Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good explanations
I have never used or even considered a crate before for my previous dogs because I was one of these people that thought it was cruel and have now learnt how totally wrong I was.
As I am sitting here writing this review I can see my little 12 week old Springer Spaniel lying very comfortable and content asleep in his cage with the door open.
This book has helped...
Published on 6 Sep 2009 by P. J. Brennan

versus
38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars put me off crate training
The book does give useful information on how to introduce dogs to crates and problems that can arise. If an owner wants to housebreak a puppy or have a safe den for their dog to go into at night or for a few hours during the day, then this is a useful, inexpensive book, which will give you lots of tips.

My concern however, is with the crate training schedules...
Published on 3 Sep 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good explanations, 6 Sep 2009
By 
P. J. Brennan (Co Durham, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crate Training (Quick and Easy) (Paperback)
I have never used or even considered a crate before for my previous dogs because I was one of these people that thought it was cruel and have now learnt how totally wrong I was.
As I am sitting here writing this review I can see my little 12 week old Springer Spaniel lying very comfortable and content asleep in his cage with the door open.
This book has helped me understand the misconceptions on the use of a cage and how essential it is to cage train any and all dogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book - Everything you need to know, 17 Mar 2010
By 
S. Parker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crate Training (Quick and Easy) (Paperback)
This book is not long or difficult to get through. It gives realistic crating schedules for working people (without making you feel like a bad dog 'parent'!) really helpful. I've referred to it over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A simple, straightforward and honest read, 21 July 2009
By 
Dr. K. Tether (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crate Training (Quick and Easy) (Paperback)
Great for those unsure or new to crate training - short and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars put me off crate training, 3 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crate Training (Quick and Easy) (Paperback)
The book does give useful information on how to introduce dogs to crates and problems that can arise. If an owner wants to housebreak a puppy or have a safe den for their dog to go into at night or for a few hours during the day, then this is a useful, inexpensive book, which will give you lots of tips.

My concern however, is with the crate training schedules. The puppy's schedule involves waking up at 7.30, having breakfast and then going into the crate ten minutes later, until 5.30pm, with a fifteen minute break at 12.30pm, to go to the toilet and have dinner. The adult dog is put into the crate at 7.am and crated for nearly nine hours, until he's let out again when the owner comes home at 5.30.

I am not judging people who have to leave their dogs in crates for long periods of time, while they go out to work. Sometimes you have no choice and you do the best you can do in those circumstances. But I think that this book may make people think that it's okay and the norm for someone to get a puppy or dog and leave it crated throughout the day. In reality, that isn't an ideal situation and puppies need companionship and frequent interaction and playtime during the day.

Crates are very useful and often necessary but, if you are thinking of buying a puppy - please remember that it is a living creature with feelings and fears. If you work full-time and no-one is at home during the day - don't buy a puppy - a cat is better adapted to solitude. I wouldn't want a life where I had to spend 9 hours, alone, confined to a small box everyday - that cannot be a healthy existence for a dog either.

I do use a crate for my dog but if I was going out for longer than 3 hours, I would put the crate in a safe area like the kitchen, or bathroom, where she could play with a kong and stretch her legs. If I was out all day, everyday, then I'd arrange for a friend or dog walker to come and take her out (I know this costs money but if you make the committment to get a dog - you should be prepared to do what's best for it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crate Training, 4 July 2010
This review is from: Crate Training (Quick and Easy) (Paperback)
Very good, new to the world of crates and having not had a dog for around 20 years, was looking for advice for my new puppy. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great quick read, 5 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crate Training (Quick and Easy) (Paperback)
Great , Quick read, gives you a fast in to crate training, Thin book.Worth a read! in prep for your pup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic, 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You could read this in under an hour, out loud. You'd get the same and better by googling "crate training".
On a Kindle the photo's are fuzzy. Save your money is my advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand., 27 Aug 2009
This review is from: Crate Training (Quick and Easy) (Paperback)
This book is very easy to understand and should make crate training your dog stress free for both you and more importantly your dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont be fooled by the title., 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: Crate Training (Quick and Easy) (Paperback)
People may be put off by the title thinking this is some cruel way to treat a poor puppy. With regards to my personal experience with my puppy i can only say this is not the case. I went to see my pup at a reputable breeder to find my pup and his brother in a crate with heat lamps and all the relevent items available. Having been a dog man all his life which included training racing grayhounds i soon realised he knew what he was talking about. My pup (William) is very happy in his little home from which we have no crying or barking. Being a terrier with teeth like Jaws he could so reduce your home to matchwood so if you need to do the shopping and have a pup not yet clear for his injections, you can leave him safe, a pup can soon chew through an electric cable that is live. This book will clarify any concerns you may have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 23 Feb 2012
By 
Beebe (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crate Training (Quick and Easy) (Paperback)
I have found this book on crate training really useful already and my puppy is only 10 weeks old. It gives simple, practical advice on crate training your dog and dispels some of the myths about caging being cruel. My puppy already considers her cage as her comfortable den.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa251c48)

This product

Crate Training (Quick and Easy)
Crate Training (Quick and Easy) by Teoti Anderson (Paperback - 1 April 2006)
Used & New from: 0.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews