Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BIBLE FOR ANY COMPUTER TECHNICIAN !
I was over the moon with this book , it's the only book you need when repairing computers or wanting to learn , at any level . This will cover everything you need from a hobby through to doing computers for a living , THE ONE GREAT COMPUTER BOOK !
Published 23 months ago by Shaun Orwin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed!!!
If you want a history of computer architecture and it's development then this is the book for you. If you want a book telling you how to fix your PC computer - or how to build and test your own PC then there are far better books out there. I was more than a little disappointed to be honest, and found myself going back to an old A+ certification book for all I wanted to...
Published 6 months ago by whatspeedlimit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BIBLE FOR ANY COMPUTER TECHNICIAN !, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upgrading and Repairing PCs (Upgrading & Repairing PC's (W/DVD)) (Hardcover)
I was over the moon with this book , it's the only book you need when repairing computers or wanting to learn , at any level . This will cover everything you need from a hobby through to doing computers for a living , THE ONE GREAT COMPUTER BOOK !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book For The Computer Geek!, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upgrading and Repairing PCs (Upgrading & Repairing PC's (W/DVD)) (Hardcover)
I had been looking for a book that had in depth information about all the components and how they worked, i finally found this book and it is fully loaded with all the information i have been looking for! Would recommend to anyone, A*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed!!!, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upgrading and Repairing PCs (Upgrading & Repairing PC's (W/DVD)) (Hardcover)
If you want a history of computer architecture and it's development then this is the book for you. If you want a book telling you how to fix your PC computer - or how to build and test your own PC then there are far better books out there. I was more than a little disappointed to be honest, and found myself going back to an old A+ certification book for all I wanted to know - wished I had bought an updated version of that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upgrading and repairing PCs, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upgrading and Repairing PCs (Upgrading & Repairing PC's (W/DVD)) (Hardcover)
Needed this edition to bring my collection up to date. These books are invaluable in my line of work as a hardware technician
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upgrading and Repairing PCs (Upgrading & Repairing PC's (W/DVD)) (Hardcover)
I should have had one years ago. A 'bible' for anyone who wants to know more about PCs or wants to build or upgrade theirs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Each book in the series is profesionally presented, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upgrading and Repairing PCs (Upgrading & Repairing PC's (W/DVD)) (Hardcover)
I find this book and previous issues the only precise and detailed informative source of information on computer hardware

Highly recommended to those persons who want to upgrade or assemble their own computer or carry out their own computer maintenance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word, AMAZING!, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upgrading and Repairing PCs (Upgrading & Repairing PC's (W/DVD)) (Hardcover)
This has got to be the best book for technicians/enthusiasts out there. The book is well illustrated and easy to follow for all levels, WOW. Had a slight problem with the courier but amazon promptly resolved the problem as usual. Get this book, saves time writing your own tutorials like I was before this book came along or taking extensive amounts of time working out whats wrong with your components/software when you are probably looking for a more difficult problem like me all the time :-/.This book also contains the last two editions via pdf, which makes this book VFM (value for money) lol, Anyway great book, great service, just buy.....you know you want to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As you can expect!, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upgrading and Repairing PCs (Upgrading & Repairing PC's (W/DVD)) (Hardcover)
You can't live out this book, if you do as i do reparing my mashine my self.
The book is op to date with the newest tecnology, so you don't have to go else where!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Oracle!, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upgrading and Repairing PCs (Upgrading & Repairing PC's (W/DVD)) (Hardcover)
This volume, and it is almost 100 pages, is the Oracle, for pc laymen, like me. It explains in terms that I can understand, the "old" systems, the compatability of components like graphics cards, even what the slots, and adaptations, for updated components, are! The newest systems are, of course, included. This Edition is issued in Spring, this year! What more could you ask? Rob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All in all a very readable, authoritative and useful reference book which I thoroughly recommend, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Speaking as a "Silver Surfer" who is now retired, after working on both hardware and software development and use of computer related systems since 1960 (yes, I did say 1960 - on a "son of Colossus"!), I found this an extremely comprehensive and well written book.

It starts with a survey of PC history and development from 1617 (Napier's Bones) through 1936 (Alan Turing's paper "On Computable Numbers" leading to work in 1943 with Tommy Flowers developing Colossus to decode the German Enigma code and later variants) up to 2012 when Microsoft released Windows 8. It also covers the corresponding development of Electronics from valves up to the Intel Core i7 quad-core processor incorporating 1.4 billion transistors as well as other components on a single die.

There follows a very detailed description of all the hardware inside and external to PCs ending with good advice on the prevention and cure of many of the problems that can be encountered. All in all a very readable, authoritative and useful reference book which I thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Upgrading and Repairing PCs (Upgrading & Repairing PC's (W/DVD))
Upgrading and Repairing PCs (Upgrading & Repairing PC's (W/DVD)) by Scott Mueller (Hardcover - 22 Mar. 2013)
£31.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews