Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!, 27 Mar 2007
By 
J. Caygill (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metal Rhythm Guitar Vol. 1 (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
I picked up my first guitar almost ten years ago. My first few months were spent with a rather "serious" book, which almost killed my interest completely. Then, thankfully, I found this excellent book, and it completely saved my guitar playing.

It manages to teach you basic (and invaluable) techniques whilst still making the examples and tutorials sound good, so you immediately feel like you're making progress. The learning curve is also at a good level, and slowly introduces new methods to bring you up to scratch, as well as involving some basic (and essential!) music theory.

Nine years on I'd like to think of myself as quite an accomplished guitarist, but if it wasn't for this book (and a few others from the series) I'd probably have given up long ago.

I can't recommend this enough to anyone interested in playing "hard rock" or metal guitar, it's the best guitar tutorial book I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Banana, 27 Jan 2005
This review is from: Metal Rhythm Guitar Vol. 1 (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
Even if you are a total beginner this book will not be beyond you and by the end off it you will be pleased with your accomplishment.Its all there , songs to learn that sound great when you jam along and loads of exercises show you how to play them.Dont let the METAL title put you off as it did me, Metal is now a title for a wide genre of style,s such as rock,grunge,pop,punk,thrash,classic metal..Its all in there.
You can't go wrong with any book/cd by Troy Stetina.IVE GOT SHED LOADS OF GUITAR BOOKS AND THIS IS EASILY IN MY TOP FIVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Starts Here, 4 Oct 2006
By 
Chris Downing "Chris Downing" (Chippenham, Wilts England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Rhythm Guitar Vol. 1 (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
Of all the books I have as a guitar teacher (about 200!) this is one I start rockers on once they have done a couple of weeks limbering up and getting there fingers to fret notes fairly cleanly. If you want to rock this should be your first book. You can get the basics and finger exercises off the net - after a week at that you're ready for this book. It leads on to book 2, or a book 1 Lead and then another Lead book 2, or you might want to take the song route rather than loads of exercises and go through the Total Guitar book by Troy. After a couple of months of Metal Rhythm you'll be ready for the John Ganapes book, 'Blues You Can Use' (most rock is based on the blues so it's not just what yer dad plays!) If you follow the Stetina series you'll end up like a junior version of Vai, Satriani, Johnson or Morse. If you want to be like Clapton or Moore, switch to the John Ganapes series one you've finished Metal Rhythm Book One.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars phenominal, 31 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Metal Rhythm Guitar Vol. 1 (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
A phenominal book, which I'd recomend to everyone wanting to play the guitar whatever style they like.
It jumps straight in with tuneful riffs you can easily play and practice to master. I use this book along with other beginner books to expand my learning experience.
This is quite a slim book, but with so much packed into the pages it's well worth the money, no waffle no b/s, it's just packed with great learning tools.
And it has songs to learn after each chapter, well within the beginers ability. I'm considering his Lead guitar Vol 1 aswell and my work through them at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 26 Feb 2010
This review is from: Metal Rhythm Guitar Vol. 1 (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
Brilliant book for aspiring guitarists, really easy to follow and no jargon, simple and easy to learn. Very impressed. I will be purchasing the rest of the books in this series. Cheers Troy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great method from a great teacher., 15 Sep 2007
This review is from: Metal Rhythm Guitar Vol. 1 (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
If yopu're completly new to guitar playing or have been playing, or have been playing for a while and wat to learn how to play metal, then this is the best (and only)starting point. Each chapter has a handful of techniques with some excesizes using them. At the end of each chapter, there is small song using everything you've already learned from all the chapters. The backing tracks are full band, which is really good as you can record yourself and play it back to hear how you sound.
One thing I will say is get a metronome, as it will help a lot with you timing. If you're a serious guitar player then a drum machine will be even more fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and for once in a guitar tutor book the exercises actually sound musical and are fun to play, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Rhythm Guitar Vol. 1 (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
Gets to the powerchord nitty-gritty quickly, and for once in a guitar tutor book the exercises actually sound musical and are fun to play.

The whole Troy Stetina series is excellent and this maintains that high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this!, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Rhythm Guitar Vol. 1 (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
It's a very rich book at a very cheap price. It explains well enough, take your time and go through each lesson, you'll definitely see the improvements. Buy the lead guitar book from the same author as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Rhythm Guitar Vol. 1 (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
Great book, it's a must have for anyone interested in metal guitar. Goes through all the basics of rhythm guitar and teaches you several songs, increasing in difficulty as you progress through the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Rhythm Guitar Vol 1, 11 Jan 2014
This review is from: Metal Rhythm Guitar Vol. 1 (Troy Stetina) (Paperback)
Great book, bought it for nephew for Christmas , he loves it, its easy to start learning from as he is a beginner with clear instructions and cd to here from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Rhythm Guitar Vol. 1 (Troy Stetina)
Metal Rhythm Guitar Vol. 1 (Troy Stetina) by Troy Stetina (Paperback - 10 Mar 1992)
13.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews