Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book it was sensitive, fast pace and thrilling. The author took risks but this is what travelling is about. It is dangerous. I thought the author was very brave but also this was about her finding herself as well as about a great adventure from the South of Papua New Guinea to the North. What I particularly enjoyed about this book was...
Published on 19 Dec 2010 by Ms. E. M. Horne

versus
11 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor travel book. Recklessness doesn't equal adventure.
It is a shame, this could have been a more inspiring book about travel or just a good adventure story anyway, but what we get is someone throwing themselves foolhardily from one life-(or rape-) threatening situation to another with almost wanton abandon as if she has no value for her own safety or respect.
We would also hope that by the end of the story she learns to...
Published on 12 July 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 19 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Four Corners: A Journey into the Heart of Papua New Guinea (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book it was sensitive, fast pace and thrilling. The author took risks but this is what travelling is about. It is dangerous. I thought the author was very brave but also this was about her finding herself as well as about a great adventure from the South of Papua New Guinea to the North. What I particularly enjoyed about this book was that she was not expecting others to make this journey, she tells us quite clearly that "she is out of her mind". She also explains her background and what has brought her to keep putting her life at terrible risk, until she almost plays a game with fate. There are a couple of moments in the book that blow your mind, I won't mention them all because I will ruin it for you. I really enjoyed it where she explained that the PNG tribes like to carve their canoes which may take a couple of days, but then they spend twice as long again on carving a crocodile's head on the bow. This is because they believe that items should be made for not only for practical use but for aesthetic beauty because then, and only then, will you respect it. Indonesia occuplies PNG and she meets up with the head of a separatist guerrilla movement who is hoping she can help. It really makes you think about the modernisation of the world and whether we are going in the right direction. The way Australia takes copper and gold out of their country and the way which the Japanese and US embassadors visit the tribes but don't actually do anything - but just leave a flag. A great, great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 24 May 2009
By 
C. Barker (Chichester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fascinating and thoroughly entertaining account of travel in Papua New Guinea. Very well written. One of the best travel books ive read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic, thrilling read, 28 Jan 2004
This is the most exciting travel memoir I've ever read. Kira Salak is brave, funny, insightful and you never know how she's going to get herself out of her latest dangerous situation. Real edge of the seat stuff, and moving too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic thrilling read, 28 Jan 2004
This is the most exciting travel memoir I've ever read. Kira Salak is brave, funny, insightful and you never know how she's going to get herself out of her latest dangerous situation. Real edge of the seat stuff, and moving too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor travel book. Recklessness doesn't equal adventure., 12 July 2003
By A Customer
It is a shame, this could have been a more inspiring book about travel or just a good adventure story anyway, but what we get is someone throwing themselves foolhardily from one life-(or rape-) threatening situation to another with almost wanton abandon as if she has no value for her own safety or respect.
We would also hope that by the end of the story she learns to slow down and really appreciate or even take the time to be part of the culture around her but sadly this doesn't happen either.
To take this book as an inspiration would be to legitimise throwing your life on the line pointlessly and recklessly time and time again in order to hope to understand why you shouldn't. She did, and she was the lucky one who came out of it and survived. She can't understand the wisdom of others as to why taking unnecessary risks is....well....unnecessary. She never learns to judge for herself what is or is not worth the risk and when is the time to do it or when it is time to wait. She still ends up saying that if she wants to do something she'll do it, which having read the book means throwing caution to the wind and throwing your life away when it can be done> If something is really a geuine wish, by taking time and learning what the locals have learnt and using their wisdom to guide you, it is still possible to use the wisdom of others to further your own self-growth without being totally foolish and reckless.
However, she never learns to take the locals word for anything and gets into trouble again and again. Truly an independent minded person but hardly an inspiration to snyone unless they also have no respect for their own life - particularly as she spends half the book bemoaning the differences bewteen the sexes and apparently being pleased that men can also be raped. A little obssessed by her own hangups about her own sexuality which prevents her in any way accepting the culture of PNG which is all around her.
I would have to say don't follow this type of adventure yourselves, since, as evidenced in the book itself, around 7-8 out of 10 people showing such a lack of wisdom in their decision-making DO end up either raped, mutilated or dead and yes that does include the Westerners (especially because of their race) and yes it does occur to both sexes because there is nothing exclusively male or female about travel - cotrary to her limited perceptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Four Corners: A Journey into the Heart of Papua New Guinea
Four Corners: A Journey into the Heart of Papua New Guinea by Kira Salak (Paperback - 29 Dec 2004)
8.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews