Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books available on the subject.
Troy Stetina's book is one of the best available on the subject of music theory applied to the guitar. It helps greatly with expanding a player's fretboard knowledge but it has much more. Fretboard geography (or is it geometry?) is combined with harmonic theory and ear training so that a player can not just KNOW but UNDERSTAND.

Highly recommended.
Published on 19 Jun. 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was good quick service
Was very quick, only reason rated 3 stars was the cover had a massive slice down the front and it was a present.
Published 24 months ago by Michelle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books available on the subject., 19 Jun. 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Dublin, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fretboard Mastery [With CD] (Sheet music)
Troy Stetina's book is one of the best available on the subject of music theory applied to the guitar. It helps greatly with expanding a player's fretboard knowledge but it has much more. Fretboard geography (or is it geometry?) is combined with harmonic theory and ear training so that a player can not just KNOW but UNDERSTAND.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's starting to make sense!, 5 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Fretboard Mastery [With CD] (Sheet music)
Do not be put off by the design of the cover, or Troy Stetina's interest in heavy metal, this is a book for all guitarists.
The content can be applied to a whole range of music, so don't worry about that.
I'd consider my abilities as a guitarist in the beginner category - I've been noodling about for 5 years, playing
the odd riff here and song there. I get by (like many others) by learning a few shapes and it does fine.
But anything outside of this was largely guesswork.

This book changes all that. I've only worked with this book for less than a month and the fretboard
is beginning to 'light up' the way people talk about.
Stetina starts by building up your knowledge of intervals - where they appear on the fretboard and
how they sound to your ear. He even gives you a CD and plenty of exercises to lock this in.
I've only got to page 30 and it's making such a difference already!
The next sections include: 7ths (4 types!), modes, moving chords into other keys, progressions,
working with harmony, altered tunings. Finally he includes his own compositions for you to play along with,
illustrating all you have learned.
I've got Fretboard Roadmaps: The Essential Guitar Patterns That All the Pros Know and Use (Guitar Techniques) and is so totally lightweight compared to this!!! This is the one to get and will keep you busy for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 July 2010
By 
BP1 "BP1" (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fretboard Mastery [With CD] (Sheet music)
The basics are this: Its well written the knowledge is broad and deep and the CD is good.
If you have some music theory knowledge (be it studied separately or because you are an intermediate guitar player (or better) and want to understand the guitar thoroughly this book is great. It's an ordered study into everything about guitar knowledge/theory that anyone who is really into the instrument could ever want.
BUT it's difficult, demanding and requires significant study (not just reading but doing); probably for years. If that hasn't put you off and in fact piques your interest you really do want this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for advanced guitarists, 11 Dec. 2010
By 
Joyce Horsman "Joyceee H" (Dunfermline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fretboard Mastery [With CD] (Sheet music)
This book is a fresh look at the application of some advanced concepts - just what i was looking for. There is a heck of a lot of info in this book for the price and it's a perfect size for any music stand! THis book presents a different way of approaching some things I already knew which has given a new lease of life to my playing. well written and presented. haven't listened to the CD but that's because the book is really good and has given me plenty to be going on with. would definitely recommend for intermediate/advanced guitarists who are stuck in a rut with their playing or who want to try applying things they may already know in different ways. a very good buy and a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shredding mastery...., 12 July 2011
This review is from: Fretboard Mastery [With CD] (Sheet music)
Well done the author-at last someone has written down what most guitar players are really trying to do with their instruments.
I started playing when i was 12 and i am still learning a great deal from this book.
I started shredding to records, and not really mastering some of the sax/guitar solos was missing a bit of dynamics and ear training, trying to stay with the middle sections of songs. I'm no great player, but nine times out of ten i find the rhythm and the scales with more ease now.But with this book open every day i'm learning more and more about structure of scales modes and the basic intervals, which for years i have been struggling to experiment with!
This is a great book if your wanting to take music pro-style and a real bible of clear info with good examples and ear trainers!
Even if your just starting its great to have at hand even if your just trying to shred some old hits by the radio-you won't regret it!
Happy strumming Phil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guitar Tuition, 22 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fretboard Mastery [With CD] (Sheet music)
Considering how much guitar lessons cost this is excellent value, but probably not ideal for beginners - many of the exercises are quite advanced. You get a lot of lessons in just one book and it's well thought out. It compliments his 'Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar' book. It's a carefully constructed book for those seeking advanced knowledge, skills and freedom from playing just the same old box-shape on the fretboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great worth every penny, 31 July 2014
By 
G. D. Vaughan (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fretboard Mastery [With CD] (Sheet music)
what a book at some point or other the time comes when you need to learn a little musical theory and this is an excellent book for learning that. mind you do not think that you can just pick it up read through and its done, though possibly some people can but i am not one. its a case of reading in sections following the instructions, picking up and putting down if you like. its certainly not a weekend read it takes time but all the information you could ever want and more is included in a precise and well thought out format.i personally still haven't fully mastered the guitar but that is more a failing of my talent not the books. i am sure that this book will tell you everything that you could wish to know worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Book, that all guitarists should own !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fretboard Mastery [With CD] (Sheet music)
This book is a must for every guitarist that wants to take their playing to another level.

Could be the best single book on making you a better guitarist / musician there is !
YES ITS THAT GOOD !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Get this book if you play guitar & do it step by step ( take your time with it, so it feels easy ) & you'll be amazed with how far you've come by the end.
I've had this book for quite some time ( about a year or so ) & can hear / sing the sound of every note before I play it. That is not shown in any book I've ever seen before this one. The skill you will learn within this book in just incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better than Fretboard Workout, 11 April 2013
This review is from: Fretboard Mastery [With CD] (Sheet music)
I've got this book and Tagliarino's Fretboard Workout. Fretboard Mastery worked better for me as its approach is more direct, hands-on. 4 stars for Tagliarino, 5 for Stetina.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The truth lies in simple words, 3 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Fretboard Mastery [With CD] (Sheet music)
Excellent book. Reveals how things work in music, without using any "rocket science" explanations. Lots of ear training exercises, which is the key to understand music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fretboard Mastery [With CD]
Fretboard Mastery [With CD] by Troy Stetina (Sheet music - 5 Mar. 2007)
£13.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews