing care of a tortoise. I feel more confident buying and looking after my own pet after reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars imformative, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russian Tortoises (Complete Herp Care) (Paperback)
exelent book for beginers, and eny one interested in tortoises lots of tips and imformation follow this book and you wont go wrong 5*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really informative :), 25 Sep 2013
By 
Lisa (Pencoed, South Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy reading especially good for first time tortoise keepers ! Fab pictures, this is a must if you are thinking of buying a tortoise or have just purchased one :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good read, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are considering getting a tortoise this is a really good read its very informative and tells you virtually everything you need 2 know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Help a lot, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russian Tortoises (Complete Herp Care) (Paperback)
Although have not read it in great depth
But found it great with photos so you can really look, and compare them.
Very interesting.
My own Russian tortoise his only 15 months old, somethings that are in the book i can confirm are right.
Seems to be a very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what was wanted, 18 May 2013
By 
Miss B. Boyes "BernieB" (Prescot, Merseyside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russian Tortoises (Complete Herp Care) (Paperback)
I bought this on behave of my neighbour, who has bought a tortoise. She is highly delighted with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Basic Book, 6 Jun 2011
This review is from: Russian Tortoises (Complete Herp Care) (Paperback)
I've started getting interested in owning one, this is a good addition to learn the basics. But I advise to join some special forums and check websites for much more in depth information.

But this is a nice book to start off with to see if it's for you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Typical US collectors approach, 21 Nov 2007
This review is from: Russian Tortoises (Complete Herp Care) (Paperback)
I think the fact that sales show that people who bought it went on to buy A C Highfields books says it all really. Leaves a lot to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, 28 Jan 2008
This review is from: Russian Tortoises (Complete Herp Care) (Paperback)
This book does have some interesting points but also hasa lot of conflicting advise. I did not see much evidence supporting the wefare of wild tortoises, getting the feel that it was all about collectors specimens rather than trying to mimic life in the wild for these lovely creatures. All in all i would not use it as a guide when keeping tortoises in England and having read a lot of the tortoisetrust books would not think that Mr Highfield would be happy to see it linked with one of his books as a good 'buy two and get money off' offer.
Not really one that I would recommend - I would prefer to advise new keepers to watch the Tortoisetrust DVD, now that tells it like it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Russian Tortoises (Complete Herp Care)
Russian Tortoises (Complete Herp Care) by E. J. Pirog (Paperback - Sep 2006)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews