Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Wraith Can Write
There continue to be two types of books offered that carry the name Robert Ludlum. There is the, "Covert One", series that has been abysmal since its first appearance and has shown no signs of improvement. And there are the 11 books that it has been said he left outlines for at the time of his death. The latter series that are the traditional Ludlum fare have remained far...
Published on 19 Oct 2002 by taking a rest

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cut to the chase?
This was a let down for me having read his Bourne books. I found this similair a man on the run from the Estasblisment. but it just seemed to drag on and on, you can skip pages that have no point at all in the story. one line in the book sums it up for me speaking to a friend "Grigoie my friend,I don`t need the war and peace version of this cut to the chase"...
Published 15 months ago by Willy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Wraith Can Write, 19 Oct 2002
By 
taking a rest - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Janson Directive (Hardcover)
There continue to be two types of books offered that carry the name Robert Ludlum. There is the, "Covert One", series that has been abysmal since its first appearance and has shown no signs of improvement. And there are the 11 books that it has been said he left outlines for at the time of his death. The latter series that are the traditional Ludlum fare have remained far above the previously mentioned series, and they have been surprisingly good. "The Janson Directive", is by far the best book since the death of this author that helped define this genre. It has been clear that a new pen was introduced when the first unfinished book was completed after Ludlum's death, and with this book it is clear that from beginning to end, while possibly based on a Ludlum outline, this is another author's work. Happily whoever he/she is can really write, maintaining the storyline style that Ludlum continues to be famous for, while bringing a more contemporary flair to the work.
When I use the word contemporary it is often the dialogue that has changed. It is not only much crisper, edgier, and wittier than Ludlum, it also uses dialogue from movies like, "Pulp Fiction", that would never have been found in the late author's work. What puzzles me is where the publishers find a writer this good who is willing to remain anonymous. Perhaps these contributions will launch a new career eventually, but in the meantime I hope that whoever is writing these books is being very well paid. One only has to look to the last, "Ludlum", book and its time spent on the bestseller lists to hope this is true.
The author has created one of the most entertaining players in the form of Grigori Berman. This Russian now considers himself absolutely the English gentleman, and to prove it one need only visit his home which was decorated with a single purchase. For on the day Merchant and Ivory Films completed one of their period pieces, our Russian simply bought the sets in their entirety and furnished his home in fashionable London. The paintings are not quite finished, and the furniture looks a bit strange without studio lighting, but for Grigori they are perfection. Grigori's butler is also a riot as he trains his "English" boss, and the nurses that attend to Grigori's needs have to be read about to be believed.
Whoever did write this tale they are very well schooled in the art of the extraordinary marksmen known as snipers. There are several very well written sequences that are very tense and also very informative as the three dimensional world of a sniper and teams of snipers is explained as the action takes place. The writing does not glorify what they do; these characters are not mindless killers or assassins for hire. They are people with amazing discipline and talent, and also people you want to stay a good mile or more away from.
I do think it matters who wrote this book, and I wish they were given the appropriate credit. The talent that is writing these books is extending the literary life and legacy of Mr. Ludlum, and he or she deserves to be recognized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ludlum remains top!, 11 Sep 2003
By 
Rosslock "rosslock" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Janson Directive (Paperback)
The Janson Directive is typical Ludlum and a welcome return it is after the abysmal Covert-One novels of recent years. It has all the classic ingredients such as a very secret government agency getting up to no good, a man on the run, plots within plots, lots of violence and an unlikely love-interest. It even has a small reference to the greatest thriller ever written, the Bourne Identity.
There are one or two points though that make you wonder how much of this was actually written by Mr Ludlum himself and how much was written by another author to fill in the gaps. I did not like for example the way the story kept hopping from one country to another without an explanation as to how Mr Janson actually managed this, considering he is a man on the run. Also, one has to wonder, what happenend to Barry after he got shot?
Anyway, I did very much enjoy this, and would not hesitate to buy the next few Robert Ludlum novels that are due out soon. Even though they may be written by someone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable!, 11 Aug 2004
By 
T. Crease (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Janson Directive (Paperback)
I eagerly awaited the arrival of The Janson Directive in paperback, and lo and behold, there it was at the airport on my way to France last year.
As with many other Ludlum books, it was totally absorbing and gripping. One of the most exciting books I'd read in a while.
The plot is intricate and gets deeper and deeper, twisting and turning just at the point you thought you knew where it was going. As a result, you never want to put it down. This is one of those books which, if you pick up to read a couple of chapters before going to sleep, you can expect to find yourself reading late into the small hours!
A cracking effort - give it a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't put it down!, 6 Dec 2003
By 
This review is from: The Janson Directive (Paperback)
After reading some books of other similar genres by other authors, I was searching for my next read and came across The Janson Directive - my first Ludlum book.
Well, it is one of the most exciting books I've read in a while.
The character is strong and well formed, and even though you are dipped into his past life throughout, it is done in such a way that you aren't left confused as to what is then and what is now.
The plot thickens, twists and pushes against the barriers of possibilities, but just without breaking through to become implausible. It's enough to keep you wondering to yourself about what's to happen next as soon as you lay the book down to get some sleep.
Downsides...nahh. It's all good.
Read it and you'll see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ludlum reborn!!!, 9 April 2003
By 
jeff oro (Manila, Philippines) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Janson Directive (Hardcover)
i have read all of ludlum's novel,and as far as i'm concerned, this one is by far one of the best he has ever written,either he finished it before he died or somebody took his pen to finish it. no matter, this is still pure ludlum. this book has all the traditional ludlumesque plots and twists, roller-coaster ride, slam-bang action. of the three posthumous novel of ludlum(excluding the covert-one series), i rate this second to the prometheus deception and the third would be the sigma protocol.ludlum incorporates new elements in the janson directive, never before seen in his previous books. truly the master still lives on! i'm waiting for his next posthumous novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping until the end!, 9 Dec 2003
By 
T. Richards (Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Janson Directive (Paperback)
Robert Ludlum is probably the most prestigious novel writer of the spy-thriller, nay, of all time!
And The Janson Directive comes as no exception. The book is nerve-wracking from the very start, where the diplomat Peter Novak, has an important peace-progress meeting burst in on by terrorists.
From here, the book unfolds in a web of deceipt, gun-fights, and many thrilling moments set aside. Secret government agencies abound, aswell as the top-quality writing, available only from Ludlum. The characters are believeable, if not a little spontaneous, and the plot will have you clawing for your seat to ensure you stay on it!
Once again, Ludlum has pulled it off, and I insist that if you've ever read ANY of Tom Clancy's books, or maybe even Clive Cussler's 'NUMA Files' series, then this book is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Ludlum-only better, 4 May 2003
This review is from: The Janson Directive (Hardcover)
This book reads, in some places, like a film screenplay. Which is no criticism: the almost cinematic feel to the action scenes is exciting and engaging. There are those who feel that Ludlum wrote about one hero in many guises in his many books. Janson certainly fits into the usual category-a man forced into a set of cirumstances with which, and through which, he has to learn, adapt and survive.
There is more than Ludlum's ususal scene setting here. A scene in Regent's Park has obviously been visited and well thought out, as had scenes in Amsterdam and elsewhere.
There is much here to admire: a fast pace, exciting and engaging narrative and well drawn backgrounds.
One of the top three Ludlums, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excting and entertaining, 30 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Janson Directive (Paperback)
If Robert Ludlum had stuck with the same characters he might have been the Ian Fleming of his time. This book was my introduction to his work and I was impressed by the dense, taught and powerful writing. His usual post James Bond heros - in their late 40s and beyond - are a relief from the young action stereotypes of the cinema. Like Ian Fleming's hero, they are imperfect, frequently unpleasant but extremely capable. Janson was one of his best characters and the plotting is great.

If there was a 6 star rating I would give this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cut to the chase?, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a let down for me having read his Bourne books. I found this similair a man on the run from the Estasblisment. but it just seemed to drag on and on, you can skip pages that have no point at all in the story. one line in the book sums it up for me speaking to a friend "Grigoie my friend,I don`t need the war and peace version of this cut to the chase" Far to much paciking? A good story without it. nearly packed up reading it but made it in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Ghostly Finger Writes, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We're in familiar Ludlum territory here - the secretive group who work outside government, for the good of all, or the good of their outsized egos. And the bewildered agent who gets in the way and faces being killed off for it. Think Inver Brass, Jason Bourne et al and you won't be too far off the mark. Familiar territory but a lot of the actual text suggests ghosts in the machine.

Competent and readable enough but not vintage Ludlum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Janson Directive
The Janson Directive by Robert Ludlum (MP3 CD - Nov 2003)
£60.98
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews