Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise and Well-Structured
One of the biggest plus points for "Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar" is that rather than make you sound like a shred-a-like guitarist, Troy Stetina settles for the bare bones of the excercises. The idea, rather than to develop a good set of licks and runs, is to just improve dexterity, finger independance and fluidity. What you do with it afterwards is your own...
Published on 6 Nov 2003 by Trelloskilos

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners.
Although the exercises in this book look good they are still too advanced for me. I think it will probably not be looked at for a couple of years but that's just because of the time (or lack of it) that I can give to practice.
Published 17 months ago by FluffyViper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise and Well-Structured, 6 Nov 2003
This review is from: Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
One of the biggest plus points for "Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar" is that rather than make you sound like a shred-a-like guitarist, Troy Stetina settles for the bare bones of the excercises. The idea, rather than to develop a good set of licks and runs, is to just improve dexterity, finger independance and fluidity. What you do with it afterwards is your own business.
A small criticism, which cannot be helped, is that despite the wealth of genres out there which employ or require speedy guitar playing (jazz, and fusion, for instance), the book draws mostly from metal. While this is not in itself totally bad, the book does need to be updated to at least cite examples from more recent times. Many of the bands he takes his excercises from (Such as Dokken, Ratt etc.) are mostly unheard of nowadays. Also, another small criticism is that it is an obvious direct port over from tape to CD, without updating, and some of the original audio has been lost. This is a shame, as it would have benefitted more from having each excercise audible to the student as a point of reference, rather than having them work out something that ultimately may come out wrong.
Saying that, though - Speed Mechanics for lead Guitar is a no-frills, 'progress in your own time', sensible workbook for the aspiring lead guitarist, and does work through at a sensible and articulate pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shut up and play yer guitar!, 18 May 2003
By 
T. Douglas "douglas_tim" (Torbay) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
I was a bit anxious about buying this book at first, as i thought it would turn me into a mindless guitar zombie, zooming around the fretboard with no musical input at all, the 'mechanics' part got me worried too. Thankfully, it is the best book i have ever read! It is full of simple exercises that u simply play over and over again until you can play as fast as the CD. For those familiar with 'Shaun Baxters Guitar Gym' series, they are much the same exercises, but much more fun as Troy lets you put them into practise. A killer version of 'Flight of the Bumblebee' (you may have heard John Petruccis version), is perfectly playable at the end of the book as you have slowly and accurately built up ur technique and stamina. A great book that teaches you how to incorporate speed into any type of rock playing, but doesnt force you to play anything you dont want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best technique book in the world !!!!!, 31 Jan 2004
By 
David (leicestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
I have only had this book a short time and am only on page 13. My playing has improved so much. My fingers are stronger, faster, better co-ordinated and more independent. The exercises focus on the right things, the strength of the book is that you can change the examples to suit what you want to practise, be it hammer-ons or economy picking. For £8 you get triple+ your money's worth. The cd has come straight from tape but you can write down the time as you go through the book which will take you all of 10 minutes. I've had other books which move too fast and go from easy to hard in 3 exercises. This book builds your abilities slowly, if you put in the practise you can improve quickly. I have nothing bad to say about the book it is everything a guitar book should be. He also gives you enough information to alter the exercises yourself to and challenge your weak areas. As well as this you absorb a bit of theory without even knowing it. Just remember I'm only on page 13 and there's lots to keep you busy. This book makes you want to play if it doesn't you should try another instrument. It's fantastic. The other reviewers were dead right! Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Holy Grail, 21 Sep 2007
By 
A. Homayoun (London, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
Before deciding to buy this book I found myself buying teaching aids that I was never able to complete primarily out of lack of incentive and interest over time. So I picked up the thngs I liked and moved on to the next aid. For the first time ever, this aid presents everything you need from a technique perspective in a logical, chronological manner - each step building on the previous ones in a way that makes you appreciate and understand the progress you are making. Suffice to say that I have had to re-learn everything I thought I knew (I have been playing for 15 years - and let me tell you that starting the metronome at 60 again to make sure I am doing everything right has not been the most fun exercise ... but wow has it been rewarding). If you are prepared to do the same then this book is for you. I have had this book for about a year now, and I am still only on page nineteen (exercise 32). I play an hour or slightly more every day and although the experience has been very mechanicaly oriented and tedious at times, it has completely changed the quality of my playing. All the things I thought I would never be able to accomplish are finally within my grasp. The most important aspect is that he lays down a road map for you and you see the light at the end of the tunnel. It is a long and ardous journey, but you are able to see the finish line nonetheless, even if it takes a while to get there. This is not a book that cuts corners, as it forces you to start thinking and analyzing everything about your technique. This book really is a treasure chest but you have to be mentally prepared for the journey. It will not be for everyone as it really requires more dedication and devotion than any other training aid - and you have to stick with it. You too can finally understand and do all the things you never thought were possible. The only downside is that I wish there were more pictures - but on second thought there may have been a reason for that given how different everyone's dimensions are and that there is no single correct way to hold a pick for example. Get that metronome and get to work. You will not be disappointed with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious book for serious learners, 27 Jan 2006
By 
A. Morley (Ripley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
Don't expect to learn this book in a few weeks; it is not for the feint-hearted. I've been playing 4 years now and I spent a good month perfecting the first page alone. If you have the time then this is the best book out there; not just to play like a shredder but to improve your speed overall which can be applied to more sedate forms of guitar playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 7 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
Amazingly detailed guitar technique book. Laid out in a sensible order , starting with excercises for both finger independance and strength in the fretting hand and moving onto both picking techniques and combining the two , includes things such as sweep picking excercises , string bending etc. All the techniques you need for Lead Guitar. Second part of the book includes rhythm excercises vital for both creaing your own songs , and learning new songs quicker. 3rd part includes a small section on creativity , not as detailed as the rest of the book but still useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to learn lead guitar BUY this book!, 28 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
A few years ago I bought Troy Stetina's Metal Lead Guitar Vol. 2 book which I found very useful in explaining basic guitar theory, scales, arpeggios etc. The solos are really good too.
But Speed Mechanics is definitely the next step.
With almost 200 exercises, a lot of licks and a few solos to learn,this will improve your playing skills by A LOT!
The CD is included and hepls so that you know what
exercises should sound like.
A MUST BUY book for every serious lead guitarist and for those
who want to improve their skills dramatically.
At this price you'll be nuts not to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look no further!, 18 Feb 2005
This review is from: Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
If you really want to learn how to play the guitar this is the book for you. Don't think you'll learn it in a week though. You'll have to practice a lot, and you'll need a metronome. You may find it hard at first 'cause it kicks off with the mechanical part which could take some time to master, but don't worry, if you want to go pro this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 17 July 2007
By 
B. Duffy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
This book is great at doing exactly what you'd expect from the title- making you FAST. Troy's basic idea in this book is that perfect practice makes perfect. He lays down the foundations for optimum technique and tells you not to not to bother doing the drills unless you do them exactly as he says; this method is great for ironing out flaws in your playing.
In regard to the other two "parts" of this book- rhythm and creativity, they are laughably short. Troy has some good ideas but they're mere tasters to the vast banquet of options out there.
Buy this book for what it is- the best in business for speed and technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great but not exhaustive, 8 Jun 2010
This review is from: Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
As you might have read from the other reviews here, this is a much appraised book for learning guitar techniques. We all have our own experiences with it, and I would like to stress that although it is by far the best guitar technique book I have, I would not recommend having only this book as your sole source of material on guitar technique, albeit this would be my first choice if I was forced to do so. My point is that it does not give you a complete coverage of the topic (of course, and I was not expecting that either). There are for example a lack in the theory department and on lengthy explanations of technique. For the latter I would recommend you to complement this book with Guthrie Govan's Creative Guitar 1 & 2, which have a thorough writing style and which gives you some more exercises to go with. Coupled with Dream Theater's John Petrucci's guitar video Rock Discipline (1995) you have some great material for mastering you electric guitar. That being said, Troy Stetina is trained at university level in music performance, and one of the really useful things he brings to the table in this book is how to practice a given musical piece in an effective way by braking down the components in different ways. All in all a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar (Troy Stetina)
Speed Mechanics for Lead Guitar (Troy Stetina) by Troy Stetina (Paperback - 1 Aug 1992)
£12.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews