Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good things do indeed come in small packages.
Woodcutter Honest Jonathan is granted three wishes by the forest queen as gratitude for not chopping down a mighty oak tree. Returning home he excitedly tries to tell his wife about the wishes, but an argument ensues and during the course of which, the three wishes are foolishly wasted. Realising the folly of their waste, they both sadly ponder on the absence of a son in...
Published on 5 Jun 2011 by Spike Owen

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tom Thum and the advetised Russ Tamblyn audio track
Great film and all that I remember from my youth but beware I have now ordered 3 at various times. No not to match the number of wishes but to listen to the advertised full length audio commentary by Russ Tamblyn. I dont know what happens to it in the post but no copy has yet arrived with the advertized audio track. My newest copy is going back to Amazon as soon at the PO...
Published on 3 Sep 2005 by starryfriarjim


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good things do indeed come in small packages., 5 Jun 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tom Thumb [DVD] [1958] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Woodcutter Honest Jonathan is granted three wishes by the forest queen as gratitude for not chopping down a mighty oak tree. Returning home he excitedly tries to tell his wife about the wishes, but an argument ensues and during the course of which, the three wishes are foolishly wasted. Realising the folly of their waste, they both sadly ponder on the absence of a son in their life, no matter what size he be. Jonathan muses that perhaps the queen would grant them one more wish, even a small one........

Based on the Brothers Grimm story, "tom thumb" may just be the most undervalued musical ever made in the 1950s. Not having a fully fledged Region 2 DVD release yet is not helping its cause, and quite frankly that's something of a disgrace. "tom thumb" has everything a family musical should have. A fantastical fairytale full of colour, vibrant song and dance, and a warmth to cheer the bluest of hearts. With the athletic and vibrant Russ Tamblyn taking the lead as Tom, and villains portrayed with such gleeful caddishness by Peter Sellers and Terry-Thomas, the film was always going to start from a good footing. Add in Tom Howard's Academy Award winning effects, Gamley & Jones' whimsical score and the zippy direction from Ray Harryhausen mentor, George Pal. Well what's the excuse for not letting this film into yours, and your children's life?

The story unfolds in a blaze of glorious art design and pupetoon effects. As Tamblyn roams around his little world, the makers blend over-sized sets with animation and real life choreography. Yeah its a little creaky now, but this is still magic, a hark back to a time when it was hard work to craft such a fusion of incredible delights. There's a main sequence as Tom brings the toys to life {you see a toy without a child is as bad as a child without a toy}, a truly wondrous segment of film that deserves classic status. Fit to sit alongside the moment Gene Kelly danced with Mickey Mouse in Anchors Aweigh, this sees Tamblyn trip the light fantastic around, and with, numerous articles and childhood toys beloved by so many in the past. Then there is the talented shoes, a mortality romantic sub-plot, and yes! The good against evil thematic so rich and potent with many a fairytale that has been spun. It's all good, really it is.

Am I biased because it was a childhood favourite? You can bet your last Cent, Penny or Euro that I am indeed! But I know this one truth. I have shown this to various age groups over the years, and not once has this film finished and not been met with smiles and even happy tears on occasions. Because ultimately it delivers the joy to the children, and to the children in us all. And that be the truth your honour.

Doo be doo be doo 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Thumb - You've got to watch it!, 11 Feb 2005
This review is from: Tom Thumb [DVD] [1958] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This lively musical comedy, adapted from the Brothers Grimm fairy tale, will delight adults and children alike. When a woodcutter spares a special tree, the Forest Queen wants to repay his kindness. She bestows a precious gift upon the man and his wife, who have always longed for a child of their own - a wee boy named "Tom Thumb". Then a dastardly duo plots to rob the village... and the boy no bigger than the size of your thumb becomes a hero, outwitting the thieves and saving the town's riches. :-)
This movie I use to watch 3 times a day when I was a kid. You might start doing the same thing when you purchase it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words cannot describe..., 20 May 2006
This review is from: Tom Thumb [DVD] [1958] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Without a doubt my favourite film of all time. Sweet, innocent, fun and full of magic.

As a child it was the most wonderful film I ever watched - because it was just so fun and innocent.

The yawning man, and the dancing shoes. I am a big fan of the brothers grimm and this really brought the story alive in such a special way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tom thumb, 9 Jan 2010
This review is from: Tom Thumb [DVD] [1958] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Film working great and deliered in perfect condition, did take quite a long time 2 be delivered, but would buy from you again thanks carol x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best!, 23 May 2007
By 
K. Harvey "allykatharvey" (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tom Thumb [DVD] [1958] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is just as fresh, funny and delightful today as it was when I first saw it! Only "The Wizard of Oz" can honestly complete with it for talent in dancing and comedy. Russ Tamblin was fabulous and so was the amazing, unique, utterly irreplaceable, Terry Thomas (much imitated by other actors - especially Americans doing stereotyped upper class "English" baddies, most notably Dustin Hoffman's brilliant Captain Hook in "Hook". He took Terry Thomas off even to the extent of the gap between the front teeth!)

Everyone in this film seemed to be giving of their best though and it exudes a romantic charm and warmth that is rare in this genre. Watching this for the first time as a child (although one is always a child again when watching it!) I fell in love with Woody the Woodcutter and wanted a dress like the fairy. OK, so we've got over this now (really!) but as an adult I recognise that whilst many other children's films have lost their edge, this one is a classic and has stood the test of time: the quality shows. My only regret is that is isn't yet on Region 2 DVD to my knowledge and the colour and picture needs some working on. Let's hope that when it does come out eventually they give us the full screen view and have touched up the overall picture - certainly the performances need no improvement! When it's available to everyone in the UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and the rest of the English speaking world - Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tom Thum and the advetised Russ Tamblyn audio track, 3 Sep 2005
This review is from: Tom Thumb [DVD] [1958] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Great film and all that I remember from my youth but beware I have now ordered 3 at various times. No not to match the number of wishes but to listen to the advertised full length audio commentary by Russ Tamblyn. I dont know what happens to it in the post but no copy has yet arrived with the advertized audio track. My newest copy is going back to Amazon as soon at the PO opens. Please if the disc does not have the audio delete it from the specifications.
I would be interested in hearing if anyone out there has the audio track on it but I doubt it. Marvellous film let down by a lackluster and misrepreseted adverised dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An adorable treat., 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolutely adorable film that will entertain young and old. My mother took me to the cinema to see this not long after release and I was thoroughly engrossed in it. Considering that there were no computer graphics in those days it was in my mind incredible how they managed to shrink Russ Tamblyn and make it so believable. I have seen it once since on TV and now I have my own copy to watch as and when. Fantastic. If you like a good family film that will entertain young children then this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tom thumb dvd, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just loved this film when i was a child,and i am still enjoying it, delivery of dvd was on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Childhood Memories :)
Sat and watched with my daughter like we use to when she was younger
Didn't think it was still available
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Thumb, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have been looking for this DVD for ages. So pleased to have found it at last. It arrived in plenty of packaging which was really good and on time. Very pleased with it all. Would recommend this seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Thumb [DVD] [1958] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 20.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews