Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics
I remember how intimidating it was when I got my first computer. At the time, my husband regularly used a computer at work and thought that I should learn. Of course, I didn't even know how to turn on the thing let alone make it do something worthwhile.

Looking back, I wish I would have had a resource like Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics. The book...
Published on 28 Dec. 2009 by Tami Brady

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not for me
We bought this for my brother-in -law who has not decided to buy a computer yet until he reads it
Published on 25 Jan. 2013 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics, 28 Dec. 2009
By 
Tami Brady "Integrated Whole Health" (Calgary, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics (Absolute Beginner's Guides (Que)) (Paperback)
I remember how intimidating it was when I got my first computer. At the time, my husband regularly used a computer at work and thought that I should learn. Of course, I didn't even know how to turn on the thing let alone make it do something worthwhile.

Looking back, I wish I would have had a resource like Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics. The book starts right from the start. Right off, the book tells the reader that they aren't likely to damage the computer by pressing the wrong button. It also explains all the components of a computer and then takes the reader step by step through what the computer can do. Since the book is based on Windows 7 technology, the new computer owner can simply unpack the parts and begin setting up. By the end of the book, the reader will pretty much be caught up on the basics.

Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics is good for those new to computing. It provides the basics and does so in an easy to understand way. However, additional resources may need to be consulted if troubleshooting information is required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic but not stupid, 8 Feb. 2013
By 
Malcolm Middlebrook (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics (Absolute Beginner's Guides (Que)) (Paperback)
I recently volunteered to work with AgeUK and because of my previous experience was assigned to a group of people even older than myself who wanted to learn more about computers and how to make the best use of them. As I had been dealing with young people up to NVQ level 3 I was worried I might pitch my training sessions too high so I bought this book along with several others to help bring me down to earth and look at things through the eyes of someone not familiar with computers. The book was exactly what I wanted, basic but not stupid. It covered Windows 7 and went through the various steps in a logical manner. As it turned out my 'students' had even less knowledge than I had anticipated and the basic explanations were just what I needed combined with lots of demonstrations and practice. Highly recommended but not for someone who has purchased a computer with Windows 8 as its O.S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Computer Basics, 13 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics (Absolute Beginner's Guides (Que)) (Paperback)
I am self-taught on my computer and missed a lot of things on the way to getting on the internet. This book is answering all my questions about photos, documents etc. and much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick review, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics (Absolute Beginner's Guides (Que)) (Paperback)
I bought this for my mum and dad (in their 70's) and just getting to grips with the internet and all that goes with it. I had a quick look before I wrapped this up and it seems like a really good guide to 'how to' etc, so I think they will be on their way to knowing their way around the net before too long :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics (Absolute Beginner's Guides (Que)) (Paperback)
I have had a computer for an extremely long time and I have never really come to grips with it. I have looked through this book and I think that it will a great help to me

I have had a computer for an extremely long time and although I have been to classes I have never felt that I have come to grips with it. I have had a quick look through this book and I think that it will be a great help and I will finally know what I
am doing

Thank you

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Beginner's Computer Book, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics (Absolute Beginner's Guides (Que)) (Paperback)
Excellent book for beginners to computing with easy to understand descriptions. There are good pictures to support in every chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics (Absolute Beginner's Guides (Que)) (Paperback)
Saw this book in my local library and as with everything else we need we always go on line to see what is available. This was, was an ex library book. The condition was marked as very good and it certainly is. We would happily recommend this supplier to anyone seeking books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not for me, 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics (Absolute Beginner's Guides (Que)) (Paperback)
We bought this for my brother-in -law who has not decided to buy a computer yet until he reads it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Beginners Guide, 19 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics (Absolute Beginner's Guides (Que)) (Paperback)
Unfortunately this wasn't the type of book I thought it was going to be. I thought it would have little
exercises for me to do so that I could get away this computing rubbish but I'm still in deep fog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absolute Beginner's Guide to Computer Basics (Absolute Beginner's Guides (Que))
£14.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews