Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jacques Cousteau "The Silent World"
This is a wonderful book. Cousteau knows how to tell fascinating dive stories (some involving near-death moments) and keep you informed as well. The photos in the hardback edition are mostly (but not all) black and white, but stunning, especially the photo of a shark's maw one foot away from Cousteau's camera! The courage of the man takes the breath away and makes a lot...
Published on 21 April 2006 by wannabee

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cousteau's 'The Silent World' is a tale of the deep sea.
Cousteau's autobiographical account of his deep sea adventures is told with much vividness and recounts the experiences of Cousteasu and his comrade, Frederic Dumas, in the sea after their discovery of the aqua lung. A good book to read if interested in diving, or simply as a general interest publication. Either way the book makes for a good read and, considering...
Published on 18 Sep 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jacques Cousteau "The Silent World", 21 April 2006
This review is from: The Silent World (National Geographic adventure classics) (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book. Cousteau knows how to tell fascinating dive stories (some involving near-death moments) and keep you informed as well. The photos in the hardback edition are mostly (but not all) black and white, but stunning, especially the photo of a shark's maw one foot away from Cousteau's camera! The courage of the man takes the breath away and makes a lot of today's expert divers seem namby-pamby. No wetsuits for Jacques, he and Didi Dumas swam around in very brief swimtrunks which were no doubt regarded as sexy and trendy in the 1950s. Both of them do lots of things in the sea which would now be regarded as politically incorrect, so a really fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Mar 2013
By 
D. L. George "wilscombe" (Cirencester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silent World (National Geographic adventure classics) (Hardcover)
A refreshingly naive production but absorbing nonetheless. Some parts may be upsetting but the film is produced by someone who clearly loves everything to do with the Undersea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cousteau's 'The Silent World' is a tale of the deep sea., 18 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Silent World (Hardcover)
Cousteau's autobiographical account of his deep sea adventures is told with much vividness and recounts the experiences of Cousteasu and his comrade, Frederic Dumas, in the sea after their discovery of the aqua lung. A good book to read if interested in diving, or simply as a general interest publication. Either way the book makes for a good read and, considering Cousteau translated the story from the French himself, is impressively well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of "The Silent World" by J.Y. Cousteau., 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silent World (Hardcover)
I have been scuba diving since 1963 and Cousteau was my hero back then. After all he was the real pioneer of diving. I had a copy of this book years ago and loaned it to someone who never returned it. I tried to replace it but it was out of print and I could not get a copy in the book shops. I was advised to try Amazon and thankfully you obtained this one for me. In fact this copy is superior to my original one as there are pictures in this copy while there were no pictures in my one.

Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A biography that doesn't always go to the depths it could...., 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silent World (National Geographic adventure classics) (Hardcover)
The film work of Captain Cousteau easily outshines his written work. An innovator in his time, the use of film and cinematography to capture all that he saw whilst scuba diving conveys something more than some of his written work could. This autobiography charts his early years of his scuba diving equipment and his work with the undersea research group. The stories here aren't easily shown by camera and are better told on page.
Cousteau has a decidedly deadpan approach, some of his tales do come across as humorous (the cocoa bean story) whereas some others are shocking (testing grenades underwater); his tales of his brushes of mortality are particularly hard-hitting (the death of a close colleague on a research expedition is searing in its depiction). He keeps this tone throughout the book.
If I were to recommend this to anyone, I would have to say underwater enthusiasts and Cousteau fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silent World (National Geographic adventure classics) (Hardcover)
I started reading this on holiday and find it very captivating. Excellent book if your a scuba diver! a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silent World (National Geographic adventure classics) (Hardcover)
I had not read this since I was a child when it ewas first published. It brought back many happy memories and persuaded me to take up scuba diving later in my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cousteau's silent world, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silent World (National Geographic adventure classics) (Hardcover)
Very good read, full of adventure and provides an insight into the early years of the career of Jacques Yves Cousteau, a true adventurer.The Silent World (National Geographic adventure classics)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silent World (National Geographic adventure classics) (Hardcover)
This book covers the early, pioneering days of scuba diving. All the participants are clearly mad but what a buzz they must have got. It is the sort of book you can read again and again dipping in at different small stories or from cover to cover. Should be in every divers book set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Silent World, 31 Dec 2011
By 
D. Ross (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Silent World (National Geographic adventure classics) (Hardcover)
An absolute classic book, it gives a fascinating insight into the development of underwater exploration and pioneering work done by Cousteau and his friends with the then-new aqualung equipment. Beautifully bound too, this book is great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silent World (National Geographic adventure classics)
The Silent World (National Geographic adventure classics) by Frederic Dumas (Hardcover - Jun 2004)
8.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews