Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A postmodern classic gets the 2 disc treatment it deserves!
One really can't overstate this film's lasting impact on contemporary Hollywood cinema. While Richard Donner's Superman laid the foundations Tim Burton's gothic masterpiece established what we know today as the comic book adaptation as huge summer event flick. The commendable successes of the recent X Men and Spider-Man franchise owe their success (and indeed...
Published on 19 July 2007 by D. Laurikietis

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It has dated quite badly
Wow, this film seemed so impressive and mystical when it was released in 1989. Clearly heavily-influenced by Frank Miller's efforts to turn Batman into a mature man's superhero, but also with an added surreal twist that was plainly all director Tim Burton's own, beyond doubt there was nothing quite like it in the realm of superhero movies, at least back then...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. M. Odoni


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A postmodern classic gets the 2 disc treatment it deserves!, 19 July 2007
By 
D. Laurikietis "darkknight_uk" (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One really can't overstate this film's lasting impact on contemporary Hollywood cinema. While Richard Donner's Superman laid the foundations Tim Burton's gothic masterpiece established what we know today as the comic book adaptation as huge summer event flick. The commendable successes of the recent X Men and Spider-Man franchise owe their success (and indeed production) to the 1989 Batman.
There's nothing I can say about the film itself that hasn't already been said. But just in case you spent the 80s and 90s on the moon;
It looked amazing in 1989 and it still looks amazing today!
Michael Keaton silenced any critics with his deft portrayal of a tormented, psychologically plausible Dark Knight and remains my favourite big screen Batman (with Christian Bale a close second).
Jack Nicholson's Joker provided us with one of the most iconic screen villains of all time.
But I'm assuming you know all about the film.
You want to hear about the DVD don't you?
You know when I bought my first DVD player back in '01 I was shocked and appalled that I couldn't find a Special Edition of one of my favourite films Batman. So I stuck with my VHS copy until I my girlfriend bought me the vanilla DVD one Christmas. Still I yearned and cursed Warner Brothers for not giving Bat-fans and cinema enthusiasts the 2 disc treatment that had been awarded to so many lesser films.
While it was a wait of nearly 5 years WB really pulled out the stops to create a Special Edition worthy of the Dark Knight's legacy.

The film itself has been completely remastered. Grain is seriously reduced (no mean feat in a film with this amount of matte work), colours (particularly blacks) are nice and rich which is essential in a film with this dark a palette, and the film is generally much crisper and sharper. The 5.1 and DTS tracks are superb and really do justice to Danny Elfman's score. Tim Burton's commentary track is pretty good. Anyone who's seen an interview with him knows he prefers to let the films speak for themselves but he raises some interesting points on why he knew Keaton was the man for the job, why Robin was cut from the film and what HE would have done with Two Face.
Disc 2 is where the real meat of the extras lies in easily negotiable (but sadly non-animated) menus.
Legends of the Dark Knight is an in depth look at the origins of the comics and the varying multi media representations of The Batman from the Pulp rooted violent detective of the 30s through to the swashbuckler of the 40s (and visiting the enjoyable movie serials of 1943 and 1949 along the way), the time travelling, space exploring self parody of the 50s and 60s and the darker return to source material of the 70s and 80s culminating neatly in the work of Frank Miller and its effect on the Batman film. While the 60s TV show is mentioned it is (unfortunately) devoid of footage, presumably due to the ongoing rights wars between WB and Fox for the show. Narrated by Mark Hammill and featuring interviews with everyone from Stan Lee to Frank Miller to Dennis O'Neil this is a quintessential Batman documentary.
The 3 Shadows Of The Bat documentaries comprehensibly track the film's long, LONG journey from conception to post production in an incredibly informative and enjoyable way from the perspective of Executive Producer and Bat-fan Michael Uslan. Interestingly these run all across the 4 Burton / Schumacher films and are an excellent means of illustrating the journey the franchise took in the space of 8 years.
The Beyond Batman documentaries are slightly smaller, more manageable featurettes that document every aspect of production from the production design to scoring.
As if all this weren't enough there are some nice little touches like the fun but short On The Set With Bob Kane segment and the Heroes and Villains mini segments in which Batman comic writers, the film makers and the actors themselves share their thoughts on what the character is all about. Another neat little segment is the Robin Animated Storyboard Sequence. Voiced by Batman Animated Series actors Kevin Conroy and Mark Hammill this illustrates how the introduction of Robin might have looked had it not been jettisoned.
In conclusion this 2 disc DVD is one of the few Special Editions truly worthy of the title. WB have finally given The Dark Knight his due!
Thank you reader for making it all the way to the end of this extremely long winded (but I hope, helpful) review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid release on Blu-Ray for Burton's Batman, 29 Jan 2009
By 
K. O'Leary (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was looking forward to Batman coming to Blu-Ray, I like the Nolan films just as much but find Jack Nicholson's Joker far more enjoyable than Heath Ledger's.

Warner Brothers have chosen to let the film start almost immediately, without the chance to select options from the menu; rather annoying. This also means that if you wish to watch any of the extras (there is an exhaustive library of documentaries and interviews) you have to select them from the pop-up menu while the film is running, and when you finish it returns to the film - I find that a little weird.

Image quality is very good and a huge improvement over the DVD, I'm pretty familiar with this film but found I was able to detect more emotional nuances than usual in the faces of the actors, the quality certainly seems to add something to the performances. It should be spectacular if it is ever re-mastered, but for now, it's still pretty good. I wouldn't go so far to say this is as good as Blade Runner though, which is exceptional.

I haven't heard the HD soundtracks, but the standard Dolby Digital 5.1 is a little disappointing, it's too quiet and occasionally seems to drop into mono, or at least partly, with dialoque suddenly spreading to the front left and right speakers. This may be of interest to others like me who haven't upgraded yet from their original surround set-ups for DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Burton's Brilliant Batman, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Dvd Info.
Running time 121 minutes, Region 2.
Extras, Documentaries, Trailer, Interviews.

Trivia.
1)Director Tim Burton cameos as one of the Jokers goons in the museum scene.
2)Body count 56.
3)First movie to be given a 12 rating/15 on video/dvd/bluray.
4)50,000 fan letters were sent to Warner Bros in disgust at Michael Keatons casting as Batman.
5)Jack Nicholson earned a gross percentage on this movie & Batman Returns which he didn't even star in rumoured to be around the $60 million dollar's mark(No wonder he's smiling a lot throughout this movie).
6)Sean Young was originally cast as Vicki Vale but broke her collarbone filming a now deleted scene from the screenplay with actor Michael Keaton & was replaced by Kim Basinger.
7)Willem Dafoe, Robin Williams, David Bowie, Tim Curry & James Woods were all considered for the role of The Joker.
8)Don Johnson was considered for playing District Attorney Harvey Dent.
9)Micheal Keaton couldn't hear anything when he was wearing the Batman cowl on set.
10)Highest grossing movie of 1989, $251 million dollars from a $35 million dollar budget.

Review.
In Gotham City a vigilante known as Batman has had reports of being sighted across the City by the citizens of Gotham.

Batman The Dark Knight of Gotham City begins his campaign against crime & wages war on Carl Grissoms gang who run the crime syndication in Gotham City & it's number one hitman & troubleshooter Jack Napier.

Commissioner Jim Gordon is a honest cop trying his best to keep Gotham City safe from criminals but is outnumbered by Carl Grissoms underworld mob of crime & hasn't the manpower to deal with the escalating situation.

During a shootout with the police at Axis chemical plant, Jack Napier is shot by a deflected bullet by Batman & falls to his apparent death in toxic chemicals but is infact transformed into the maniacal homicidal Joker who unleashes a reign of terror across Gotham City.

Billionaire playboy Bruce Wayne is in fact Batman who has taken up the mantle of protecting Gotham City since Bruce seen his parents murdered in cold blood infront of him as a young boy.

Bruce was then raised by Alfred Pennyworth the Wayne family's trusted friend & Butler who has instilled a sense of morals & principles into Master Bruce which stops him crossing that line into darkness when he becomes Batman.

Bruce Wayne discovers that it was Jack Napier(Joker) who was his parent's murderer & battles against the clown prince of crime to protect Gotham City from his vile scheme to release a toxic nerve gas over Gotham City killing thousands & seeks justice for his parent's murder.

Timelord Thoughts.
I remember seeing this in summer of 89 on my holidays when we had our holidays in our own caravan which I loathed.

I was 14 when this came out & I was fuming our 2 weeks at Weston Super-mare was during Batman's cinematic release & I behaved very moody until I got to see the film a few days later at the cinema that was a few miles away from our holiday camp.

I loved every minute of this film & was engrossed throughout & was disappointed I had to wait until Easter of 1990 to see it again on video.

This is a Tim Burton masterpiece a dark Gothic take on the character's of Gotham City & the set designs on this production are simply stunning.

Jack Nicholson usually play's himself in any film he's in & does so here but it's a magnificent performance he gives as the Joker as Nicholson makes the character likeable yet sinister & completely unpredictable.

Michael Keaton proved the critics wrong & delivers a excellent performance as Batman/Bruce Wayne who can convey an emotion simply by a look & Keaton manages to bring different characteristics to both Batman & Bruce Wayne.

Kim Basinger brings sexiness & seductive charm to the role of Vicki Vale & it's quite sad the character wasn't reprised for a sequel as I'd like to have seen how she would have dealt with loving a man who lives a double life.

The supporting cast of Pat Hingle as Commissioner Gordon & Michael Gough as Alfred is a fine piece of casting as both actor's fit there character roles superbly.

Tim Burton directs some great action sequences & some quite disturbing images for a 12a movie especially the scene were Jack Napier sees his features for the first time after being transformed into the Joker it's a chilling moment, Another moment is the electrocution of a crime boss who is burned to a cinder allowing Jack Nicholson to be unleashed & bring a dark sinister psychotic edge to the scene.

My slight criticisms are the underuse of Batman in the first hour of the movie & the limited use of the Batmobile that looks brilliant but does very little here, The movie sometimes feels like The Jack Nicholson show rather than a Batman movie but that's down to the film editor's & director Tim Burton not the movie's cast.

A excellent 2 disc dvd release comes with a uncut edition of the movie & a very well made indepth Documentary about the movie's production which includes a very on form interview with Jack Nicholson & members of the cast & crew including Michael Keaton & Kim Basinger.

This is the best dvd release to date & a must buy purchase for Batman movie fan's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Batman got serious on screen., 20 Jun 2013
Back in the 80's, Batman fans only knew about the 60's show. So Tim Burton made the first serious batman movie.This film is pretty good and raised Batman to a new level of movies. You have Michael Keaton as Batman, which no one thought would be good. But he is excellent. Kim Basinger as Vicky Vale was good but she screams a lot. It gets a bit irritating but it doesn't spoil it. The one who steals the show is Jack Nicholson as the Joker. He gives a great peformance. I have only three concerns with the film. One: The moment the Joker sees Vicky Vale in a photo, he instantly falls in love with her. That's weird. Two:Why did they put Commissioner Gordon in this? He doesn't work with Batman. Three: When Batman is in the batwing, he aims his guns at the Joker and fires with everything he has. But he misses. What went wrong? I still like this though. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BATMAN, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
GREAT MOVIE AT A BARGAIN PRICE JACK NICOLSON GREAT AS THE JOKER THIS BATMAN MOVIE IS ONE OF THE BEST
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Batman film to date, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautiful film to behold, with great acting, music and practical effects to match Tim Burton's iconic vision of the Dark Knight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgot how good this movie was and its even better on blu!, 16 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a fan of Burtons stuff and this has Burton stamped all over it! I Had not seen this movie in a while and I had watched it many times in the past recorded on VHS. I'm glad I bought this as the picture is nice and sharp and it has a great soundtrack too. It's strange when you watch movies again on blu you see them in a totally different way. I have just ordered Batman Returns and I'm looking forward to more of Burtons Batman! WHAT ARE YOU?. . . I'M BATMAN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I had missed this on cinema release, but watched it with my 15yr old who came to it via Arkham city video game. It realises the dark world superbly, brings villains, gadgets and humour galore and if there are plotholes you will be too busy to care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great action sequences!!!, 18 Dec 2012
Batman 1989 is outstanding.Jack Nicholson is the joker and he stole the show! Michael Keaton is a brilliant Batman.I think he is the best Batman.Buying it on blu ray gives it crisp colour when you watch the film. The final fight between Batman and The Joker is epic.The film is entertaining from start to finish.I highly recommmend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like... bats, 18 Oct 2012
This review is from: Batman [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Tim Burton's glowering gothic melodrama came on the back of a Batman print resurgence, namely Frank Miller's The Dark Knight Returns (1986) and Year One (1987), and Alan Moore's The Killing Joke (1988), which, unlike various writers and artists in the 1970s, successfully banished the spectre of camp that haunted Bruce Wayne's world since the 1960s TV series. Burton and screenwriter Sam Hamm helped thrust Batman into the public consciousness so firmly that he's been there since, surviving a mauling from Joel Schumacher, whose nipple-oriented efforts looked set to hurl this particular corner of the DC universe back into the garish ages, and recently boosted by Christopher Nolan's thunderously popular trilogy.

Showing his unique talent for blending comedy, horror and oddball characterisation in Beetlejuice (a Michael Keaton character who couldn't be further from Batman), it was a no-brainer to bring Batman to the big screen at the time - and it remains so. At his best Burton paints the most beautiful nightmares in cinema. Schumacher's misguided Batman Forever and his execrable Batman & Robin took the camp to Adam West extremes; Nolan has since driven into the darkest recesses of the soul. Burton finds the best balance: a glorious gothic theatrescape populated by timeless archetypes and amusing caricatures, with a simple and convincing love story at its centre. It's tempting to snigger when we look back and consider that Burton's vision was considered "too dark" at the time, given the sombreness of Nolan's work. But bear in mind that the 1989 Batman and its sequel Batman Returns are both 15 certificate movies to Nolan's 12A. Simply, Burton's Batman is a killer (as he was in the early comics).

Some fans continue to weep over Burton's liberty-taking in the re-imagining of the Wayne parents' killer, or Vicki Vale's (Kim Basinger) admittance to the Batcave, or the fact that Keaton is the wrong side of six-foot and built more like a tennis player than an American footballer. But I'm a fan also and I don't weep for such things. Gotham City and its inhabitants and histories comprise a constantly evolving and devolving universe; a series of parallel time-lines co-existing and occasionally converging, but always connected by the non-super, very human hero at its heart: Batman, wearing the mask of Bruce Wayne, made helpless by a nightmare memory. As such, so long as the character's essence remains, there is no point in making claim to the "true" Batman because no one vision is "truer" than the next.

The fact that Burton himself found the film "boring" makes it all the more strange that so many elements in his gloom-drenched fantasy work so well: Anton Furst's astonishing production design; Danny Elfman's timeless score; Michael Keaton's complex Batman and Jack Nicholson's definitive Joker. Other elements aren't quite so successful. Prince's soundtrack makes for a reasonable album in its own right, but it feels fairly incongruous in the context of the movie. And the "pale moonlight" repetition, though lyrical, removes the intriguing possibility that Batman may be retrospectively adding a face to his parent's murderer, not out of genuine recollection but because of a single-minded desire for vengeance...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman [DVD] [1989] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews