Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars windows 8.1
Very helpful for a novice moving from windows XP to 8.1. Easy to follow with coloured pictures and clear text.
Published 3 months ago by A Compton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the tin!
Sadly, and much to my amazement, this book turned out to be pretty much a waste of time and money. It would appear that a previous book written for Windows 8 was very slightly updated for Windows 8.1 but not consistently, with many pages still referring to Windows 8. OneDrive is never mentioned (the term SkyDrive still being used). It even says (p 134) 'Windows 8.1...
Published 28 days ago by Erica


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the tin!, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
Sadly, and much to my amazement, this book turned out to be pretty much a waste of time and money. It would appear that a previous book written for Windows 8 was very slightly updated for Windows 8.1 but not consistently, with many pages still referring to Windows 8. OneDrive is never mentioned (the term SkyDrive still being used). It even says (p 134) 'Windows 8.1 provides SkyDrive access ...'. No it doesn't! No mention at all is made of OneNote, or of Notepad. A discussion of the various uses of OneNote, Notepad and WordPad - all of which are provided - would have been very useful. No mention at all is made of Microsoft XPS Document Printer - what are you supposed to do with this when it comes up as an alternative printer? We are not even given instructions for saving an email or a section from a web page. I could go on, but suffice it to say that I have had to find answers to these questions and many others by using the Search facility - a time-consuming process when I had hoped to find easy answers from 'Easy Windows 8.1'. Sorry Mark Edward Soper, but this particular book really does not live up to its title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars windows 8.1, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
Very helpful for a novice moving from windows XP to 8.1. Easy to follow with coloured pictures and clear text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The logic is too modern - but no doubt easy for kids, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
It has certainly helped me orientate to what I will always judge as a piece of software designed to frighten old folk away from computers. The logic is too modern - but no doubt easy for kids !. Thus, the book has real value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learning curve., 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
Found the book to be just pitched at the right level. Easy to follow sections with photos to articulate . Book arrived on time and just as advertised. Certainly use this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
I Had previously purchased Easy Windows Vista and found it very useful,now that I have changed to windows 8.1 I need all the help I
can get and Easy Windows 8.1 seems to fit the bill I am very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not able to offer relevant comments yet, but....., 5 April 2014
By 
Sandra B. (Lancaster, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
My new laptop, purchased last December came with Windows 8, which took some determination to cope with, and it is an ongoing learning curve. As a result, I have not yet upgraded to 8.1, but intend to do so soon, now that I am feeling more comfortable with Windows 8 (I formerly had Windows XP, which I loved). However, having looked through this book I then purchased the same book for Windows 8 and have found it very clear and helpful. I am sure the 8.1 version will be equally clear and helpful as it's not a great deal different to the 8 version. I really appreciate the colour pictures and the numbered steps to carry out each process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Windows, 2 April 2014
By 
D. Ainge "angel" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
I am very happy with "easy 8.1" It is clear with text and pictures for a not so savvy windows 8.1 user. The book is well presented and I am very pleased to have been able to buy it through Amazon. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars big & simple., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
Good because you can delve into it to find what you want without having to plough thru' boring stuff.Good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book., 20 Feb 2014
By 
F. P. Samuelson "fsgold" (devon,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
this is a brimful edition and is more comprehensive than many other similar books. Ideal for understanding and using the many facets of windows 8.1. it is a very detailed book and chockful of info and useful diagrams all logically laid out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for those who aren't confident, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
Clear easy to understand, great illustrations, able to dib in as and when needed. I was quite intimidated by windows 8.1 and was getting frustrated, now though I'm at least beginning to enjoy the computer and the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easy Windows 8.1
Easy Windows 8.1 by Mark Edward Soper (Paperback - 30 Nov 2013)
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews