Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars The means to avoid defenestration?
'Easy Windows 8.1' - here's what I think are its good and bad points:

GOOD:

+ Its 24 easy-to-read chapters are divided across the book's 459 pages, as follows:

Part I - 'Introducing Windows 8.1 and Installing It'
Part II - 'Using the Windows 8.1 Modern UI'
Part III - 'Using the Windows 8.1 Desktop'
Part IV - 'Managing...
Published 1 month ago by Re.Peter

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the tin!
Sadly, and much to my amazement, this book turned out to be pretty much a waste of time and money. It would appear that a previous book written for Windows 8 was very slightly updated for Windows 8.1 but not consistently, with many pages still referring to Windows 8. OneDrive is never mentioned (the term SkyDrive still being used). It even says (p 134) 'Windows 8.1...
Published 11 months ago by Erica


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the tin!, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
Sadly, and much to my amazement, this book turned out to be pretty much a waste of time and money. It would appear that a previous book written for Windows 8 was very slightly updated for Windows 8.1 but not consistently, with many pages still referring to Windows 8. OneDrive is never mentioned (the term SkyDrive still being used). It even says (p 134) 'Windows 8.1 provides SkyDrive access ...'. No it doesn't! No mention at all is made of OneNote, or of Notepad. A discussion of the various uses of OneNote, Notepad and WordPad - all of which are provided - would have been very useful. No mention at all is made of Microsoft XPS Document Printer - what are you supposed to do with this when it comes up as an alternative printer? We are not even given instructions for saving an email or a section from a web page. I could go on, but suffice it to say that I have had to find answers to these questions and many others by using the Search facility - a time-consuming process when I had hoped to find easy answers from 'Easy Windows 8.1'. Sorry Mark Edward Soper, but this particular book really does not live up to its title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The means to avoid defenestration?, 25 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
'Easy Windows 8.1' - here's what I think are its good and bad points:

GOOD:

+ Its 24 easy-to-read chapters are divided across the book's 459 pages, as follows:

Part I - 'Introducing Windows 8.1 and Installing It'
Part II - 'Using the Windows 8.1 Modern UI'
Part III - 'Using the Windows 8.1 Desktop'
Part IV - 'Managing Windows 8.1'

(A useful Glossary is also included, just before the Index)

+ Each chapter is sub-divided into specific, fundamental tasks - with the reader being guided through these tasks in a step-by-step, plain English/jargon-free manner (useful Notes and Tips are also often included at the bottom of the page)

+ Virtually every page features an appropriate diagrammatic aid (usually a screenshot), all of which are handily reproduced in color - sorry, in coloUr

+ Register your purchase of the book at quepublishing.com, and you have online access to updates, downloads, or errata. You can also obtain 45 days of free subscription to the book's online edition by registering at informit.com/safarifree and entering the coupon code (included at the end of the paper version of the book)

NOT SO GOOD:

- The guidance this book provides is mostly very useful...that is, when you're trying to learn how to perform certain tasks on your computer - for the first time - using Windows 8.1. It's not quite so helpful when something goes wrong and your computer and software just aren't behaving as they ought to (and when you're frantically searching for a solution!), because Mark Soper's book simply isn't written from the perspective of a crisis 'troubleshooter': it's very much a step 1, 2, 3... resolutely linear type of guide, designed to make the reader conversant with the basics of Windows 8.1 as quickly as possible

- It's an American publication, through and through - hence the spellings (like color, instead of colour!) I'm afraid we Brits have no option but to accept this as a given, if we buy this book...

In conclusion:

I don't consider myself a complete illiterate when it comes to using computers and the Windows operating system; but every new iteration of Windows tends to go about things a little bit differently when compared to its preceding version(s), and a book of this type can therefore be a godsend in terms of allowing the user to quickly get up to speed with what the very latest OS has to offer. Accepting that these types of books are never intended as comprehensive instruction manuals in their own right (and that neither are they meant for the consumption of the cognoscenti), I nonetheless found it to be a genuinely useful learning aid and would therefore recommend it.

flickr.com/photos/peterfacts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book., 20 Feb. 2014
By 
F. P. Samuelson "fsgold" (devon,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
this is a brimful edition and is more comprehensive than many other similar books. Ideal for understanding and using the many facets of windows 8.1. it is a very detailed book and chockful of info and useful diagrams all logically laid out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not able to offer relevant comments yet, but....., 5 April 2014
By 
Sandra B. (Lancaster, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
My new laptop, purchased last December came with Windows 8, which took some determination to cope with, and it is an ongoing learning curve. As a result, I have not yet upgraded to 8.1, but intend to do so soon, now that I am feeling more comfortable with Windows 8 (I formerly had Windows XP, which I loved). However, having looked through this book I then purchased the same book for Windows 8 and have found it very clear and helpful. I am sure the 8.1 version will be equally clear and helpful as it's not a great deal different to the 8 version. I really appreciate the colour pictures and the numbered steps to carry out each process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars windows 8.1, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
Very helpful for a novice moving from windows XP to 8.1. Easy to follow with coloured pictures and clear text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best book on the subject, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
Not the best book on the subject. I suspect it was written based on a pre release version of Windows 8.1 as some of the instructions and diagrams are just wrong. Spend fewer pages on silly diagrams suitable for a five year old and more attention to detail and explanation of some of the new facilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The logic is too modern - but no doubt easy for kids, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
It has certainly helped me orientate to what I will always judge as a piece of software designed to frighten old folk away from computers. The logic is too modern - but no doubt easy for kids !. Thus, the book has real value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for those who aren't confident, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
Clear easy to understand, great illustrations, able to dib in as and when needed. I was quite intimidated by windows 8.1 and was getting frustrated, now though I'm at least beginning to enjoy the computer and the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Windows, 2 April 2014
By 
D. Ainge "angel" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
I am very happy with "easy 8.1" It is clear with text and pictures for a not so savvy windows 8.1 user. The book is well presented and I am very pleased to have been able to buy it through Amazon. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Windows 8.1 (Paperback)
I Had previously purchased Easy Windows Vista and found it very useful,now that I have changed to windows 8.1 I need all the help I
can get and Easy Windows 8.1 seems to fit the bill I am very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easy Windows 8.1
Easy Windows 8.1 by Mark Edward Soper (Paperback - 30 Nov. 2013)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews