Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a Complete beginners Book
I agree with a couple of comments here about this not being a complete beginners book - if you need that, try Troy Stenina's 'Metal Rhythm One' book that starts you on powerchords and riffs first. I use all Troys books in teaching from 10 years old upward every day and have no problems in getting young students to start playing fast. If you want to use this book for...
Published on 2 April 2006 by Chris Downing

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High quality - but steep learning curve
This is a really well presented book and I initially thought it'd be great for my situation - I'm focussed on learning blues guitar, but wanted to learn some easy-ish rock on the side... However, after some initially straightforward chapters, the difficulty quickly cranked up and I only completed lesson 7 out of 22 before the pieces became harder work than I was prepared...
Published on 3 July 2009 by Joe Shott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a Complete beginners Book, 2 April 2006
By 
Chris Downing "Chris Downing" (Chippenham, Wilts England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Rock Guitar Tab Book/Cd (Sheet music)
I agree with a couple of comments here about this not being a complete beginners book - if you need that, try Troy Stenina's 'Metal Rhythm One' book that starts you on powerchords and riffs first. I use all Troys books in teaching from 10 years old upward every day and have no problems in getting young students to start playing fast. If you want to use this book for teaching yourself you'll need Troy's Rhythm book in parallel with this (and there's a Book 2 on Rhythm as you get further into this 'Total Rock' book). If you want to learn how to play with exercises that really sound like rock and metal tracks there isn't much else out there that's better than these books by Troy. The only other ones I use like these are the 'Blues You Can Use' series by John Ganapes. Buy both series and you've got metal, rock and the blues covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Instructional and fun, 7 Nov 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Rock Guitar Tab Book/Cd (Sheet music)
I have to concur with Mr M.A. Folland from Southampton. I too bought this book at the same time as I took delivery of my first electric guitar and agree that it has been a great help. It really is true that from the first page you are playing great riffs and rock tunes, and the author introduces the theory almost without you noticing.
The tunes on the accompanying CD are good enough that I have added it to my record collection and sometimes play it for pleasure (rather than to learn from).
Troy Stetina has a web site at [...] that gives more useful tips and instruction.
I would certainly recommend this book to anyone who wishes to learn rock guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best guitar books around, 22 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Rock Guitar Tab Book/Cd (Sheet music)
This book is a great way for beginner or intermediate guitarists to get into playing a bit of rock. It is set out in a very easy to follow way, with basic lessons in chord types such as power chords, and techniques such as bends and palm muting, with each "lesson" followed by a song which uses the techniques you have just learned. Another great thing about the book is it includes a CD so you can hear how the songs/techniques should sound, and eventually play along with the backing. The tracks start off slightly lame, but as you progress through the book you will be learning songs in the style of a variety of well known rock bands, from Rage Against The Machine to Lynyrd Skynrd. It covers pretty much every style of rock, from country rock, to classic, with a dash of punk and heavy rock. As some people have mentioned, it isn't designed for absolute beginners, so if you are completely new to guitar, try something like "Guitar for Dummies" first to pick up basic chords and scales. But this book only requires a basic general knowledge of guitar playing and everything from there is explained in detail. More intermediate guitarists will probably want to skip the first few lessons (covering basics such as dyads, power chords, hammer ons and pull offs), but the book progresses quite quickly onto more advanced stuff, so its ideal for a variety of experience levels. All the exercises and songs are written in both standard notation (for those of you who can read it) and tab (for those who, like me, can't). Finally, Stetina also throws in a sprinkling of the more important aspects of music theory, so you can pick it up as you go along. Basically, if you want to get into playing electric / rock guitar, you can't go wrong with this book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin', 9 Nov 2006
By 
M. Hall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total Rock Guitar Tab Book/Cd (Sheet music)
I've been learning to play the guitar for just over a year now, but have been struggling to keep my interest going because of the books I've been using are so boring with pretty poor songs to learn. This book has taken me into a whole new universe compared to the others, if you want to learn how to play rock then this is the book for you. I disagree with some people on here saying it is good for learners, I would suggest that anyone wishing to use this book should have a basic knowledge of how to read TAB at the very least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best......, 15 Sep 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Rock Guitar Tab Book/Cd (Sheet music)
I am a freelance teacher of guitar working in a secondary school. This book is a godsend. I try to buy every promising guitar tutor that appears on the market hoping to find one that I can recommend to my pupils. Most books fail though many are excellent in their way. This new book by Troy Stetina on the other hand is good enough to encourage me to recommend it to all my capable students as the basis for our future studies. It is very well structured, encouragingly and consistently gradual, as claimed 'it Rocks' and is nicely presented and bound well enough that you don't need g-clamps to keep it on a music stand. Well done Troy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start!, 20 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. J. Ludlow (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total Rock Guitar Tab Book/Cd (Sheet music)
I got my first guitar in August '07 and this book for Xmas '07.

Having been through the basics from other books, I wanted to start hearing myself playing stuff that sounds like music. This book is superb and given an afternoon at it, I had the first "lesson" down and was playing along with the CD. Short introductions for each lesson, telling you what you will achieve and then into the song. You do indeed play to learn instead of hour after hour of mindless scale and chord exercises (which still need to be done of course, but having something to play in between really encourages you to keep at it).

All round, a superb guitar tutor book, can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 30 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Rock Guitar Tab Book/Cd (Sheet music)
Troy manages to make learning the guitar fun, something which most other books fail to do. The tunes that you learn cover many different styles of Rock and they all sound good, so good that I've taped them so that I can listen them in the car. Not sure if it has quite enough for total beginners though. All in all a great book and one that you'll keep returning to time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for beginners, 12 Jan 2008
This review is from: Total Rock Guitar Tab Book/Cd (Sheet music)
I have only been playing guitar for about four years and this was the book was recommended after i had learnt the basics of guitar. This book is very good for any starters who just want to get straight in to playing, as it has plenty of great riffs and songs to last you. At the same time, it still has all the information you need to know inbetween songs; slides, bends, harmonics, power chords etc.

5 out of 5 for this great starter rock book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy tool, 6 Jan 2004
By 
Steven (ABINGDON, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Total Rock Guitar Tab Book/Cd (Sheet music)
I ordered this book to improve my lousy playing technique from that of self learning to a now more competent level (the other half agrees on that). Simply it does what it states and takes you through from picking up a guitar to playing tunes and gaining technique on route. It could go a wee bit further with the basic tab instruction but that aside its a top book. One suggestion though...If the cash is available purchase a Tascam CD GT1 to jam along with the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally the best yet, 31 Dec 2002
By 
Mrs L Wright (Northolt, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Total Rock Guitar Tab Book/Cd (Sheet music)
This is a great book and cd, i bought it on the strenth of the previous review.I have bought loads of guitar books and this is by far the best yet. Well worth the money,the songs are great and you can take out the lead guitar by turning the r/h speaker down and play it yourself once you,ve learned the piece.Loads to do and lots to learn as you go along.Troy Stetina (Author)is a brilliant teacher. One thing though you must have a gain switch on your amp or a distortion pedal to get the Total rock sound and then your on away with the power chords otherwise you'll sound naff. This may sound odd but i think this book would suit players of all levels who are into Rock guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Total Rock Guitar Tab Book/Cd
Total Rock Guitar Tab Book/Cd by VARIOUS (Sheet music - 28 Jun 2001)
9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews