Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jfk blu ray steelbook
arrived 2 days early thanks to proposed royal mail strike and i can confirm that IT IS the directors cut of the film with a stated running time of 205 minutes.
sound is dts hdma 5.1.
subtitles on disc are as follows :-

English SDH, Spanish, Portuguese, Japanese, German, Italian, Arabic, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Greek,...
Published 8 months ago by Alan

versus
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Terrible History
Much has been made of this film, its qualities and its historical accuracy. Even the most ardent defenders of the films point of view (that Kennedy was killed by a monster plot) admit that the film takes a great deal of 'dramatic license'. However few are in doubt about its qualities as a work of cinema. It is superbly directed and its all-star cast deliver as...
Published on 16 Jan 2005 by Mr. A. E. Hall


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jfk blu ray steelbook, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
arrived 2 days early thanks to proposed royal mail strike and i can confirm that IT IS the directors cut of the film with a stated running time of 205 minutes.
sound is dts hdma 5.1.
subtitles on disc are as follows :-

English SDH, Spanish, Portuguese, Japanese, German, Italian, Arabic, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Greek, Hebrew, Hungarian, Icelandic, Mandarin (Simplified), Mandarin (Traditional), Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Russian, Swedish, Thai, Turkish

There is also a full complement of extras including commentary deleted and extended scenes a documentary and multimedia essays.
Picture and sound are in my opinion excellent much better than my old 2 disc dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch this for the history, 13 Sep 2007
By 
songsinc "glsmas" (Scottsdale, Arizona) - See all my reviews
The assassination of John F. Kennedy on November 22, 1963 was one of the most shocking historical events in American history, much as Pearl Harbor and the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks were. Director Oliver Stone does an incredible job of re-creating the events and somber mood of that dark day and its aftermath by using real film footage shot by witnesses in Dealey Plaza, along with his own staged reenactments.

Whether you believe in an alleged vast (in my opinion, Stone's and Garrison's a bit too vast) conspiracy or Lee Harvey Oswald as the "lone nut" shooter, "JFK" should be seen for its historical content more than for its portrayal of real-life New Orleans district attorney Jim Garrison's conspiracy-fueled investigation and resulting 1968-69 trial of Clay Shaw.

If nothing else, the film raises some interesting questions about who and what dark forces may have been behind the assassination, all the while keeping your attention with entertaining, fast-paced editing. While telling Jim Garrison's theory of the assassination, the film immerses the viewer into the socio-political mood of the late 1950's and early 60's-era dark and covert Mafia/CIA/FBI liaisons, presenting at times a documentary-style view of Cold War events, the U.S.'s escalating involvement in Vietnam, and its war on Castro's Cuba.

John William's soundtrack is beautiful and moving, and is successful in enhancing the mystery and intrigue of the film's content. The all-star cast with Kevin Costner in the lead role as Jim Garrison helps the characters appear familiar and likable, although I felt as if Stone tried too hard in getting all these familiar faces to appear in the movie because he figured no one would be interested in watching the 3-hour epic if he hadn't. Gary Oldman does an admirable job of emulating the stuttering and nervous Oswald, and Donald Sutherland utterly rivets you the screen with his soft-spoken stories of government black operations. Also noteworthy is Joe Pesci, who puts forth a psychopathic -- almost comedic -- portrayal of David Ferrie, one of the alleged conspirators. Sissy Spacek plays the troubled and frightened, but ultimately supportive wife of Garrison, and Tommy Lee Jones is in the role of the man on trial, Clay Shaw. Last but not least are the cameo-like appearances of huge stars Jack Lemmon, Walter Matthau, John Candy, and Kevin Bacon.

Watch the movie, maybe a few times. If nothing else you'll walk away more historically enlightened, maybe even asking some interesting questions about the assassination yourself. And, a Hollywood film that stirred a public outcry over alleged government secrecy surrounding the event, ultimately forcing it to release assassination records and form the 1992 Assassination Records Review Board (ARRB) is in itself historically significant. This should make anyone want to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "One of the greatest movies of our time...", 10 July 2004
This review is from: JFK [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
Arguably one of the world's biggest conspiracies in modern times has been brilliantly brought to life through Oliver Stone's exceptional cinematic experience. Stone's detailed interpretation of those infamous events surrounding the assassinaton of debatably the greatest, unsurpassed and most captivating presidents ever to take control of America- John F. Kennedy, captured the attention of millions worldwide.
An outstanding and leading performance from Oscar Winner, Kevin Costner[Dances with Wolves, The Postman] stands out in Stone's courtroom drama as well as Costner leading an experienced and incomparable cast in the portrayal of Jim Garrison, who fought admirably to bring out the truth surrounding the death of JFK.
Oliver Stone's classic will have you perched on the end of your seats from beginning to its mesmerizing conclusion and can be known as one of the greatest movies of our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COMPELING !!, 31 July 2005
This review is from: JFK [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
Scene after scene which lives in the memory for years after watching the film, great performances from Tommy Lee JOnes and Joe Peci as expected but also so many others, John Candy's part, Kevin Bacons charachter, the scene with Donald Sutherland in the park which adds such clout to the main charachters whole conspirosy argument. 3 hours of film and I promise you at the end you still want more !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to make fact from fiction, 22 Dec 2003
This review is from: JFK [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one fantastically made film, Stone mixes his own fictional footage with genuine historical footage until you don't know which one is the truth, this powerful movie bombards you with information and will not stop. Throughout the film, Garrison (Costner) and his team put foreward every conspiracy theory known to man (aside from Elvis at the Grassy-Knoll) before deciding on their prefered option and hammering it home in a riveting final court-room scene.
I for one don't believe that Lyndon Johnson was waiting for a call from Clay Shaw saying "Kennedy's been killed and I want my money". Oliver Stone is not a historian and this is not history, as Stone said, this film is merely a counter-myth to the myth that is the Warren Report and that is what it does. One only has to watch the trial scene to realise that the Warren Report was fiction and although Garrison's proposition of a government-planned conspiracy is a little off, it does make you think and that is what a good film should do.
The supporting cast is excellent with Tommy-Lee Jones earning a Best Supporting-Actor Oscar, the music is superb and powerfully atmospheric.
A good buy for anyone who likes to think and an ideal subject for discussion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film, 12 Dec 2010
By 
Markie "marx1977" (hereandthere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: JFK [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
For JFK conspiracy theorists this is a classic film whichever version of events you choose to believe. However it is important to remember that it is just a Hollywood film. I for one don't think most of what happens in this film is factual, but that does not detract from the fact that it is an excellent piece of cinema and does make you think. All the actors turn in fine performances most notably Tommy Lee Jones, doesn't he always!! Book yourself a spare three hours on a Saturday evening and get drawn in to total conspiracy madness!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Film of all time, 25 Jan 2002
By 
S. Owadally "treble1999" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JFK [VHS] [1992] (VHS Tape)
This is the greatest film of all time. Even if you're not interested in the actual assassination of JFK, this film could then become a fictional film, and would still be the greatest film you'll ever see. And if you are interested in the assassination, then it is even better. A must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily Oliver Stone's best work, 20 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: JFK [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
He peaked with JFK and has been going downhill ever since, but that doesn't diminish the greatness of this film. Some of the scenes look quite out of place to a native Dallasite (born and raised) but someone who doesn't know what Dallas looks like then OR now won't know the difference. In all fairness, the city has changed substantially since 1963 and I'm still amazed that Stone persuaded the city to paint buildings in Dealey Plaza to look as they did on that day. But I digress. Having read "On The Trail Of The Assassins," the book this film is based on, I was delighted and enthralled to see the characters and dialogue from Jim Garrison's book spring to life. Kevin Costner, though not my favorite actor, manages to convey Garrison's passionate search for the truth, but the real stars in this film are the supporting cast. Tommy Lee Jones is fabulous as the effeminate Clay Shaw, Sissy Spacek is terrific as Garrison's harassed wife, and Joe Pesci is outstanding as the paranoid David Ferrie. Look even more closely and you'll see Laurie Metcalf, who is easily one of the most underrated actresses of all time, anchoring the investigative team in a supporting role that should have won her an Oscar. The cinematography is superb, mixing actual autopsy photos of Kennedy and actual footage of the day of the assassination with live action scenes and stills from the present-day. Everything fits together effortlessly, and though the film easily exceeds two hours and most DVD pressings require you to turn it over halfway through, you'll still be on the edge of your seat, unwilling to even pause it to go to the toilet, because you are so anxious to find out what happens next. Easily the best American political film ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oliver Stone's finest work, 21 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. Tristan Martin (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
JFK, as if you didn't already know, concerns the story of real-life Louisana District Attorney Jim Garrison and his (ultimately unsuccessful) prosecution of Clay Shaw for conspiring in the murder of President John F. Kennedy.

Through an audacious technique of sound and image editing, combining different film stocks and overlapping dialogue, JFK is a powerful piece of cinema that deserves a place in everyone's collection. It is to director Oliver Stone's credit that he keeps the viewer continually engaged with the film through it's three hours and seventeen minutes running length.

The film is not only a significant technical achievement but supremely enjoyable on a purely cinematic level. The cast is uniformly excellent - a special nod of the head to Gary Oldman as Lee Harvey Oswald - and Robert Richardson's cinematography is, as always, gorgeous.

Due to the inflammatory subject matter (a U.S. covert action program designed to assassinate foreign leaders gets blown-back and turned on President Kennedy), this film and those associated with it have often come in for a lot of highly charged invective. Therefore, some background reading is highly recommended; if you only read one book on the Kennedy assassination, make it Oxford historian Anthony Summers' "Kennedy Conspiracy" for an in-depth and reasoned analysis.

In short, this is Oliver Stone's "J'accuse!" -not only one of the best films ever made but also one of the most important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MODERN CLASSIC!, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JFK [Blu-ray] [1992] (Blu-ray)
I first bought this superb movie on VHS and played it many times. Discovered "JFK" again recently due to the 50th anniversary of the assassination.

However, I got a shock when I saw my old DVD of the movie - although I sill loved it - the picture quality seemed to be poor. I was delighted to learn Amazon was selling the newly-released Blu-ray and so ordered it. In a few days, I watched this movie AGAIN and was very pleased with the improved picture AND sound quality - amazing!

If you are thinking of buying this Blu-ray, YOU MUST! It is guaranteed to make you think about it for days later and many re-showings! Also was impressed with Oliver Stone's behind the scenes making of his masterpiece - plus interesting interviews with Jim Garrison himself. It is one of the few movies I have bought when I have actually watched ALL the extras, they are that interesting.

Must say that this Blu-ray is indeed the "Director's Cut" and a little longer than my DVD version (but the same as my old VHS copy)and at 10.50 is incredible value.

Credit to Kevin Costner. It has to be one of his greatest performances to date. Tommy Lee Jones (who I think got an Oscar for his role)is superb, too. So is Gary Oldman who really DOES become "Lee Harvey Oswald" himself!

Finally, I must mention the lovely John Williams theme which I think is one of his best and perfect for this gem of a movie. It is very moving. You may want to go and buy the CD of his score, too!

I think Oliver Stone is a genius!! Perhaps one day he will find the time to bring out a "Final Cut" of his movie? Anyway, must go now and watch another hour of "JFK" - again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

JFK [DVD] [1992] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews