Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference and User Guide for your iPad
It has been said many times already, but it's worth repeating: iPad is one of the most revolutionary devices that have come around in years. On the surface it seem like a cross between a tablet PC, a net book and an iPod, but comparing it to any one of these other devices doesn't do the full justice. iPad is truly revolutionizing how we approach the use of computers, and...
Published on 15 Jun 2012 by Dr. Bojan Tunguz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My iPad
Fairly good and helpful,but doesn't tick all the boxes, I have bought a copy for a friend and he seems to like it
Many thanks,
Ray Hills
Published 18 months ago by Raymond hills


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference and User Guide for your iPad, 15 Jun 2012
By 
Dr. Bojan Tunguz (Indiana, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My iPad (covers iOS 5.1 on iPad, iPad 2, and iPad 3rd Gen) (Paperback)
It has been said many times already, but it's worth repeating: iPad is one of the most revolutionary devices that have come around in years. On the surface it seem like a cross between a tablet PC, a net book and an iPod, but comparing it to any one of these other devices doesn't do the full justice. iPad is truly revolutionizing how we approach the use of computers, and it is bound to have an impact on all of the other computing devices. iPad is an always-on, easily accessible and intuitive computing platform. Even though the ease of use is one of its hallmarks, if you have never used an iPod or an iPhone you may have some initial difficulties with using it.

The new iPad has been a major improvement on the original iPad concept, and a significant change over iPad 2, especially when it comes to graphical abilities. Whatever version of iPad you use, however, many of the fundamental tasks are still the same. Nonetheless, there are some important changes that need to be pointed out and dealt with according to the product version.

"My iPad" aims to take away the mystery behind iPad and help you make the most of it. The book is written in an extremely accessible and to-the-point style, and from the very outset it takes you straight to the actual demonstrations of how to achieve certain actions on your iPad. It helps you navigate the plethora of settings and adjustment options, and tries to make sense of them. This is in fact one of the book's greatest strengths - it is not just a bag of tricks, but also a clear and lucid explanation of the rationale behind every design option on your iPad (both hardware and software). The book also covers some of the most important and useful general iPad apps (both paid and free), such as maps, Keynote, Numbers and Pages, as well some apps that take the full advantage of iPad 2's or the new iPad's capabilities, like iMovie. It also gives a short list of some other cool aps with a brief description of each. Even seasoned iPhone or iPad users will find many valuable tips and insights, and the book is a valuable reference for the long term use.

The book covers iOS 5.1, which is as of this writing the most current version of iOS. However, Apple just made an announcement that iOS 6 is coming in the fall of this year (2012). For the most part that version of iOS will be more or less the same as this one, but if you really want to take the advantage of the new features, and are not planning on getting an iPad for a few more months, you may want to wait for another addition of this book or get another book that deals with that version of iOS when it becomes available.

I also enjoyed the format of the book. The book is large, well presented, and easily navigable. The illustrations and screenshots are fairly large and very clear and they help to illustrate all the relevant material. It is a very intuitive guide for a very intuitive device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My iPad and "MY iPAD" 4th Ed, 12 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My iPad (covers iOS 5.1 on iPad, iPad 2, and iPad 3rd Gen) (Paperback)
I have an iPad and many years experience in personal computers. The iPad is much more than a simple "social media" machine and has depths that can be hard to plumb. So, I found the book by Gary Rosenzweig, "My iPad 4th Ed" extremely helpful in getting the most out of the machine. It is lucid, well illustrated and covers most of the popular apps and many others. I sincerely recommend that users of the iPad who want more than Facebook, Twitter etc, consider this book as a "MUST HAVE"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide to using ipad, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My iPad (covers iOS 5.1 on iPad, iPad 2, and iPad 3rd Gen) (Paperback)
This book is well written with pictures, this is a very clear step by step guide.
I can work on my own without having to ask family for help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 18 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My iPad (covers iOS 5.1 on iPad, iPad 2, and iPad 3rd Gen) (Paperback)
I really like this book, it's easy to use and follow. I think that this book is the perfect partner for anyone getting an iPad who has never had a "mac" or an iPod, iPhone before. Very helpful. I recommend this book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous addition, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My iPad (covers iOS 5.1 on iPad, iPad 2, and iPad 3rd Gen) (Paperback)
This is an excellent addition to modern technology. It is so versatile
with the things it can do - actually that is it's main problem for us - knowing
it's full range of ability. \perhaps time will be a healer for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars iLearn about iPad, 27 Nov 2012
By 
S. M. T. Peters (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My iPad (covers iOS 5.1 on iPad, iPad 2, and iPad 3rd Gen) (Paperback)
Tells you all you need to know in an accessible well illustrated book. It does what it says on the label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
By 
David H. Morris (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My iPad (covers iOS 5.1 on iPad, iPad 2, and iPad 3rd Gen) (Paperback)
good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for doing crosswords, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My iPad (covers iOS 5.1 on iPad, iPad 2, and iPad 3rd Gen) (Paperback)
This was to replace an old one which was what we had been using. Easy to use and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My iPad (covers iOS 5.1 on iPad, iPad 2, and iPad 3rd Gen) (Paperback)
Bought it for my wife and she absolutely loves it. Does an amazing range of things and the photo quality is excellent too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My iPad (covers iOS 5.1 on iPad, iPad 2, and iPad 3rd Gen) (Paperback)
Very informative, nice hints and tips. If you are new user of the iPad it is a very helpful read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My iPad (covers iOS 5.1 on iPad, iPad 2, and iPad 3rd Gen)
My iPad (covers iOS 5.1 on iPad, iPad 2, and iPad 3rd Gen) by Gary Rosenzweig (Paperback - 5 May 2012)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews