Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Sheet music|Change
Price:£13.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Although this says metal, the material covers a lot of rock, blues and metal territory. If you take this book and CD slowly you'll learn and great deal about playing in these styles. This is one of a series of books Troy has written and nobody has done anything similar in my opinion. Total Rock, Speed, Lead Vol 1 and 2, Metal Rhythm 1 and 2 cover most of what you'd need to be a very competant player in the rock idiom. Start on Rhythm One and branch out to Lead, Rhythm 2 and Total Rock next. I use these all the time in teaching rock and every student who's used these intelligently and methodically has become an ace player.

You need to give yourself time to learn this material well before moving forwards in the books. I always suggest that students play each line about 60x spread over about a week. That way they don't rush, give themselves time to develop naturally, and comlete each exercise in the most effective way. Give it a try, but time yourself rather than count repetions. This schedule will get you to where you want to be - Day 1 4 mins, D2 - 3mins, D3 - 2 1/2 mins, D4 - 2 mins, D5 - 1 1/2 mins, D6 - 1 min, D7 - 1 min. That's 15 minutes spent playing each line of music. It's now possible to calculate how long it will take to get to the end of the book.

There's about 200 lines of music to learn in this book. At 15 minutes a line (spread over at least a week) that's 50 hours of very intense work. Listen to one of the last tracks in the book and think, "That could be me in two months of a hour a day." You may realise you need more practice to progress than I've suggested, but you'll quickly understand what's needed and be able to predict where you'll be in the future. Isn't that much better than just working away at the guitar with no plan? If you think you need 30 minutes a line, you still know you're finished in 100 hours.

Don't under estimate how long it takes to get as good as the best - read This is Your Brain on Music: Understanding a Human Obsession a great read for the price, and you'll realise what you have to put in to be an virtuoso. And read Effortless Mastery to fully understand how to practice. John Wheatcroft, head of Guitar at Guitar X, recommends this second book as well.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2007
I'll start off by saying that i agree with other reviewers on this, that the techniques taught in this book can be and are applied to every style of lead guitar. The book has got plenty exercises to keep you interested. Also there is a song at then of each chapter where you can play the solo. The tab for the rhythm parts can be downloaded from the authors website. There are also very good exercises to develop speed at then end of most of the chapters (something i havn't seen in any other lead guitar tutorial) that not only help with playing the end of chapter solos but with your guitar playing in general.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2001
I bought several books before this one claiming to be "intermediate - advanced" lead guitar books and whizzed through them in a week. This book is brilliant. Troy gives very helpful tips but doesn't woffle on like many other books. Every bit of infomation in this book is useful to any level player and the excercises at the end are very challengeing and very fast (160 BPM) It's apealing to think what may be waiting for me in Volume 2.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2011
OMG i have done about 8 hours out of the "lead vol one", and my lead guitar skills already have drastically improved!!

ive been playing things (lead guitar anyway) wrong for all these years (15yrs self taught), this book gives you skill sets to become efficient at lead playing. With solos working though skills and techniques, all while getting more difficult!!

Ive almost started again with my technique from holding the pick to bending and vibrato, but with the knowledge i have already accumalated, its all coming together great!!

Any beginner/inter guitar playing struggling with lead/solo playing GET THIS BOOK NOW!!!

IT WORKS!!!

.....and as the user below said this book isnt just for metal guitar , you can apply this book to any style of lead playing, including blues and rock, since the licks are similar between styles!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2005
The author Troy Stetina could shred Steve Vai and Joe Satriani off stage in the same night blindfolded (see Speed Mechanics)but can the man teach with this book/cd ? Well yes he can and his books are all well rated see(Total Rock Guitar)and i would say value for money aswell, we all know there is no shortage of crap guitar books out there .What you have to remember though is you have to put the work in and stay the course otherwise you ain't going to cut the mustard.If you are a total beginner i would recommend Troys (Lead guitar primer) first but if you know the Minor pentscale and can bend a little then go for it.Don't let the word `Metal`put you off either , i personally like rock and blues and do not find it too heavy as the title suggests any book by Troy is worth having.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2003
Though I paid the full price, I think for what you get, it could have been a little cheaper.
That said, if you practise everything in this book for about twelve months solid, you'll be a competent metal lead guitarist. Unfortunately, for more creative stuff you have to get the second book in the series. Don't so that until you've read and can do everything in this one or you'll just be disappointed.
So, well worth having, but i think is should have been cheaper.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2003
Ive always been slightly frustrated by this book. It covers all the techniques that an aspiring electric guitarist could want, there are numerous examples giving the reader plenty of opportunity to perfect new ideas and skills. The book is very concise with plenty of examples on every page, making it real value for money. The cd that accompanies this book gives the reader an opportunity to hear every example being played, inevitably in an heavily distorted 'metal style
My main objection:
Why? Why? Why? is this book sold as a heavy metal instruction book? The author himself must know how adaptable these techniques are to the numerous other kinds of music that might be played on the electric guitar. All this heavy metal title seems to succeed in doing is to alienate potential buyers that would otherwise gain alot from this book.
In conclusion I would still recommend this book to any aspiring guitarist. If you can tolerate the cd with the examples being played in a 'metal' style, there is still much to be gained from this book.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
As a 75 year old who had a Stratacaster given as a birthday presents this book has been of considerable benefit (I did play Bass in the 60s) The book just works so well, but you do need a background in playing and music to get the best from it. I have mastered the book in less than 2 months.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Great introduction, and useful for dipping into to focus on fundamentals for a while. You will be shredding in no time if you work through this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
Troy Statina's books are superb bought 3 so far I intend to buy more of his. would recommend this book not just to metal guitar players.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)