Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely excellent book!, 28 Jan 2003
By 
Mr. R. Linney "rjlinney" (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: National Geographic Photography Field Guide: Secrets to Making Great Pictures (Paperback)
I've been an amateur landscape photographer for around 15 years and have many photography books. The National Geographic field guide is absolutely excellent, whatever your level of expertise. There's something in here for everyone. The book covers composition of a wide range of subjects, plus technique. There's good coverage of metering techniques etc, which many books skip.
I would strongly recommend this book to any keen photographer, and after reading it it leaves you wanting more - I'm about to buy the National Geographic Landscape guide now and hope that this is as good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely one of the best books on photography., 25 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: National Geographic Photography Field Guide: Secrets to Making Great Pictures (Paperback)
It is not often that one finds a comprehensive book on photography that features both the technical and creative elements. An amature photographer will find all the basic, and not so basic, information about cameras, films, light, composition, and lots more; while a more advanced one is sure to enjoy the pages covering the works and attitude of NG photographers. I find the book a trifle too big to be a proper "field guide", and one yet has to see anything better than Richard Platt's "The Professional Guide to Photo Data" (ISBN 0-8553-730-3), most unfortunately unavailable from Amazon; but the NG publication gives a lot more than raw data: it gives the reader the course to pursue if one wants to grow as a photographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Want to take pictures like those in National Geographic?, 27 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: National Geographic Photography Field Guide: Secrets to Making Great Pictures (Paperback)
Do National Geographic photographers produce the greatest pictures? I think so. I read this book in the hope to learn a little of their magic. For a long time I could not put my finger on that extra ingredient, the thing that gives National Geographic images that extra edge. In the end it is obvious that the NG photographers know their stuff (no surprise there) and I think what gives them the edge is their commitment and dedication to their work.
This is an excellent book for beginners. It covers the basics in technique well, without labouring the subject or missing the essentials. More advanced picture takers will also get plenty from the book, especially the insightful material on a wealth of potential subjects. Thre are lots of tips and ideas to wet the appetite. However the unique element of this book, and the piece that gives it the NG edge, are the features on the NG photographers. Their thoughts, motivation, and personal tips. And of course it is always worth just looking at the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!, 13 April 2003
By 
Panagiotis Voudouris "pvoudouris" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: National Geographic Photography Field Guide: Secrets to Making Great Pictures (Paperback)
An excellent book! It starts with all the basics and then proceeds to show how to choose subjects and go about making great photos! The profiles of various photographers are insightful and helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first rate photography book, 25 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: National Geographic Photography Field Guide: Secrets to Making Great Pictures (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book and it has probably been the first time in a few years that I have learnt "new" things from a photography guide. e.g. The book clearly shows in photographic terms how much better a tripod will make a photograph. My favourite sections were those that looked at a variety of NG photographers and how their individual approaches all contributed to the NG look and style.
Go buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look and learn with the best guides in everyday photography!, 14 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: National Geographic Photography Field Guide: Secrets to Making Great Pictures (Paperback)
I got it last week and I still carry it around with me! I love their photos and the way they explain their tactics for each level. Lots of different tips. Lots of advice about all you can buy. Now I'm getting ready to go out and take great pictures of the beautiful countryside where I live! It even fits just right in my photo bag. I just wish that each level could be divided into separate books with more info and more examples with details of camera caracteristics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great pocket guide to photography, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Photography Field Guide: Secrets to Making Great Pictures (Paperback)
National Geographic provide some great field guides (except the Digital Photography one) and this little book covers all you need to know to improve your photography. The pro tips and guides are excellent. A little dated because it relates to film but the Digital version is pretty useless as far a photography goes. Recommended along with the Travel Field Guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guide to Film Photography, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Photography Field Guide: Secrets to Making Great Pictures (Paperback)
A good guide to photography in general. Produced in 1999, the book centres on film photography with only a few pages dedicated to digital. As the principles of photography are the same whether the pictures are recorded on silver compounds on a gelatin base, or on a silicon chip, the book is still as valid today. Photos from the National Geographic are used to great effect, including a few favourites that I recognized from such luminaries as Jodi Cobb and Sam Abell. Recommended to all with an interest in fine photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply perfect, 20 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Photography Field Guide: Secrets to Making Great Pictures (Paperback)
I already knew the book, simple and very clear, concise; easy guide an fabulous notes from the authors Excellent vendor's attention as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book to start learning photography, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had it when I was learning in my own to take pictures and it really did kick-start the process.
Well structured, captures all the essential aspects that one needs to know at first.
I would recommend it to self learners, that start this hobby or to emerging students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

National Geographic Photography Field Guide: Secrets to Making Great Pictures
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews