Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better value than from the exhibition!
If you have been to or going to the exhibition at the 02 this is basically the identical book (same ISBN) as they are selling in the gift shop for £35.00. The only difference is that the Amazon one does not have the Omar Sharif audio disk included and it has a different slipcover. In my opinion the audio is great when you are actually walking round the exhibition but...
Published on 23 Jan 2008 by Simon Matthews

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Glossy and Superficial
This is a glossy and superficial book which makes an OK souvenir, and the sort of thing to have on hand when you spend time in the loo.
Published on 5 Nov 2007 by Roger Rowan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better value than from the exhibition!, 23 Jan 2008
By 
Simon Matthews "zak-woof" (Dorking UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tutankhamun and the Golden Age of the Pharaohs: Official Companion Book to the Exhibition (Hardcover)
If you have been to or going to the exhibition at the 02 this is basically the identical book (same ISBN) as they are selling in the gift shop for £35.00. The only difference is that the Amazon one does not have the Omar Sharif audio disk included and it has a different slipcover. In my opinion the audio is great when you are actually walking round the exhibition but standalone it is of no great shakes. This book is a great souvenir of the exhibition, maybe not the most educational but beautifully photographed, would grace any coffee table! Save your cash go to the exhibition and buy the book on line!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great! ...but a little limited, 3 Dec 2007
This review is from: Tutankhamun and the Golden Age of the Pharaohs: Official Companion Book to the Exhibition (Hardcover)
i bought this for my girlfriend for an extra christmas present. although i am yet to delve in properly, it has a great collection of images and the text is easy to read, broken down well and complimented by maps of burial sites etc. the only faults i can bring up, are that the information about tutunkhamun himself is a bit limited and most of the book describes of the treasures found. still an interesting read and what there is of a high quality, especially the photos which are highly detailed.

i only spent 14.99 on this elsewhere other than amazon, so it's well worth the money spent. hence why the 5 stars :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic photos, 23 July 2007
This review is from: Tutankhamun and the Golden Age of the Pharaohs: Official Companion Book to the Exhibition (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book packed with sumptuous photographs - most of them a whole page in size so you can really see all the details of the artifacts. I also thought the information was imparted in an easy-to-read way. This is a big beautiful book - well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tutankhamun and the Golden age of the Pharaohs, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tutankhamun and the Golden Age of the Pharaohs: Official Companion Book to the Exhibition (Hardcover)
Having just purchased this book for under £3.00, (used including p&p & perfect condition) I'm very pleased with it. It's difficult to find anything impressive after studying this subject for over 20 years, books,dvds etc; but every book differs in quality of photography and information. I think the author is well versed with his country's past and conveys it very clearly. He also gives a narrative of the tomb's discovery with informative extracts from Howard Carter's work and his book. There is nothing to compare to seeing these treasures in Egypt in their full splendour as I have been fortunate to do, but books such as this are a good start to a fascinating subject. An excellent book and well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Glossy and Superficial, 5 Nov 2007
This review is from: Tutankhamun and the Golden Age of the Pharaohs: Official Companion Book to the Exhibition (Hardcover)
This is a glossy and superficial book which makes an OK souvenir, and the sort of thing to have on hand when you spend time in the loo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good present, 3 Jan 2011
By 
Dorothy Connor (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tutankhamun and the Golden Age of the Pharaohs: Official Companion Book to the Exhibition (Hardcover)
I bought it as a present for my husband. Lovely pictures. Substance? - I don't know, but the present was much appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No more please!, 9 Nov 2007
This review is from: Tutankhamun and the Golden Age of the Pharaohs: Official Companion Book to the Exhibition (Hardcover)
Does Zahi Hawass really write this stuff? I thought he was an Egyptologist with a job to do. Instead his name is on every flippin' book and documentary coming out of Egypt -- he is a one-man self-publicizing campaign. And the text is no good anyway, though the pictures, taken by somebody else, are OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tutankhamun and the Golden Age of the Pharaohs: Official Companion Book to the Exhibition
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews