Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars repair and upgrade my own
this has helped me to repair and upgrade my own laptops / so saving money on parts and software what a buy
Published 19 months ago by tommyone

versus
62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough if you are into laptop repairs
I ordered this book months before it actually came out - was a little dissapointed as it deals with a lot of stuff irrelevent to laptop repairs - If you are already a laptop repair chap then you would know more than the book has to offer... It has a few examples on older laptops.. which are less in use today - it has good technical knowledge if you didnt know about how...
Published on 13 Jan. 2004 by A. Hanspal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough if you are into laptop repairs, 13 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Upgrading and Repairing Laptop Computers (Hardcover)
I ordered this book months before it actually came out - was a little dissapointed as it deals with a lot of stuff irrelevent to laptop repairs - If you are already a laptop repair chap then you would know more than the book has to offer... It has a few examples on older laptops.. which are less in use today - it has good technical knowledge if you didnt know about how dvds work ! There are a few examples on IBM laptops I reckon the author has had in the past.. This book fails to answer commmon problems faced by laptop users... How would you install Windows Xp on a laptop without a Cd drive ? I can do it - but its not simple cos Xp doesnt work like Win98 ! Where can you get an external Cd rom drive - ? what are the different types available- PCMCIA or USB - ? Battery does not charge - DVDS skip a little - is your graphics card good enough - Chapter 16 in this book - Basic troubleshooting is the only reason I still havnt returned this book back - Had this book more color graphic illustrations it would have been a lot easier - I think atleast one chapter should have been devoted to the top five - Dell - sony - toshiba - IBM and Compaq for a better undertanding and a clearer picture.. If you still have the urge to power ahead in your field - this book will help you in small technical details - Knowledge is the Key !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An expensive disappointment, 24 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Upgrading and Repairing Laptop Computers (Hardcover)
I was extremely disappointed with this book, expecting (perhaps too optimistically) a valuable manual with details of common faults & their fixes, hardware comparisons between vendors etc. Given that laptops are restricted largely to hard-drive and memory upgrades, the book really has little to say that can't be found in any other decent hardware book. It seems that the author thinks that there are no laptops worth discussing other than IBM, and anything older than 2-3 years should be scrapped. The book is full of unnecessary techno-gook that is of little value to the laptop-repair person - who needs to know the AT-command set for modems or the architecture of a Celeron processor (especially when the darned thing can't be changed) these days? Older laptops (of the type that will typically need repaired or upgraded) are just not discussed. The video CD included with the book is also somewhat patronising. As the previous reviewer stated, anyone who dabbles with laptops will know all that's relevant in this book already, if not more. It seems that about 5% is about laptops, and 95% is general computer information. Overall a great disappointment to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars repair and upgrade my own, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upgrading and Repairing Laptop Computers (Hardcover)
this has helped me to repair and upgrade my own laptops / so saving money on parts and software what a buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upgrading and Repairing Laptop Computers (Hardcover)
great book and good seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Upgrading and Repairing Laptop Computers
Upgrading and Repairing Laptop Computers by Scott Mueller (Hardcover - 12 Dec. 2003)
Used & New from: £3.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews